Burda Style 7494: Ikat cotton dress

Burda Style 7494 Ikat cotton dress
Burda Style 7494 Ikat cotton dress

Burda Style 7494 Ikat cotton dress

Hello Readers, how are you all? My latest make is from Burda Style pattern 7494, and I love the finished dress. The pattern was actually gifted to me by the lovely (and very generous) Helen, who runs the fabric stall in my local covered market, here in Carlisle. The fabric is a gorgeous Ikat cotton that I bought a few weeks ago from a fabric shop located in a neighbouring town. It’s actually this one, if anyone wants to buy it. Excuse the wrinkles though, I had been sitting around a while in the dress before taking the pictures!

Burda Style 7494 Ikat cotton dress

Burda Style 7494 Ikat cotton dress

Of course when I saw the fabric in the shop I thought I would make a skirt from it. So I only bought 2 metres of fabric. When the urge hit me to sew it, I suddenly switched to the idea of making a dress. So that’s why the front and back side princess seamed panels are done in the cotton denim, rather than the Ikat fabric. But I quite like the effect, what do you think? (The cotton denim, BTW, is leftover from this project).

Burda Style 7494 Ikat cotton dress

Burda Style 7494 Ikat cotton dress

Inspite of only having 2 metres of fabric to play with, I think I didn’t do too badly with pattern matching (although don’t examine the side seams too much :-)).

Burda Style 7494 Ikat cotton dress

Burda Style 7494 Ikat cotton dress

Julia Bobbin has made 4 completely different versions of this dress by varying the skirts/ fabrics, and I can see why. The bodice on this dress really is super flattering, and aside from shortening the length of the front and back bodice I didn’t have to make any other changes, and there were no issues with the dreaded armholes! I did take Julia’s advice though, and substituted darted skirt back pieces for the supplied pattern skirt back pieces, which have box pleats.

Pattern Review.

Pattern Description:

A little bit of the fifties – enchanting dress with a light tulip skirt and girlish Peter Pan collar. Worn with matching peplum jacket, short sleeved and pleated.

Pattern Sizing:

8 – 20

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes, although I substituted the box pleated skirt back pieces for simple darted pieces instead.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Those that I followed were. I only used them up until half way through, though, as I decided to fully line the dress, and not use the facings that the pattern suggest.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

Not a dislike as such, but if you have a considerable posterior (that’s me) then you may want to avoid using the box pleated skirt back pieces. I substituted them with plain darted skirt back pieces. I love the bodice. Very cute and comfortable.

Fabric Used:

A cotton Ikat. Heavier weight than most cottons, but still not too heavy.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

As mentioned above I substituted the box pleated back skirt pieces with plain darted skirt back pieces. I shortened the front and back bodice pieces by just under 2 inches I think.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

As others have done I may be tempted to sew the bodice again but substitute it with another skirt. Yes, I would recommend it.

Conclusion:

This is a super flattering bodice and it does look great with the tulip style skirt, but would also look fab with other skirt types.

Until next time…..

Burda Style 7494 Ikat cotton dress

Burda Style 7494 Ikat cotton dress

p.s. Yes, we are now into opaque tights (pantyhose as our American cousins like to call them) weather here in Cumbria. Consider autumn well and truly here!

 

Tags: , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

32 responses to “Burda Style 7494: Ikat cotton dress”

  1. Julie says :

    I have just found your blog and have really enjoyed reading through your past posts. I love this dress on you. Choice of fabric and pattern are so flattering.

  2. Angela says :

    Very attractive — and I’m impressed with your fabric substitution, it looks great!

  3. Carol S says :

    Very nice dress. I’m an American and I would call those tights. Only when they are stocking shear are they pantyhose.

  4. Joanne says :

    Perfect for these late summer , definitely fall days. Great color/fabric combination

  5. Debbie Cook says :

    Pretty dress on you! I like the contrast side panels, which tie into the collar. No one would ever guess the true reason they are there. :-)

  6. Rachel M says :

    Hi, what a flattering dress. It looks like a Boden dress but without the price tag. The collar is perfect, have you any tips?

    • sewmanju says :

      Thanks Rachel. Tips? Hmmm. Baste before sewing and make sure you trim the allowances well before turning. I actually used my pinking shears to trim the curved edges as I read somewhere the pinking action does notching/ clipping all in one. I used it a couple of times for collars.

  7. sewbusylizzy says :

    It’s a lovely style on you & the fabric is gorgeous. I love dresses with a wider neckline – they really create a great shape for a bodice.

  8. blacklabel says :

    ooo, i absolutely love your contrasting side panels…it really shows off the shape & style better than if they had been the Ikat! sometimes not having enough fabric is the answer :)

  9. prttynpnk says :

    Adorable. Now I must have contrasting side panels!!!

  10. JuliaBobbin (@JuliaBobbin) says :

    wow what a winner! The fabric and the fit are perfect; you look fabulous!

  11. Heathersmom says :

    Such an enticingly gorgeous dress on you! Awesome merge of dress style and fabric design.

  12. SeeKatSew says :

    I love the contrasting side panels, I think it was a good thing you only bought enough fabric for a skirt! That fabric is such a great print, perfect transition colours for fall and spring. The dress is so flattering.

  13. Zoe says :

    Love the dress! You chose great fabric for the dress and contrast panels :)

  14. Sam says :

    I love this! The style is very flattering on you – you have a definite knack of picking very flattering patterns for yourself – and the fabric is gorgeous.

  15. Pella says :

    Lovely! The contrast side panels definitely belong.

  16. velosewer says :

    Stunning, stunning, stunning.

  17. Nothy Lane says :

    Really nice

  18. Jess B says :

    Oh my gosh, it’s great! Found via patternreview and I love the way this turned out. It is a great silhouette.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 245 other followers

