McCalls 6899: DIY pleated jersey tunic top

McCalls 6899 pleated jersey tunic top
McCalls 6899 pleated jersey tunic top

McCalls 6899 pleated jersey tunic top

Hello Readers,

It’s not often that I will start a post with a rear view, but that’s where its at with this top! This is McCalls 6899, made up in a fine, floaty polycotton jersey from my sponsor, Click Fabrics, which has a horizontal weave, almost like a slub, to it. It’s perfect for a soft top like this with it’s pleated details, and will be fabulous during the warmer weather as well as wearing right now layered with a light cardigan or jacket.

McCalls 6899 pleated jersey tunic top

McCalls 6899 pleated jersey tunic top

McCalls 6899 line drawing

McCalls 6899 line drawing

This top might not appeal to everyone because of the amount of ease which it has. It is huge! But you just have to embrace that fact before you make it, if you do, and appreciate this is not a form fitting top. I love the pleated detail at the back. Another look:

McCalls 6899 pleated jersey tunic top

McCalls 6899 pleated jersey tunic top

I originally cut the long sleeves for this top, but after I attached one and tried it on, I looked like I was drowning in it, so I cut the sleeve off, and attached the sleeve bands instead.

McCalls 6899 pleated jersey tunic top

McCalls 6899 pleated jersey tunic top

Pattern Review:

Pattern Description:

Very loose-fitting tops and tunic have dropped shoulders, yoke and pleat variations, narrow hem and front button closing. A and B: collar extends into tie ends, mock front band, back yoke, forward shoulder seams, and no shoulder seams. A and C: armhole bands. D: tie ends. Shaped hemline B and rolled sleeves D: wrong side shows. C and D: collar/front bands and button tabs.

I made view C.

Pattern Sizing:

XS – XXL

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Yes, except for I didn’t conceal the ends of the centre front band the way they described because I found that it was distorting the shape of the front of the tunic, so I just turned my ends under and top stitched.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

I like the pleating at the back. I love the comfort. Being as I made it in white it will go with everything and be the perfect piece to layer now or wear alone later. It looks good worn loose as well as tucked in. It is very generous in it’s cut, which may not be for everyone. It is rated as an easy sew….it was quite fiddly sewing the front bands. I did it ok using steam a seam as help. I think a complete beginner may find the bands harder to sew.

Fabric Used:

Very light weight polycotton jersey.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

Aside from shortening the top by 2 inches, nothing else.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

I might sew it again. I think there is a lot you could do with this pattern to customise it. Lace yoke at the back, make it in chiffon, silk or crepe, make a dress out of it, contrast front bands/ collar and sleeve backs, and of course there is the option of the tie collar etc. Yes, I would recommend.

Conclusion:

If you are looking for an oversize tunic top with some nice details check it out.

McCalls 6899 pleated jersey tunic top

McCalls 6899 pleated jersey tunic top

See you soon friends!

Tags: , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

27 responses to “McCalls 6899: DIY pleated jersey tunic top”

  1. Candice says :

    Ooooh, this is so cute! I loved how you styled this top, the bag, everything is gorgeous!

  2. Rose in SV says :

    Lovely!

  3. Roberta Fahrni says :

    It looks really good on you. Great with skinny jeans!

  4. Sheenagh says :

    Beautiful job! So pretty – love those pleats!

  5. thornberry says :

    I love this too! And love the haircut, by the way. I wouldn’t have looked twice at that pattern before seeing your beautiful version – now it is going on to my shopping list!

  6. Levone says :

    Great looking top!

  7. Judi says :

    The 1st picture of the back was enough for me…I HAD to get that pattern! Scrolled to the front…oh yes…for sure…loved everything about the pattern and the fabric you used was perfect. Then I scrolled to the patterns line drawings. That is one of the last patterns I bought!!! I already have it. LOL!!! I hope mine turns out half as nice as yours!!!

  8. CraftedbyCarrie says :

    Super cute! I was just considering this pattern but didn’t know whether there was going to be too much ease or not. Yours looks great ($ comfortable!) and will go with everything!

  9. prttynpnk says :

    this is really sharp- casual but stylish, I love it!

  10. Jen (NY) says :

    I have never done this before – but after seeing this I immediately went and bought the pattern online. Love this top & beautiful job!

  11. Carolyn says :

    It looks really pretty with all that pleating at the back :)

  12. black label says :

    Im a pleat girl so I adore this, ADORE!! You are on fire :)x

  13. MsMcCall says :

    Wow! I LOVE this top! I agree, sometimes ease and comfort are a good thing, and I think in this case it’s super stylish. You absolutely did the right thing with the sleeves, and the dark (leopard!!) jeans are perfect. You are looking super swish in this photos!

  14. sewingpies says :

    I love this! What a great job. And I really enjoy to detail in your posts, I love a good pattern review and find them immensely helpful.

    Jenny xox

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 241 other followers

