Pattern mashup: New Look 6123 + Vogue 8815 = ponte peplum dress

Ponte peplum dress

The peplum trend is still rolling on by, and I decided to jump on the bandwagon before it passed me by completely. I decided to attempt my first frankenpattern, combining the bodice and skirt from New Look 6123 with the peplum from Vogue 8815. I can see that frankenpatterning requires a bit more thought about how you are going to do things. With hindsight I might have attached the peplum slightly differently, but it worked out ok in the end.

Ponte peplum dress

Ponte peplum dress

I think we have all heard by now that Emerald green has been declared as the Pantone Colour of the Year. Could I get my hands on any emerald green fabric? Could I heck! I had to settle for this jade green ponte knit instead. But I still like it. It makes me excited for spring.

Ponte peplum dress

Ponte peplum dress

Anyway, all in all, it was a fairly easy dress to make, and I have already reviewed New Look 6123 so I am not going to do so again here. It is a great pattern readers! This is my second time making it. This time I didn’t line it (used facings instead), installed an invisible zipper at the back (went in without any problems) and lengthened and pegged the skirt to get the final look I wanted.

Ponte peplum dress

Ponte peplum dress

I wanted an on trend dress to wear out for girly drinks, and this dress ticks the boxes I wanted it too. But I feel I need something more challenging next….so I am making a shirt for the husband using the Craftsy tailored shirt class. So until next time, happy sewing!

Ponte peplum dress

Ponte peplum dress

Addition to blog post made on 29th March 2013: just had to post a picture of how I wore this dress on mother’s day a few weeks ago (it was a cold, snowy, windy day that day, just for a change!)

DSC_6086

And one with my cutie…

DSC_6081

 

Tags: , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

15 responses to “Pattern mashup: New Look 6123 + Vogue 8815 = ponte peplum dress”

  1. Beth (SunnyGal Studio) says :

    I always like a good pattern mashup 🙂 Very pretty, great color on you. and I want your shoes, so nice.

  2. creativediva728angela says :

    I love it. The colour os gorgeous. BTW-you’ve inspired my to try V8848. Will post when finished.

  3. Sam says :

    Gorgeous! The colour looks great on you and fabulous with those shoes.

  4. Claudette says :

    Really nice, I can see this with a fascinator and lace shawl at Ascot!

  5. Lynn (YSG!) says :

    Wow, you’re very beautiful and I love the dress! Great job at combining the two fabrics.

  6. Erin says :

    This is gorgeous I love the colour. It looks amazing on you, very elegant. Great job at combining the two patterns.
    Erin @ i-heart-fabric.blogspot.com.au

Leave a Reply

