Simplicity 2250 Cynthia Rowley Collection: linen mix jacket

Simplicity 2250 linen mix jacket

Simplicity 2250 linen mix jacket

I have long admired Erica’s version of the jacket from this pattern, and when I saw Lori’s seafoam linen version I knew I just had to make one for myself! Fortuitously, I think the day after I saw Lori’s version there was a huge Simplicity sale on in the UK, and I scored 2250, along with a few other Simplicity patterns (can you not tell I have made at least 2 other Simplicity patterns recently)?

Anyway, my version is made in a light beige colour linen mix. I can definitely see this being a summer staple, although of course today it has been pouring steadily with rain (the sun has just begun to peek out), so indoor shots only for this post.

Simplicity 2250 linen mix jacket

Simplicity 2250 linen mix jacket

What’s to say about this pattern? It is such a simple, easy to make jacket pattern. I used french seams/ mock french seams throughout, and overlocked the arms once set in. The pattern has you cut two front panels, one to use as a facing, so the inside is clean finished (the jacket is unlined). The edges are bound with self bias binding (a pattern piece is included to allow you to make the appropriate length of continuous binding – I like!)

Simplicity 2250 linen mix jacket inside shot on dress form - back/ side panel

Simplicity 2250 linen mix jacket inside shot on dress form – back/ side panel

Simplicity 2250 linen mix jacket inside shot on dress form - front

 I added 3 inches to the length. I cut my usual bust size, grading out over the hips. I think I might shorten the sleeves slightly. Although I could roll them up I guess.

Simplicity 2250 linen mix jacket

Simplicity 2250 linen mix jacket

Here’s my pattern review:

Pattern Description:

Misses’ Dress in two lengths, jacket and tie belt by Cynthia Rowley.

Pattern Sizing:

6 – 22

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes. But I didn’t make the belt.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Yes.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

I love the simplicity of this jacket. I think it is just a great summer weight jacket, and I made it longer so that I can wear it over my skinny jeans etc. There’s  nothing I dislike as such about the pattern.

Fabric Used:

Linen mix.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

Lengthened jacket by 3 inches.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Maybe and yes.

Conclusion:

This is a great easy to make and wear jacket.

Simplicity 2250 linen mix jacket

Simplicity 2250 linen mix jacket

Tags: , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

22 responses to “Simplicity 2250 Cynthia Rowley Collection: linen mix jacket”

  1. Angela says :

    I love that — so classy and flattering! I am adding another pattern to my list thanks to you.

  2. Beth (SunnyGal Studio) says :

    for such a simple jacket it gives a very casual chic look. like your styling too.

  3. Sam says :

    Fantastic! Very flattering and looks like it will be the perfect summer jacket (that’s assuming we HAVE a summer of course!)

  4. Candice says :

    I love this! I am so getting this pattern!

  5. Melizza says :

    I’ve been itching to make this jacket and now I know I have to bring it up on my sewing queue. Your jacket looks so classy and comfortable. Looks great on you!

  6. Margo says :

    Lovely jacket! Everything you make looks great on you. I have had this pattern in my stash for a year now and I am wondering if I could make it using a heavier knit…sort of like a cardigan? Lining the front with a lighter knit and omitting the bias trim. Thoughts?

    • sewmanju says :

      Hi margo. Thanks. Yes I think it could work in a knit, lined with under stitching rather than binding. I have seen a ponte version of this jacket and it looked neat.

  7. Carolyn says :

    I have this pattern on my list too! Yours is pretty and I can see how it will be a great addition to your summer wardrobe!

  8. BeaJay says :

    I love your jacket. You have a great sense of style. Very chic.

  9. Joyce in NC says :

    Your jacket looks great on you! Classy look.

  10. Lisa P says :

    Oh that’s a lovely jacket such a great neutral piece. I have made the same pattern after seeing Erica’s white wool version. I made mine from a Ponte knit and I wear it so much. I really want to make a few more in a few other colours.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Holiday snaps… | sewmanju - July 8, 2013

Leave a Reply

