Simplicity 1591: DIY Cobalt Blue Fluted Hem Skirt

Simplicity 1591: cobalt blue fluted hem skirt
Simplicity 1591: cobalt blue fluted hem skirt

Simplicity 1591: cobalt blue fluted hem skirt

Hello Readers,

Today’s offering is this fluted hem skirt, made from Simplicity 1591. Here’s the envelope:

Simplicity 1591 envelope illustration

Simplicity 1591 envelope illustration

I sewed this skirt up straight out of the envelope. I didn’t even adjust for length (I am 5 foot 3 inches). It is designed to sit about 1.5 inches below the waist.

Simplicity 1591: cobalt blue fluted hem skirt

Simplicity 1591: cobalt blue fluted hem skirt

I don’t love the fabric. It is a polyester (!) twill. I do like the colour. But I figured never having worn a style like this before, it would be a good wearable muslin. I could envisage this skirt in several other, more beautiful fabrics. Also, I forgot to use my organza press cloth when I was pressing the hem, and now that has a shine to it. Meh.

Simplicity 1591: cobalt blue fluted hem skirt

Simplicity 1591: cobalt blue fluted hem skirt

The only addition I made was to partially line the skirt, using this tutorial from threads.

Simplicity 1591: cobalt blue fluted hem skirt - lining

Simplicity 1591: cobalt blue fluted hem skirt – lining

I am very proud of my lapped zipper. It’s still not perfect, but the best one that I have done so far, and the first time I have tried inserting one using Winnie’s tutorial. I will definitely be using this technique again. Winnie’s right, there is no edge stitching on top of the zipper, and I prefer this look.

Simplicity 1591: cobalt blue fluted hem skirt - lapped zip

Simplicity 1591: cobalt blue fluted hem skirt – lapped zip

Simplicity 1591: cobalt blue fluted hem skirt - lapped zip

Simplicity 1591: cobalt blue fluted hem skirt – lapped zip

The problem readers, is the issue of wearing a skirt. I just don’t seem to know a) what to wear with them b) don’t think they are as flattering as a dress is for me. So, right now, this is the third skirt I have blogged about, and the third time I am left feeling a little bit….meh. I think this skirt will be worn more than the other two I have made, and, as I mentioned above, I could see this skirt sewn in a beautiful wool or tweed or numerous other fabrics. For me, dresses are just easy to throw on all year round without worrying about whether something will go with it or not. Not so with skirts. Also, I have a 10 inch difference between my waist and my hips and I think that makes fitting skirts (which have to fit properly on the waist) harder. Perhaps I might frankenpattern this skirt onto a bodice to make a dress sometime :-)

Simplicity 1591: cobalt blue fluted hem skirt

Simplicity 1591: cobalt blue fluted hem skirt

Pattern Review:

Pattern Description:

Misses’ skirt with length variations. Classic skirt has princess seams and can be made mid calf, knee, and mini length. Fluted skirt can be made with a gathered ruffle or flounce.

I made view E.

Pattern Sizing:

6 – 22
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Yes. But I didn’t follow them to insert the zip or add a lining.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

It is very quick and easy to sew. I think with a pattern like this you are only limited by your imagination. It is a very classic pattern, and fit wise it is pretty good. I just feel meh about the whole wearing a skirt thing…it’s not necessarily to do with the pattern.

Fabric Used:

Polyester twill with acetate lining. I don’t love the fabric, but I do like the colour, and it was a wearable muslin.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

Other than adding a lining, none.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Don’t know if I would sew it again, but if skirts are  your thing, fill your boots (as they say in these parts).

Conclusion:

Give me a couple of days to get used to it…I might get to like it :-)

 

What say you readers, are you a dress girl or a separates girl? How would you style a skirt like this?

Until soon….

Simplicity 1591: cobalt blue fluted hem skirt

Simplicity 1591: cobalt blue fluted hem skirt

 

Tags: , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

20 responses to “Simplicity 1591: DIY Cobalt Blue Fluted Hem Skirt”

  1. SeeKatSew says :

    I love this skirt, the colour is beautiful. I think fitted tops would also look nice with this skirt. I am the same, I wear dresses way more often, they are more flattering on me and it’s one piece of clothing.

  2. Fiona M says :

    Very tidy! I like your top too.

  3. CraftedbyCarrie says :

    Love the color! Blue is my favorite :) and it looks great on you! (Love the top also btw)
    And I’m with you on the dresses > skirts. I just don’t know what to DO with skirts! In general, I’m more of a separates gal but greatly prefer a dress if I have to choose.

  4. sheseams says :

    Lovely skirt, I especially like the work you did on the zipper and the lining.

  5. auntychacha says :

    I LOVE the way you have styled this and definitely think you should wear this look more often. You rock it!

  6. Jen (NY) says :

    Looks cute! I am certainly a separates person & have made many, many skirts. Most of my clothes are in the same range of colors (okay, dominated by black) and so coordinating is usually easy. Also, I must do a rather complicated FBA, so dresses are often quite a bit more work. Some day, I hope I’ll be more comfortable or have a better adjustment, but until then it’s mostly skirts. This one looks like a nice transitional piece and the blue looks great with red shoes.

  7. Scruffy badger says :

    Looks cute and a lovely colour. I think you should persevere – if fitting is a challenge due to your envious hourglass (:-) ) maybe try a fabric with some stretch, some stretch sateen perhaps? No idea whether that would make it any easier, but maybe more comfortable!
    I’m glad you like my mum’s lapped zip, it was a joy to behold yours!

  8. Sam says :

    This looks good on you! I am exactly the same as you with skirts. I also have a good 10 inch difference between my waist and hip measurements. I’ve always found it hard to get skirts to fit nicely (whether me-made or RTW) and also to feel comfortable. If they fit well when I’m standing, then the waist always seems to wriggle up to somewhere around my ribs when I sit down. I’ve recently discovered that fuller skirts with well fitted waistbands don’t do this as much, but then full skirts add more width to the hips!

  9. myrosesindecember says :

    The skirt looks very nice on you and it is a shame you are not comfortable in skirts. You can always get a dress bodice you like and work it onto the top of this skirt to make it a dress. Nancy

  10. Tindi says :

    You look fabulous in this skirt. I also thought you rocked in the Kelly skirt and simplicity top combi.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 211 other followers

