McCalls 5913 OOP: camel coloured cape – a return from my soujourn

McCalls 5913 camel cape open view.

McCalls 5913 camel cape open view

Hello Peeps. How glad am I to  be back to normal every day life! We had a nice time in India (post to follow on the exciting fabrics I managed to get my hands on there, and also I KNOW I owe the churidar tutorial…I will, promise), but after almost 3 weeks of non-sewing, I am back with this camel coloured cape made using McCalls 5913 (OOP). 5913 was actually one of the first sewing patterns I attempted when I first stared sewing about 18 months ago. I would recommend it to any beginners considering making a cape.

This is a birthday present for my sister. Her birthday is on Monday. I bought the fabric on Saturday so I had to turn it around pretty fast. It’s made out of a camel coloured polyester/ viscose Melton fabric. I think it looks fab (even if I do say so myself!)…every woman should have a cape! It is lovely and warm and very comfortable. Just right for the chilly autumn weather. And I love camel!

McCalls 5913 camel cape rear view

McCalls capelet pattern M5913

Anyway, the cape is essentially 3 pieces of fabric joined together (2 for the front, 1 for the back), a collar and 2 front facings (I know, facings look a bit bleh). I made view C. It is an unlined cape so I would have liked to use a Hong Kong finish on the seams, but alas, time did not permit. You have to make facings for the belt openings too. But they are very easy and the instructions are all pretty simple.

I didn’t have to do any alterations to the pattern.  My sister seems pretty pleased with it. I am hoping to get a picture of her in it, but for now it is me doing the modelling. I am a selfish seamstress…I don’t like making things for other people :-) but I am glad she liked it.

The pattern includes a belt, which I made. But I think that home sewn belts just make everything look….homemade. So I have photographed it with a faux leather belt I had from another jacket, which I think looks much better. Sis is off to see if she can get a better belt to go with it.

McCalls 5913 camel cape fastened view

Coming up, (apart from the churidar tutorial), I plan to make a black lace dress for myself in time for my birthday in a couple of weeks, a new tweedy winter coat and also a dress for Kezia and possibly a waistcoat for hubby made using some of the fabrics I purchased in India. So much sewing…so little time! Hopefully a new post soon. Till then…

McCalls 5913 camel cape fastened view

Tags: , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

2 responses to “McCalls 5913 OOP: camel coloured cape – a return from my soujourn”

  1. prttynpnk says :

    I hope you made one of these for you too- it’s gorgeous!

    • sewmanju says :

      Hi thanks. Yes I did. It was one of the first things I ever sewed last July. Mine is not quite as well sewn as this one! Still very nice and warm though.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 214 other followers

