New Look 6205: kids floral cotton summer dress

New Look 6205
New Look 6205

New Look 6205

New Look 6205: this is the dress I was going to make Kezia for Easter but then we ended up not going to church on Easter Sunday anyway, and I got waylaid on other things.

The fabric is supposed to be ex-Boden stock, and is a beautiful dress weight cotton. I love the bright colours, and so does Kezia:

New Look 6205 - the ballet poses

New Look 6205 – the ballet poses

There is not so much I want to say about this dress except that I LOVE this pattern. I love the raised waistline seam bodice with its cap raglan sleeves, I love the pleated skirt and I love the way the inside of the bodice is finished so there are no exposed edges (I did fully line the dress; the pattern states to just line the bodice).

 

New Look 6205 - hanger shot

New Look 6205 – hanger shot

New Look 6205

New Look 6205 – front lining shot

New Look 6205 - back lining shot

New Look 6205 – back lining shot

The thing that I am probably the most proud of is the lapped zipper that I installed (my first one):

New Look 6205 lapped zipper

New Look 6205 lapped zipper

Pattern Review

Pattern Description:

Child’s dress with full skirt pleated to bodice at raised waistline seam has back zipper, round neckline, short or cap raglan sleeves and assorted trim options. Perfect for party or play time. I made view D.

Pattern Sizing:

3 – 8

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes. I added some lace trim around the neckline and the hem.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Yes, very, except for I was confused initially with how they explain how to sew the lining to the bodice to get a clean finish. I ended up unpicking it and tried it again and this time it worked beautifully.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

I love the raised waistline seam bodice with its cap raglan sleeves, I love the pleated skirt and I love the way the inside of the bodice is finished so there are no exposed edges. There is nothing I particularly dislike about this pattern.

Fabric Used:

Ex-Boden cotton with cotton lawn lining.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

None, except that I added a lace trim around the neckline and hem.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Not sure if I will sew it again, but love this pattern, and highly recommend.

Conclusion:

My daughter loves twirling in her new dress. One happy bunny!

New Look 6205

New Look 6205

New Look 6205 - the ballet poses continued!

New Look 6205 – the ballet poses continued!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tags: , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

14 responses to “New Look 6205: kids floral cotton summer dress”

  1. sewbusylizzy says :

    Just gorgeous fabric! And I love the blue waist ribbon

  2. jacksangel says :

    Beautiful dress, Wonderful! Your daughter is too cute!

  3. Carolyn says :

    Your daughter is adorable and looks beautiful in that very pretty dress!

  4. wot2eat says :

    I show my blog to my 17 year old, We think she is adorable, especially in that dress.

  5. blacklabel says :

    this is darling! love the pleats too but then again, im a complete sucker for anything pleated :)

  6. Claire B says :

    Hi. Just bought this pattern as my first attempt at making a dress for my 3 girls! (I think maybe I should have picked an easier one…oops) I cant understand how to attach the sleeves to the bodice it seems to leave an untidy exposed edge…am I missing something??? Would love your help….if mine turns out half as good as yours I will be a very happy lady :-)

    • sewmanju says :

      Hi Claire. I assume you are also making view D? I do remember I actually did this part wrong first time round and had to unpick! It is hard to describe via text! Baste the sleeves in as they describe in point 8. The key is then to (from what I recall) push the sleeves down out of the way, then try basting the lining to the bodice at the armholes to check if you have it right. Remember the sleeves should be pushed down out of the way. That way when you have sewn the lining in place and turned it right way out the edges should all be totally concealed and clean. Really hope you get it and your girls look beautiful!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 224 other followers

