OOP Butterick 4657: DIY Ruched Liberty Cotton Lawn Summer Dress

Butterick 4657
Butterick 4657

Butterick 4657

Hello Friends,

Today I am back with reviews on the mother daughter dresses from yesterday. First up is the dress I made for myself, OOP Butterick 4657, which is a Maggy London design.

Butterick 4657 line drawings

Butterick 4657 line drawings

The suggested fabrics for this dress are chiffon, georgette, charmeuse and crepe back satin. Ordinarily, cotton maybe too bulky to make this dress work, but of course, I was not using “ordinary” cotton, but rather, the extraordinary Liberty Cotton lawn, which is fine and soft.

The whole dress is underlined with a fine cotton lawn, and the same cotton lawn used to line the dress as well. I used the finest, softest interfacing I could get my hands on to preserve the drape of the lawn. Here are some inside shots:

Butterick 4657 front lining

Butterick 4657 front lining

Butterick 4657 back lining

Butterick 4657 back lining

I think I cut close to 70 individual pieces of fabric and interfacing to make this dress. Overlays of the fashion fabric are gathered on to the interfaced underlining, which acts as a stay for the gathered fashion fabric, and then the lining is sewn in.

Butterick 4657 close up of sleeve

Butterick 4657 close up of sleeve

Butterick 4657 close up of bodice/ midriff section

Butterick 4657 close up of bodice/ midriff section

Oh yes, I didn’t use the skirt that the pattern comes with. I swapped it out for a softly gathered one instead.

Butterick 4657

Butterick 4657

Butterick 4657

Butterick 4657

Butterick 4657

Butterick 4657

Overall, I was proud of myself for completing this dress. I think the fit is good….IF I ever made this dress again (unlikely!) I would perhaps make it slighly smaller in the shoulders. But this is a classic dress made in a classic fabric that I will be happy to wear over and over when we finally get some warmer weather. The midriff section makes it very flattering. I think I might even enter it in the Sew Dolly Clackett contest as I think Roisin would look fabulous in a dress like this!

Pattern Review:

Pattern Description:

Dress in two lengths has wrapped gathered front and sleeves, gathered middle section, back zipper and flared skirt with shaped hemline. A: knee length. B: mid-calf length.

Pattern Sizing:

6 – 20

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

The bodice part, yes. I substituted the skirt for a different one.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Yes.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

I love the overall shaping. It is very feminine and flattering, with the ruched overlays and the midriff section. The instructions tell you to sew in an invisible zip, which I did, and it does work, but there is quite a lot of bulk at the midriff area. I don’t know if a hand picked zip would be better? Be warned, I cut close to 70 individual pieces for this dress, including underlining, interfacing and lining.

Fabric Used:

Liberty cotton lawn outer fabric; cotton lawn for the underlining and lining and a very very light, fine interfacing. You can read about the fabric I used here.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

1 inch sway back alteration. Raised the front by 1.5 cm. Changed the skirt to a softly gathered one.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Doubt I will sew again. I would recommend it, although the pattern is now OOP. I think it would also make a fab wedding dress.

Conclusion:

I classic, feminine dress made from a classic Liberty print. Love it!

Butterick 4657

Butterick 4657

 

Tags: , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

13 responses to “OOP Butterick 4657: DIY Ruched Liberty Cotton Lawn Summer Dress”

  1. black label says :

    Sensational!! Love the print even more seeing it close-up.

  2. Catty says :

    Prettiest dress ever! Inside and out! Love it!

  3. mia mcnab says :

    Gorgeous, but 70 Pieces????!!!!!

  4. Dawn says :

    Lovely as always :)
    My mum used to make herself and me matching dresses when I was little and I loved it! So I can understand where your little one is coming from :)x

  5. Sam says :

    Lovely! It looks beautifully finished and I’m totally impressed you had the patience to deal with 70 pieces!

  6. Tia Dia says :

    Love Liberty lawn! It’s such a pretty spring-time dress.

  7. acolourfulcanvas says :

    Hi! I just joined the Sew Dolly Clackett Flicker group and saw your pretty dress! It’s a lovely make, and suits you beautifully! Well done!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 241 other followers

