Simplicity 2828 child’s dress – pattern review

Simplicity 2828

Finished the dress I started making for Kezia a few weeks back from some of the fabric I brought back from India.

This is a dark purple cotton which has pretty green/ reddish/ gold coloured spots woven in to the fabric. It is lovely fabric which cost me around £1 to buy, and I probably have enough to make another child’s dress. I lined it with a very fine purple cotton I had lying around in my stash. So it cost virtually nothing to make this dress (you got to love that!)

Simplicity 2828 line drawings

Pattern review

Pattern Description:

This is a Project Runway Pattern for a child’s dress, jumper, jacket or vest and hat.

I made the dress with the sweetheart neckline.

Pattern Sizing:

Size A, 3 – 8

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes I think so.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Yes. Fairly. But I did deviate slightly from the pattern (see below).

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

This is a really nice, simple style. A simple bodice with an A-line skirt with pleats. But you can vary the pattern in so many ways. I would like to  make the jacket and hat sometime…if I ever get round to it!

Fabric Used:

A cotton with woven spots in the design that I bought for virtually nothing in India. I used a very fine cotton to fully line the dress that I had lying around in my stash.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

I fully lined the dress. I understitched the lining part of the bodice. I mainly used french seams throughout, and a hong kong finish at the zipper opening. I also put tucks in to the front of the bodice, just for a little bit of variety.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

I probably won’t make this dress again, but would recommend it to others.

Conclusion:

Simple dress, great style.

Simplicity 2828

Simplicity 2828 – close up of tucks

Simplicity 2828 – I don’t know where she learned to pose for photos from….

Simplicity 2828

Simplicity 2828 – rear view

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

8 responses to “Simplicity 2828 child’s dress – pattern review”

  1. Heathersphere says :

    Such a beautiful young lady in a preciously pretty dress!

  2. Myra says :

    Awwww, she’s absolutely adorable! I love this dress, you did a fabulous job!

  3. Dorie Graybill says :

    I agree with Myra, she’s simply adorable!! Such a cute dress too! Well done!

  4. Carol says :

    Cute Dresses!! And she is stunning and full of personality! Sombody bettr tell Padma that her job is seriously on the line!!! (LOL!)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 227 other followers

