New vogue patterns – an excuse to feel very smug

A few weeks back Vogue brought out their Fall 2012 patterns. Several other blogs have already commented on the somewhat uninspiring and very oddly photographed collection! But, given that I am going to be starting my sewing course in less than 3 weeks, and also because I think I need to increase my sewing repertoire, I thought I should order some new patterns.

Now, I could be looking in the wrong places, but I have not seen the new Fall (that’s Autumn for us Brits) collection on a UK website. Certainly not on the usual UK website that I use to order patterns. So when I saw that the Vogue Patterns website based in the USA was having a MASSIVELY discounted sale on ALL the vogue patterns (including the new collection), I decided to be brave and order some. Here’s the link to Vogue Patterns.

Here’s what I ordered from the new collection:

Image

Vogue V1317 by Chado Ralph Rucci

This might be a bit beyond my capabilities right now….but something to work towards. Made up in a burgundy suede?

Image

Vogue V8836 trousers

I have never sewn a pair of trousers before…this is a Very Easy Vogue pattern, so I thought it might be a good place to start.

Image

Vogue V8831 top

Again, a Very Easy Vogue pattern, which I thought would be good to wear over skinny jeans.

From the Summer collection I ordered these two patterns:

Image

Vogue V1300 DKNY dress

Again, this is in the “average” category….but I might be able to manage it.

Peplums are still everywhere, which is why I ordered the following top from the summer collection and a pencil skirt pattern to go with it:

Image

Vogue V8815 peplum top

Image

Vogue V8672 pencil skirt

And finally, this dress pattern, which I thought was cute and potentially could be varied lots of ways:

Image

Vogue V8787 dress

The total cost for all the patterns, including shipping, was $52 (about £32), whereas from my usual website it would have cost me about £80 full price. And I didn’t get charged tax. And it took a week from ordering them to delivery. So that is the reason for my smugness. Let’s see if the smugness continues after I start sewing things.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

2 responses to “New vogue patterns – an excuse to feel very smug”

  1. dressesandme says :

    I think I love all these patterns. I particlularly like the skirt with the gathered sides and the first dress with the tie front. And I agree – maroon faux suede would look great!

    • sewmanju says :

      Hi Penelope. Thanks so much for your comment. It’s great to hear from other sewers where ever they may be. I am going to check out your blog right now!

Leave a Reply

