Vogue 8787: don’t you just hate this horrible British weather?

My version - Vogue 8787 cowl neck flared dress
Vogue 8787 cowl neck flared dress

Vogue 8787 cowl neck flared dress

It is a very British thing to do…to talk about the weather. I don’t know if any other nationalities do it half as much! Anyway, we are currently in a spell of the worst kind of British weather. I mean, snow and cold are ok if it is at least sunny and bright, but rain and those days (like today), when the sun just doesn’t come out and it is grey all day……booooo.

I was looking in my wardrobe and realised that, even though I love my colour, I don’t actually seem to own any colourful winter clothes. Its all very subdued. Grey, navy, black, with the odd bit of autumnal burgundy and purple thrown in. So, in an effort to introduce some colour, I decided to make V8787 in a hot pink checked brushed cotton (purchased from the Truro fabrics website). I like to think it has a touch of the Vivienne Westwood about it (I wish!)

Vivienne Westwood Anglomania Marghi taffeta evening dress - original price £365

Vivienne Westwood Anglomania Marghi taffeta evening dress – original price £365

My version - Vogue 8787 cowl neck flared dress

My version – Vogue 8787 cowl neck flared dress. Cost: considerably less!

So, what do I have to say about this pattern/ dress? It is very easy to make, and it has a great number of possibilities with the two different bodice and skirt variations. I chose to make the dress with the brushed side of the fabric on the inside, so I feel nice and cosy, and I think the non brushed side may be less prone to bobbling. It is very comfortable and I do like the cowl neck detail. The only negative thing I would have to say about this pattern is that I wish I had raised the front lower armscye slightly, as, annoyingly, you can see a little bit of bra. This is a not a huge issue, as I plan to wear this dress when it is cold, and so would probably have either a cardigan over it, or a polo neck under it. But if I was making a sleeveless version again, I would change this. Oh, I omitted the inseam pockets. Don’t get the need to add more width to the hip/ bottom region.

Vogue 8787 - the pattern envelope drawing

Vogue 8787 – the pattern envelope drawing

DSC_5682

Vogue 8787 cowl neck flared dress

Vogue 8787 cowl neck flared dress - back view

Vogue 8787 cowl neck flared dress – back view

Vogue 8787 cowl neck flared dress - close up of the cowl

Vogue 8787 cowl neck flared dress – close up of the cowl

Here’s my review:

Pattern Review:

Pattern Description:

Lined dress has fitted bodice variations, midriff, tapered or flared skirt and back zipper. C and E: side front and side back seams, and side pockets. A, B, D and F: semi-fitted skirt and back slit. D, E and F: bias front bodice with fold-back facing.

Pattern Sizing:

14 – 22

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Yes

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

I like the cowl neck and the fact there are a number of different variations in the pattern. I didn’t like how low the front lower armscye was (at least on me), and if I was making another sleeveless version of this I would rectify this.

Fabric Used:

Brushed cotton with a very fine soft cotton for the back bodice and midriff lining.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

Usual size for bodice and one size larger for midriff and skirt. I did not line the skirt; I really did not think the brushed cotton needed it. I used an invisible zipper. I omitted the in-seam pockets. I  had to shorten the skirt length by 2.5 inches – be warned if you are on the shorter side this skirt is long.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

I would recommend to others. I might sew this pattern again, but one of the other versions.

Conclusion:

Love my new bright, colourful dress, warm and easy to wear. Roll on spring…..

Vogue 8787 cowl neck flared dress

Vogue 8787 cowl neck flared dress

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

24 responses to “Vogue 8787: don’t you just hate this horrible British weather?”

  1. sewingnasize11shoe says :

    You dress is lovely and will brigthen up the those gloomy winter days.

    Ciao,

    Caroline

  2. black label says :

    This is the happiest, most magnificent “winter” dress i ever seen :) excellent fabric choice & a stunning creation.

  3. Pella says :

    Congratulations on finding a fabric so close to the inspiration piece. It looks great.

  4. Mary in FL says :

    Those colors are great on you, and should brighten up ANY day!

    Here’s my weather: http://www.wunderground.com/cgi-bin/findweather/getForecast?query=zmw:32115.1.99999

  5. Kay says :

    Lovely color on you, Manju!! Yours is even better than the Vivienne Westwood dress!!

    And yes, we Canadians talk about the weather, ALL the time!!

  6. disparatedisciplines says :

    Your dress is very flattering. I live in Chicago & the weather is a constant topic here- tomorrow it will be 60F & the day after in the 30’s!

  7. DeDe says :

    Love this look!!! Fabulous

  8. Scruffy Badger says :

    Thanks for introducing yourself over at my blog & joining us in some polka dot loving :-)
    I love your sense of style – been looking through your recent posts & you have made some serious dresses – they all SOOOo suit you & if you sau youre new (ish) to sewing then wowzer, youve clearlu got innate talent! & courage – sewing your S&M dress with those different fabrics & eight corners – npt for the faint hearted!
    I think I’ve loved every single make, & this is no exception – lovely vision you had, making it out of this beautiful fabric.

  9. Dibs says :

    Your dress is beautiful. Like Scruffy, i have been going through your past posts, and you have made patterns that I either have, or have been considering. I always look at the Truro fabrics website, but I have never bought from them. Your fabric from them is really lovely. What is their service like?

    • sewmanju says :

      Thanks Dibs. So, the service from Truro fabrics was very good. Can’t fault it really. But the one thing I hate is having to pay for swatches. And Truro do charge for samples. So on this occassion I just risked it and bought this checked material, and also some jade ponte (waiting to be sewn) and am happy with both. Normally if I was buying fabric e.g. from ebay I was ask for samples, and don’t mind sending an SAE, but that’s just me. I wish we had a Joanns or Mood fabric like they have in USA….I would be penniless!

  10. julinhappyhomemakerredux says :

    I think your version looks better than the inspiration as well. And you did a superb job with the plad-matching!

  11. Alice says :

    You did a very good job of matching the plaid. That is difficult and you did it perfectly.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Vogue 8787: summer version | sewmanju - June 23, 2013

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 229 other followers

