McCalls 6650: high neck blouse and saree recycle

McCalls 6650 high neck blouse

McCalls 6650 high neck blouse

This blouse is essentially a wadder for me, but I thought I would still review it. This is McCalls 6650, made from one of my mum’s old (polyester) sarees. The main body of the saree was white with small black dots on it, and the border of the saree was black with a white design on it. I cut the border of the saree off, and joined widths of the border together to make it wide enough to cut the (bias) overlays from it, for the cuffs and neck.

McCalls 6650 pattern envelope version

McCalls 6650 pattern envelope version

The reason this blouse is a wadder is because it might look ok in the photos, but when I try and lift my arms up it is simply too tight. I cut my usual size for this blouse (grading out at the hips), but for whatever reason it just doesn’t work for me. It is tight across the front, at the tops of the arms, and across the back when I try and lift my arms up.

McCalls 6650 back view

McCalls 6650 back view

The back has a button placket and is supposed to have buttons sewn on there, and also at the cuffs. I haven’t sewn any buttons on. This blouse is going to my sister. It fits her fine. But I don’t know if I can be arsed to make a total of 8 buttonholes and sew on the buttons. My sister may have to sew press studs on. Ha. Am I bad?

Other issues I have with this blouse:

1. I don’t like the fabric. I don’t know. It is just all shiny and not in a nice way.

2. The bias cut overlays are too big as drafted. They should be cut slightly smaller and then stretched to fit the underlay so that the pleats hold their shape. The pleats as is just kind of bag and droop.

3. I have some issues with the instructions for this pattern. It is classed as easy, but the button placket instructions are not easy to follow, and for whatever reason (at some points) they say things like “pin the overlay to the underlay and baste”…rather than “pin the overlay to the underlay, RIGHT SIDES TOGETHER, and baste”. It does make a world of difference between getting the seam ripper out or not. I noticed this more than once in the instructions I was following.

Pattern Review:

Pattern Description:

Loose-fitting, pullover tops have gathered front neckline, and back-button placket.

I made view D, which has a collar, gathered sleeves with bias, gathered overlay button cuffs with seam openings on the sleeves.  I omitted the lower edge band (thought it would over emphasise my hips).

Pattern Sizing:

12 – 20

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Hmmm…I don’t think my overlays are as nice as the ones in the envelope picture and my version doesn’t have the lower band.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

No, I struggled with some aspects. I found the button placket instructions hard to follow and in some parts of the pattern they say things like “pin the overlay to the underlay and baste”…rather than “pin the overlay to the underlay, RIGHT SIDES TOGETHER, and baste”. It does make a world of difference between getting the seam ripper out or not. I noticed this more than once in the instructions I was following.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

This pattern just didn’t work for me in terms of the sizing. I cut my usual size (that I always cut) for the arms and bust, grading out over the hips, but for whatever reason it is tight across the front, at the tops of the arms, and across the back when I try and lift my arms up. I also think that the bias cut overlays are too big as drafted. They should be cut slightly smaller and then stretched to fit the underlay so that the pleats hold their shape. The pleats as is just kind of bag and droop.

Fabric Used:

Polyester. This is actually made from one of my mum’s old (polyester) sarees. The main body of the saree was white with small black dots on it, and the border of the saree was black with a white design on it. I cut the border of the saree off, and joined widths of the border together to make it wide enough to cut the (bias) overlays from it, for the cuffs and neck.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

The only alteration I made was to add 1.5 inches to the length to get adequate butt coverage.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Hmmm….I am actually considering making this again, but in a knit. I don’t think I would use the overlays though, and I don’t think the high neck is for me either. I would say give it a go. Other people have sewn this with success…it’s probably just one that is not for me as is.

Conclusion:

Not the pattern for me, but like I say above, I might try again with a knit.

Would you believe we have had 2 days of glorious sunshine, and then today it is back to being cold, grey and cloudy. Well, it is a bank holiday here afterall! Here’s proof that I did attempt to go outdoors:

McCalls 6650...windy shot!

McCalls 6650…windy shot!

Compare and contrast with this shot taken on Saturday when we went to the Lake District. We got a motor boat out and went for a little sail on Ullswater. Until later….

My family and I in the Lake District.

My family and I in the Lake District.

Tags: , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

10 responses to “McCalls 6650: high neck blouse and saree recycle”

  1. prttynpnk says :

    I keep pulling up this pattern, then rejecting it- for some of the issues that you had. Thanks for the review- if you do a knit, I wonder if it will behave- could be just the thing.

  2. cjgal says :

    Very pretty! I love the contrast neck and sleeve bands

  3. black label says :

    Hey hun, I was beginning to wonder where you had got to – youve been quiet 🙂 anyway, i think this blouse is lovely however maybe the problem is its just toooo much white & too much shine. I think you could save this from a wadder by taking off the sleeves & binding the armholes with the lovely contrast fabric. Try…what do you have to lose right? Ive just completed this pattern as well but I made changes…will review soon. Good luck 🙂

    • sewmanju says :

      Hey blacklabel. Well, I have got visitors staying with me for the last 3 weeks and they are here for another 2 so I have had my hands full. Also, been working on vogue 8884 (still not done…almost) and have also sewn another New Look 6000 in lace (but not for me), so I been sewing…just not blogging 🙂 Well, I have passed the McCalls blouse on to my sister. I think I will try it again…soon. Look forward to seeing your version!

  4. Margo says :

    It’s hard when something doesn’t work out they way we had pictured it in our mind isn’t it? Don’t get discouraged, you make so many beautiful creations. I think you have killer taste. When I have a project I’m not pleased with, like you I ditch it. Out of sight out of mind! Then I move on to a project that I know without a doubt will work…to lift my spirits and confidence.

    • sewmanju says :

      Hi margo. I am not disheartened! Just one of those things that happens from time to time. Already moved on and hopefully have something better to blog about soon! Thanks for your comment.

Leave a Reply

