Vogue 8784 wrap dress: taking a walk on the wild side

Vogue 8784

The title refers, not just to the print on this fabric, but also the fact that this was my first attempt, after much hestitation, at sewing stretch fabric.

Vogue 8784 is described as a lined, wrap dress which has a close-fitting bodice with front tucks, back princess seams, side opening for tie ends, and topstitching. I made view B, which is semi-fitted,  and has a front pleated skirt, and stitched hemline/sleeve hem.

Here’s the Vogue patterns picture and line drawing:

Vogue 8784

Vogue 8784 line drawings

There is not a huge fashion fabric selection to be had locally, but I settled for this animal print jersey and off I set. I also purchased some kind of soft polyester (?) fabric which has a stretch to it for the lining.

To be honest there was not a lot of problems sewing this pattern or the fabric. I used the stretch stitch setting on my Janome machine and it worked fine. I cut my ususal pattern sizes (larger on bottom half) but if I was making this again I would need to figure out what adjustments need to be made to stop the wrap part of the bodice from gaping quite as much. Also, I would shorten the pattern probably by at least a couple of inches and possibly peg the skirt. I think I am going to make a McCalls fitting shell to work out what exactly my fitting issues are. This is  my plan for the new year.

Can you tell that I am using the remote control for some of the camera shots? Before husband came and took the rest of the piccies.

Vogue 8784

Vogue 8784

Overall this is a good pattern/ design I think. I like the tucks and the collar detail but I think I need to work some fitting issues out. I also like the fact that you could make this dress in either a woven or stretch fabric which makes it very versatile. I have not yet found a true wrap dress which works for me…maybe after I do the fitting shell I can make this one really work.

Vogue 8784

Tags: , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

7 responses to “Vogue 8784 wrap dress: taking a walk on the wild side”

  1. Minnie Me says :

    wow – this looks impressive and very flattering- well done. I have that same feeling when I look at RTW – calculate the amount of fabric and labor involved and think I could do a lot better for a lot less. The other thing I find is a really nice style but it seems to have been made in up in the most horrendous fabric. Any way keep up the sewing practice – if this is an example of what you can do- you’re going to be a real sewing whizz very shortly

  2. julinhappyhomemakerredux says :

    It’s all a learning curve. The dress looks very nice on you.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Vogue 8784: DIY Wrap Dress | sewmanju - August 31, 2014

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 245 other followers

