Simplicity 1716: knit top with cowl neck

Simplicity 1716

Simplicity 1716

This is my second versionof Simplicity 1716. I blogged about the first version here. This time around I used a heavier weight cotton jersey. I decided rather than doing a sway back adjustment I would make the bust and arms a size smaller, and go up a size over the hips. I think this has resolved the issue of excess fabric in the back.

Simplicity 1716

Simplicity 1716

The first version of this top had a twisty neck detail. This version has a cowl neck. I do wish the cowl was perhaps slightly lower…if I make again I might try and adjust this.

Simplicity 1716

Simplicity 1716

I also cut this version at the tunic length (mid length of pattern options). A much better length for me!

Simplicity 1716

Simplicity 1716

All in all, this is fast becoming one of my favourite patterns. I do need some new casual tops to wear with jeggings etc, and this pattern, with its choice of lengths, necks and sleeves is brilliant! Expect to be bored with at least one more version 🙂

Tags: , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

14 responses to “Simplicity 1716: knit top with cowl neck”

  1. Angela says :

    I bought this pattern because of your first review, and now I like this second top even better. Looks great, especially with those red pants!

  2. sewmanju says :

    Thanks Angela. Hope your versions turn out great.

  3. Sam says :

    I liked the first top you made from this pattern, and I love this one. I’m seriously putting this pattern on my list of those I want. I quite like the higher cowl, but I’m sure it would look great lowered a bit too.

  4. sewmanju says :

    Thanks Sam. Yes it definitely a winning pattern in my book!

  5. black label says :

    another winner 🙂

  6. wot2eat says :

    Here here, Blacklabel, another winner!

  7. Sally @ thequirkypeach says :

    This is so cute! I love black and white, stripes, and the pop of color with the pants is perfect 🙂

  8. Scruffybadger says :

    Ooh Manju, it really is a go to top…looks fabulous with trousers, got a comfy and incredibly nautically stylish vibe going on there. Perfect!

Leave a Reply

