Vogue 7975: what I am sewing right now – tweed jacket

The reason for this post is because, apparently, now I have started this “blogging thing”, I have to keep doing it. And regularly. So, I thought I would show you what I am planning on making next. I have wanted to make a Chanel style tweed or boucle jacket for ages. And with the rubbish summer we have had, my thoughts are already turning to autumn wear. I have still not gone past the “easy” level on Vogue sewing patterns, so I am not even going to attempt to quilt this jacket (like Chanel do), and also, given that even setting in sleeves is something I am not that confident in, I don’t think I should try and be too ambitious! But, as I happen to live less than 5 miles from Linton Tweeds, here in Carlisle, I definitely want to make a quilted Chanel style jacket using their fabric (they have been supplying Chanel for more than 100 years), but just not right now.

Tweed and boucle jackets have been cropping up in the fashion mags for some time now, and I think they will do more so coming in to autumn. Zara seem to perpetually feature with their edgier versions and I love the Chanel one that Kate Moss is wearing. The other Kate M (Middleton) seems to be a tweed jacket fan too.

Anyway, the version I am making is a bit more “classic”. Vogue 7975, view C, is described as being a short length with three quarter sleeves. I am putting on patch pockets and black braid trim. Here are some pictures of what I have done so far.

I have managed to sew the two front pieces together and put the patch pockets on. It is a tweed fabric that frays like mad! So, even though the jacket will be fully lined, I am using a Hong Kong finish to bind all the inside seams on the tweed. Maybe today I can get the back pieces sewn together. Let’s see….

Tags: , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

One response to “Vogue 7975: what I am sewing right now – tweed jacket”

  1. sewwherenext says :

    hello! thank you for your comment on my blog. It’s lovely to get encouragement from other sewers. My name is Rosie and fortunately I have the benefit of an overlocker so wont be going down the hong kong finish (lovely though it looks). Good luck with your project and hope it all goes smoothly.

Leave a Reply

