Butterick 5871 See and Sew: easy peasy floral dress

Butterick 5871 floral dress

Butterick 5871 floral dress

This is a Butterick See and Sew pattern. This pattern sells for £3 from my local fabric market stall. It says on the envelope “YES!” It’s easy”. And YES. I agree.

Butterick 5871 line drawing

Butterick 5871 line drawing

This pattern says it is designed for moderate stretch knits only. It has pattern 4 pieces, with 2 separate pieces provided for the bodice lining. I made view A, which has an asymetrical neckline, shoulder pleats and pleats to one side of the skirt front. I chose to fully line the dress by using the back skirt piece to form the skirt lining and bagging the lining – so not only are there no sleeves or zip to insert, I didn’t even hem the thing! Perfect for a newbie who wants to try sewing a knit dress.

Butterick 5871 floral dress

Butterick 5871 floral dress

Butterick 5871: inside lining

The fabric is some kind of ponte weight jersey but which has a finish almost like neoprene (?) to it. I don’t know exactly what its composition is. It was a remnant piece I picked up off ebay. I do love the bright colours. Actually I went to one of those Colour Me Beautiful events earlier this week (not a proper consultation) and from the survey I am apparently a dramatist (husband, if you are reading this, keep quiet!): that means I dress so that when I walk in to a room I want to be noticed. hahaha. Let’s not take that conversation any further.

Back to the dress/ pattern. I love the pattern. I can see myself making it several times over, in all colours. There are a couple of things I would change next time round:

1. I would lengthen the bodice. Probably by an inch or so.

2. I would possibly cut the bodice a smidge smaller.

I am not a huge fan of the elasticated waist, but this is an EASY make people. You could easily sew this up in a matter of hours. I will probably try and hide the waist with a belt of some kind.

Butterick 5871 close up of skirt pleats

Butterick 5871 close up of skirt pleats

Butterick 5871 floral dress

Butterick 5871 floral dress

Pattern Review:

Pattern Description:

Fitted dress with tapered skirt has lined bodice and elasticized waist. I made view A.

Pattern Sizing:

8 – 22

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Yes.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

This is such a quick and easy make! And I love the simple elegance of this sheath style dress. The shoulder pleats, the asymetric neckline and the tummy flattering pleats. There is nothing I dislike as such. I don’t love the elasticated waist, but this is an EASY make and you could hide it with a belt.

Fabric Used:

I am not sure. It like a ponte, but with a finish like neoprene.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

I added 3 inches to the length. I fully lined the dress, using the skirt back piece to form the skirt lining. I cut off 1 and 1/4 inch from the lining and serged the bottom of the lining to the bottom of the skirt, right sides together, then turned it right way out to bag the lining. Nex time round I would probably add an inch to the length of the bodice and possibly cut it a smidge smaller.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Yes and yes!

Conclusion:

I highly recommend this dress. It is simple, quick and elegant, and could easily become a wardrobe staple.

Butterick 5871: floral dress

Butterick 5871: floral dress

Tags: , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

43 responses to “Butterick 5871 See and Sew: easy peasy floral dress”

  1. prttynpnk says :

    I love this- great use of a border print, Ma’am!

  2. Angela says :

    Another beautiful piece! I am all for being a dramatist, keep at it:)

  3. Sam says :

    This is gorgeous. I love everything about it!

  4. cjgal says :

    Love love love this dress! The placement of the print makes it really pop, you look gorgeous! Thanks for the pattern tip

  5. Tash says :

    Awesome awesome fabric choice!

  6. Marlene says :

    This is absolutely gorgeous. You look so great in your colorful dress.

  7. Amanda S. says :

    Perfect for summer! You gotta love an easy knit dress now and then. I am remaking the knit dress I just finished because I am in the mood for easy stuff!

  8. Sheila says :

    Gorgeous dress…love the print. Thanks for the review just purchased the pattern today.

  9. Alethia says :

    This is so gorgeous! I have pulled this very pattern out many times, but just couldn’t decide if I would really like it or not…you have made me a believer! I am definitely gonna give this a try. Thanks for sharing!!

  10. Rosalia says :

    Love the color and the style of the dress, definitely one to add to the list! Thanks for inspiration!

  11. toy says :

    beautiful dress, I love the design of the fabric, this is very flattering on you.

  12. Ann-Britt Uhrbom says :

    You look great in that colorful and nice dress – it fits you very well!

  13. Myra says :

    This is a really pretty dress on you! I love your use of the boder print, great job!

  14. sunnygalstudio says :

    once again it is proved that the fabric makes the dress, a great choice and it looks like something from a designer’s spring collection, love it.

  15. Ms. McCall says :

    It IS a great colour, and a great print too. Very intrigued about this ponte / neoprene fabric you found!

  16. Carolyn says :

    I like anything with a border print and you’ve used this one so successfully! Lovely!

  17. Godsgirlt says :

    You are making easy peasy look REAL good. Love how you put this together. Very nice!

  18. Lisa P says :

    Oh my what beautiful fabric and you have turned it into a beautiful dress. I am so pleased to of found yoir blog. I also live in Cumbria , I am on the West coast ( Whitehaven) Where is the local market you mentioned in your post ?

    • sewmanju says :

      Thanks Lisa. This particular dress was made from material from eBay (a remnant piece). I tend to use eBay for most of my knits. But the covered market in Carlisle has a fabric stall where I do get some bits from, like the turquoise linen, the cottons for husbands shirts, the jersey that I made the simplicity twisty neck top from and the blue floral cotton that I did the Pantone top from.

      • Lisa P says :

        Ah thanks after I posted I guessed that’s where you meant. I shop there too when I’m in Carlisle. The lady on the stall had much more variety than normal – she said the Sewing Bee programme has really helped trade. I use ebay loads too. Have you been to Just sew at Penrith ?

      • sewmanju says :

        Hi Lisa. Have only been once to Just Sew a couple of years ago. Do you recommend?

  19. Lisa P says :

    Yes I do I often go through but like you I am more of an internet shopper. I go through every few months and stock up on zips and I like looking at buttons in person. The charity shops in Penrith are great. Everytime I go through there I pick fabric or buttons up . ( I think there must be lots of sewers in Penrith) There is also a lovely shop in Lancaster called Fabrix . Preston market is also good. Every once in a while I have a day where I visit all three but not often enough sadly 😉

  20. blaanca says :

    great work. thank you for the inspiration!

    warm regards
    http://www.kleinekleinigkeiten.wordpress.com

  21. Opal says :

    i like the style of this dress and the fabric is very pretty. Good job.

  22. shaewc says :

    This is GORGEOUS on you!

Leave a Reply

