Miz Mozelle Dress: DIY easy jersey dress with collar and giveaway results

Miz Mozelle jersey dress
Miz Mozelle jersey dress

Miz Mozelle jersey dress

Hello Friends,

As some of you may be aware this little island that I live on is at risk of disappearing beneath the waves due to the deluge of never ending rain we have been having. Fear not, the city where I live is ok (although the river has burst it’s banks our flood defences seem to be holding), and this morning the sun is out. But all this rain is interfering with my outdoor photography!

Couple of things to share with you today. First up, I made the Miz Mozelle dress  by Jamie Christina. I chose to make this dress up in a soft creased effect poly jersey which was supplied by Click Fabrics. This fabric is very soft and light (but not thin or transparent) and makes the dress very comfortable to wear. Plus no ironing :-) I think I will get a lot of wear out of this come summer, although I have already worn it with tights and a cardigan.

Miz Mozelle jersey dress

Miz Mozelle jersey dress

I chose to use a contrasting black bias binding which has a picot edge finish.

Close up of binding with picot edge

Close up of binding with picot edge

I added thread belt loops.

Thread belt loop

Thread belt loop

And I also ignored the instructions to use cord for the button loop and made one using my fabric and my rouleaux turner.

Self fabric button loop

Self fabric button loop

I am not going to lie, this is not my most favourite pattern ever. Perhaps because I didn’t find it a very challenging sew? I have seen some lovely versions of this dress on the internet, which is what made me buy it. It’s definitely very feminine and very easy to wear. Perhaps if I made it again in a crepe de chine or silk it would challenge me more? However, it’s a good basic pattern to have in the stash.

BTW, this is the first time I used 1/4 inch steam a seam to hold my fabric in place whilst hemming my jersey. WOW! I love this product now. I don’t think I have ever had such a nice neat hem. The steam a seam comes on a roll. I applied the double sided tape to my fabric where I wanted it to hold my hem up, removed the backing, folded up my fabric to stick in place, and then used my twin needle to sew my hem. I had no puckers or tunnelling. This is definitely something I will use again on knits.

Pattern Review

Pattern Description:

The Miz Mozelle Dress sewing pattern is a vintage inspired pattern that features a peter pan collar, keyhole neckline, and an easy to make elastic waist. The booklet includes full size pattern pieces, Glossary of terms, and illustrated instructions in color.

This pattern recommends stretch fabrics with drape; however, you can use woven fabrics too. Just go up one size for the Bodice, Collar, and Sleeves. For best results, choose a fabric with a lot of drape.
Pattern Sizing:

2 – 18

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Yes…but…they are aimed at a beginner. Nothing wrong with that. Just saying.

The pattern tells you to finish all the raw edges before sewing them together. I would be worried this might stretch some of the pieces out. I constructed most of this dress on my serger.

The instructions tell you to use a piece of cord to make a loop. A more advanced sewer might want to make their own loop, as I did.

The instructions have you apply the binding to the sleeves and then set the sleeves in flat before sewing the side seams up. If you do this you will end up with the seam showing each time you lift up your arm. I chose to apply my binding after sewing the side seam up.

The instructions tell you to fold the hem by 1/4 inch and then again by 3/8 inch. I did not do this on my jersey fabric, and used steam and seam and a 5/8 inch allowance.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

It’s a very easy to make and wear basic.

Fabric Used:

Poly cotton jersey and a picot edged bias binding.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

See above. I also raised the depth of the neckline by about 0.5 inches. I didn’t use bias binding to finish the inside neckline; I serged and understitched. I also added bias binding to the outer edge of the collar.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Not sure if I would sew it again, but yes I would recommend.

Conclusion:

Easy to sew and a good basic pattern to have on hand.

Miz Mozelle jersey dress

Miz Mozelle jersey dress

So the other thing is I need to tell you is the results of the giveaway I hosted for a pair of tickets to the Spring Knitting and Stitching Show. The winners are:

Jennifer and Little Flower Baby. Please can you get in touch via my email (under my About me section) with your full names and addresses? Hope you enjoy the show!

More soon!

Tags: , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

13 responses to “Miz Mozelle Dress: DIY easy jersey dress with collar and giveaway results”

  1. Natasha says :

    It’s really cute and the fabric looks so soft.

  2. foamofdays says :

    Lovely dress and I love the contrasting bias binding you used! We also had way too much water here in Berkshire, but with sunny windy weather it’s much better now..

  3. littleflowerbaby says :

    This looks lovely on you and what a great idea to use jersey fabric!

    Thank you so much for the ticket! What a lovely surprise after a rubbish day – I’m really looking forward to the show. My 4 year old daughter loves fabric and gets in free so will be coming with me!

    Email on it’s way – thanks again!

  4. Gjeometry says :

    Looks so pretty on you, I love the pale pink and black together. I hope the island doesn’t float away! Here’s to no rain!

  5. Sew, Jean Margaret says :

    Love the black binding. It really highlights the pretty collar and keyhole neckline.

  6. PeggyS says :

    Just FYI: my mother’s 1962 Singer Touch ‘n Sew could do a chain stitch and that’s how we did belt loops back when mastodons roamed the Earth ;-) I still use this machine, don’t know if new ones can do a chain stitch? Hadn’t thought about it until I saw this post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 255 other followers

