Vogue V8766 vintage look lace dress

Image

Vogue V8766 – my version

Image

Vogue V8766 – my version

Vogue V8766 is actually a dress I completed a few months ago, but I wore it to church this morning, and that prompted me to write this blog entry.

Image

Vogue V8766

It’s described as being a lined dress with an underlined bodice and narrow hem. I made view F which has a fitted bodice, full skirt and pleated sleeve caps.

Image

Vogue V8766 line drawing

This was an easy dress to make. I bought some cream cotton lace (ebay – a Godsend for “experimenters” like me) and a natural (stone?) coloured lining for the lining/ underlining. I didn’t make any variations and followed the instructions, which were well written. I used an invisible zip because I am too frightened to use ordinary zips (hoping that fear will be conquered post sewing lessons). And hey presto, a vintage look lace dress which can be worn to numerous events, and I have even worn it with opaques when the weather has been cooler. The skirt it quite full and twirly…but of course you could make the slim skirt option if you preferred. I am getting slightly obsessed with lace, and am planning on making a black lace dress in the next couple of months in time for christmas. I am still deliberating on the pattern to use for that.

Image

Vogue V8766 – my version

Image

Vogue V8766 – my almost Marilyn moment!

Tags: , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

13 responses to “Vogue V8766 vintage look lace dress”

  1. Michaela Sneddon says :

    That looks gorgeous! So much nicer than the photo they’ve put on the front of the pattern 😉 I have that pattern myself and have always been put off making it, but you may just have convinced me!

    • sewmanju says :

      Hello michaela. You are ami’s friend, aren’t you? Thanks so much for the compliment…means a lot coming from someone of your expertise. This sewing/ blogging thing becomes addictive! Just finished a Cynthia rowley dress…hope to get it up this weekend. Visit again!

  2. daniKate designs says :

    Beautiful dress! I found this through your black lace post. I love both versions and am tempted to make myself one now!

  3. karen shaw-jones says :

    love this lacey dress and your blog. I have the pattern and would like to give it a go. Would you mind sharing where you got the lace from, you mentioned ebay?
    You make such lovely things.

    thanks
    Karen

  4. Jacci says :

    I just saw this dress on your blog and it is gorgeous! I hope to sew this good in the (near) future .

  5. priya says :

    Hi sewmanju, its so cute and gorgeous. I just bought the pattern. I dont know how to choose the correct size. I use to wear medium US SIZE for tops and Small for bottoms.Is that the tissue pattern is final dress measurement or do v need to give seam allowance.? This is my first project i would be very happy if u help me out.thanks

    • sewmanju says :

      Hi priya. You have to take your bust, waist and hip measurements and select your size according to the measurement chart which will be given either on the back of the pattern envelope, envelope flap or on the fold out instruction sheet. There will probably also be finished measurements of the bust, waist, hips, arm circumference etc printed on the relevant tissue pattern pieces so you could also use these as a guide. With vogue patterns a 1.5cm seam allowance has already been included. All the best.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. New Look 6143 pattern review: happy birthday to meeeee « sewmanju - November 18, 2012

Leave a Reply

