Vogue V8848: the S and M dress

Vogue V8848 ponte + pleather fit and flare dress
Vogue V8848 ponte + pleather fit and flare dress

Vogue V8848 ponte + pleather fit and flare dress

Sooo….was I the only person on the planet stupid brave enough to purchase V8848? When I saw the model pictures for this dress on the Vogue Patterns website I thought it looked like a nice, easy to sew fit and flare dress. Check out their version in pink:

V8848

V8848

Nice enough, right?

I bought the pattern on sale and thought it would be the perfect opportunity to trying sewing ponte and pleather: neither of which I have sewn before. I knew when I saw the pattern I wanted to do the central panel in a contrast fabric of some sort.

I took a gamble and just sewed the thing right out of the envelope. I cut my usual size on the bust, grading out one size larger at the waistline and for the skirt portion.

V8848: not a nice day for an outdoor photo shoot

V8848: not a nice day for an outdoor photo shoot

The only adjustment I made was reducing some of the width on the sleeves as after I had basted them in I felt they were too large and loose. I think I possibly should also have reduced some width on the shoulders, but not by much. I didn’t add anything to the length on this dress – I find vogue patterns are often too long on me anyway – this one was just right.

Here are the line drawings:

V8848 - line drawings

V8848 – line drawings

Now here is where this pattern falls down, IMO. Do you see the strips which come out from the front and rear central panels and line up over the hips? Here is a close up on my dress:

V8848 - close up of strips that run over the hips

V8848 – close up of strips that run over the hips

(BTW, I eliminated the zip in my dress). There are EIGHT corners which have to be sewn which join the upper bodice front and back side panels and the lower front and back skirt side panels to these strips. That’s right. EIGHT corners of torment for you to tackle. It could be my lack of expertise. It could have been my choice of fabric. But those corners are, frankly, biaaatches to sew! No amount of cutting in to them would get them to be sharp sweet corners. I think I just hammered the pleather into submission with my iron, so they don’t look that bad, but I would love to see if anyone else ever makes this dress, what they make of them. And I swear the dots you are told to cut up to to get the corners are just not placed right. I was too frightened to cut into the corners that far because it was like they were way beyond the seam allowance.

V8848 ponte + pleather fit and flare dress

V8848 ponte + pleather fit and flare dress

Now that the “corners ordeal” is over, I will say that overall, this dress fits quite well, and is very comfortable. However, that Rihanna song (S&M) does come into my mind when I put it on (“…..sticks and stones may break my bones, but chains and whips excite me, nanana…”) Here’s my pattern review:

PATTERN REVIEW:

Pattern Description:

Unlined dress (close-fitting through bust) has seam detail, back zipper and narrow hem.

Pattern Sizing:

14 – 22

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes I think so. Mine has a more dominatrix look to it, haha.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Yes. Very. In theory.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

There are EIGHT corners which have to be sewn which join the upper bodice front and back side panels and the lower front and back skirt side panels to the strips which run off the front and back centre panels. These corners were absolutely horrible to sew. I think it is the way the pattern has been drafted (although it could also be my lack of expertise/ choice of fabric). The alignment dots seem to be placed too far off and away from the seam allowance. There is just too much fabric to allow you to get a nice, neat, sharp corner. I don’t mind the overall shape or fit of the dress.

Fabric Used:

Ponte knit with faux leather.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

I eliminated the back zip and cut the back central panel as a single piece. I sewed the pattern as it came out of the envelope: usual bust size and going up a size at the waistline, and for the skirt portion. I also made the sleeves a little narrower.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Neither. IF I was ever going to sew this again I would probably get rid of the strips that run out from the front and back centre panels and cut the bodice side panels in one with the skirt side panels. Eliminate the horrible corners. But it ain’t gonna happen….

Conclusion:

It fits ok. It is comfortable. I think I will wear it. But I didn’t like the pattern.

Vogue V8848 - ponte + pleather fit and flare dress

Vogue V8848 – ponte + pleather fit and flare dress

….cause I may be bad but I’m perfectly good at it……until next time…

Tags: ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

31 responses to “Vogue V8848: the S and M dress”

  1. Rachelle says :

    The pattern may have been a PITA but you look FABULOUS in it. Yours looks so great, I’m going to pick the pattern up later.

  2. blacklabel says :

    love it – well done!

  3. Myra says :

    I totally understand and can see your reasoning with the stressful sewing of this dress! However, this dress is gorgeous on you! I like your thought on remaking this dress with the side panels as one…and bet a second version would be more of a knockout as well! Great job and sorry how you feel about it, because you look beautiful in it. I also bet you’ll get tons of looks and compliments too!

  4. Opal says :

    Nice job! It looks fabulous on you.

  5. Aminat says :

    You look absolutely stunning. You did a great job and this fits you so well

  6. Carolyn says :

    You knocked this out of the park! It’s so beautiful and it fits you so well! I don’t know about sewing this with other fabrics but I had to use my clapper on all my seams that intersected with the faux leather on my dress too. If you don’t mind I’m snatching a picture of you in this awesome dress and linking to your blog post on my Sewcation Round-up!

  7. Renata (@DelicatelilySty) says :

    Your dress is rocking FABULOUS hard! Love it :)

  8. Sheila says :

    Awesome. .. Awesome dress and you look fabulous in it, despite the hiccups in sewing it.

  9. Claudette says :

    Caught your pic on Carolyn’s fanatic blog. This is really lovely on.

  10. Lila says :

    very inspiring. I loved your choice of fabric and the leather in the centre, it is just amazing, I have done a trial version, and it is not bas considering I am a new sewer. I am excite to finish this project soon.

  11. Patricia says :

    Your dress is beautiful!!! You look fabulous! You have inspired me to make a dress of knit and leather too!

  12. Pella says :

    Hi sewmanju, impressive panel matching! Its a great dress; I have nominated you for the ‘one lovely blog:very inspiring blogger award’ – details at http://patternpandemonium.wordpress.com/2013/01/13/young-year-ramblings/

  13. Shayne Jelavic says :

    Well, it looks fantastic on you, despite the torment! And looking at it you’d never know how you struggled, as the result is very professional. As to sewing sharp corners, it’s something I’d really like to do a class in – is there anyone out there who has mastered them, and is willing to teach a class?? I have a number of vintage patterns which have those sharp corners on the bodice yoke and/or the underarm gussets (remember those?), and I have yet to get a consistent, sharp corner. I certainly know what you mean about having to cut terrifyingly far into the seam allowance in an effort to get a good turn. There must be a trick to it – I hope someone sees this post!

    • sewmanju says :

      Hello shayne. Thanks for your comment. These are the first “corners” I have done and your comment doesn’t fill me with hope for the future! I hope someone sees your comment too and offers some advise.

  14. MCB says :

    The dress looks great on you. I think it is a keeper.

  15. BiKe says :

    I love the combination, looks gorgeous on you. This is my first time on your blog and I’m loving it already. You’re an awesome sewer.

  16. Brwnskngurl55 says :

    I also made this one and looked on here to see if anyone else had trouble with the corners and BINGO…it wasn’t just me…I didn’t like the pattern either but at least yours is wearable…mine needs to be redesigned and I’ll have to do that in my “spare time”.

  17. Maree says :

    Ugh. Fund this review after doing battle with those corners on a toile. I am SO glad I didn’t cut proper fabric for this pattern – just wish I’d found this review before I bought it!!them!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 223 other followers

