Butterick 5781: red, white and blue 2-in-1 dress – go Team GB!

Butterick 5781 in patriotic red, white and blue to support our current run of Team GB gold’s – done. I went for a viscose (?) blue and white stripe material for the bodice, red piping, and dark blue denim for the skirt. The pattern was quite straight forward and easy to follow. In fact, this may even be my first Butterick pattern? I am not sure if going for the denim was a good idea…something more fluid may have been better, and also, the piping along the princess seams has caused them to stand out in a rather strange fashion (it’s not my bust, honest!) Would be interested if anyone could tell me if I should have tackled the piping in a different way, or if it’s a fault with the design. But overall, quite pleased with this casual little dress which I can wear in to autum with opaques and a cardigan (with our Cumbrian summer that may even begin next week). As I am trying to improve my standard of sewing I also chose a Hong Kong finish for the denim seams, using a contrasting yellow bias binding. My husband seemed baffled that I would go to such lengths for something no one would ever see, but I will see and know everytime I wear it. And that makes me feel good.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Simplicity 1803: DIY cut out scoop back brocade dress | sewmanju - November 17, 2013

Leave a Reply

