Butterick 5674: Suzi Chin drape front jersey dress

DSC_5175

Butterick 5674 Suzi Chin jersey dress

Butterick 5674

Butterick 5674

B5674

Butterick 5674 Suzi Chin dress – pattern envelope photo

Butterick 5674 is a Suzi Chin for Maggy Boutique pattern. I was drawn to the draping across the front bodice and skirt portion of the dress, but the pattern has been languishing in my drawer for some time. I finally got round to sewing this dress this last week in time for a christmas party next week. Here’s my review…

Pattern Review

Pattern Description:

Suzi Chin for Maggy Boutique pattern. Close-fitting,lined dress has front overlay, shoulder and waist pleats and back invisible zipper (I omitted the zipper…see below).

Pattern Sizing:

12 – 20. I read a reviewer on PR.com comment that the pattern ran large so I cut one size smaller all over, grading out two sizes larger for the skirt portion (damn you bottom and hips!) Doing this gave a pretty good fit.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Kind of…I think the version on the front of the pattern envelope has more draping going on.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Hmmm..I wouldn’t say easy as such. They are ok upto instruction number 18, which tells you how to sew the left side seam. It was pretty confusing, and I think other reviewers on PR.com have said the same. It would also be very easy to sew the draping on in reverse (I think someone over on PR.com also did that), if you weren’t being very attentive! I didn’t insert a zip so disregarded the instructions for that part.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

This is actually a very easy dress to sew. I took some time to thread mark all the pleats, dots etc and the sewing part was quite straightforward. I love the fit and the draping and also the fact it is lined.

I think the instructions are not that easy in parts to comprehend. Also, I don’t like the fact that (unless I misunderstood something) the lower edge upper edge of the right overlay doesn’t seem to be attached to anything. I ended up sewing it to the lower edge of the left overlay so it didn’t accidentally slip down. I notice in the pictures there is an annoying little pleat over my left boob….will have to sort that out!

The biggest problem that I had with this pattern is that it tells you to make a narrow 5/8″ hem at the lower edge of the draped overskirt front, and also at the bottom of the skirt. Well, I tried this. And it looked hiddeous. I mean, really, like a ragged lettuce leaf. I tried it with a stretch twin needle and just with my single needle on stretch stitch and I just couldn’t do it. So I ended up just cutting the edge off and leaving the overskirt edge and the lower skirt hem unstitched. I know the purists among you may not like this. I would love to hear from those with more experience what I should have done. I also know from looking at these pictures I am going to have to smooth the curve out a bit more.

Fabric Used:

John Kaldor ritual plain navy jersey.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

I omitted the rear zip. I had just enough material to cut the back bodice and skirt on the fold to avoid sewing back seams. I cut the selvedge off the lining fabric and used it as stay tape at the shoulders and along the front edges of the right and left overlays. I didn’t hem the overskirt or skirt. I pegged the skirt by half an inch front and back on either side. I also lengthened the skirt pieces by 3 inches.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Probably wouldn’t sew it again myself, but yes, would recommend it to others.

Conclusion:

Even though that ragged front hem and the little pleat over the left boob is bothering me I will attempt to resolve those issues, and they don’t really stop me loving the comfortable, flattering fit of this dress. I think it is a relatively easy dress with somewhat of the glam factor.

Butterick 5674

Butterick 5674

Butterick 5674 close up  of bodice

Butterick 5674 close up of bodice

Butterick 5674

Butterick 5674

Butterick 5674: photo hi-jacked by Kezia

Butterick 5674: photo hi-jacked by Kezia

Tags: , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

4 responses to “Butterick 5674: Suzi Chin drape front jersey dress”

  1. Kay says :

    That’s one drop dead gorgeous dress!!! I love it!! look fab!

  2. Dibs says :

    Your version is so much nicer than the pattern cover. I kept looking at this dress, wondering if I should buy it. Now I know I should.

    • sewmanju says :

      Thanks Dibs, just had a quick look over at your blog and will have another look when I get more time, but, referring to your last post, it is a good one for hiding the old tummy, haha!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 255 other followers

