Cynthia Rowley Pattern Simplicity 2215: happy fathers day!

Simplicity 2215 linen mix dress

Simplicity 2215 linen mix dress

Happy fathers day to all fathers out there. Hope you are all having a great day. And no, in case you are wondering, I am not just celebrating fathers day by making a new dress for myself 🙂 Phil also got a new shirt. Another version of McCalls 6613, this time in a grey cotton denim. And for me, I made Simplicity 2215.

McCalls 6613 cotton demin shirt

McCalls 6613 cotton demin shirt

McCalls 6613 cotton demin shirt

McCalls 6613 cotton demin shirt

Ok, and now back to me please! 🙂

Simplicity 2215: linen mix dress

Simplicity 2215 linen mix dress

We are supposed to be going on holiday in 2 weeks time. I say supposed because we have not actually booked anything. But we ARE going. Probably somewhere hot with a pool and lots of nice seafood. Yum. Anyway, this is a dress I made in a linen/ viscose mix which will hopefully be suitable for said holiday. The colour definitely puts you in the holiday mood. I think turquoise is one of those summer only colours.

I love how the dress feels. It feels – ahem – well made. I fully lined the dress with a very soft, open weave poly cotton. The linen viscose fabric, which I purchased from my local market, has a good weight to it, but still feels light.

Simplicity 2215 back view

Simplicity 2215 back view

Here’s a close up of the buttons and I also added a belt which I sewed in to the sides of the dress.

Simplicity 2215 close up of buttons

Simplicity 2215 close up of buttons

Simplicity 2215 close up of sewn in belt

Simplicity 2215 close up of sewn in belt

The hem is left unfinished. It’s like a double hem, with an additional border strip added to the lower portion of the dress which is then left unfinished. I quite like the effect. I don’t know how it’s going to wash though!

Simplicity 2215 close up of raw finish hem

Simplicity 2215 close up of raw finish hem

Pattern Review:

Pattern Description:

Misses’ & Miss petite dress, skirt and blouse by Cynthia Rowley.

Pattern Sizing:

14 – 22

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes, except I added a belt which was sewn in to the sides of the  bodice.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Yes.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

I like the overall shape of the dress and the raw finish at the hem. However, I prefer the look of the dress with the belt, otherwise I think it is quite loose at the waist.

Fabric Used:

Linen viscose mix.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

Based on the pattern measurements I cut a size larger than usual for the bodice and graded out a size at the waist. The bodice fits fine, but there was some gaping at the armholes. I don’t know if I should actually be cutting a size smaller and then doing a FBA. I am hoping to go through a fitting course on Craftsy soon, so hope to be able to resolve this or at least discover how to rectify it.

I shortened the bodice by 1 3/8″.

I added a belt which I sewed in to the bodice sides. I don’t know if perhaps adding this belt had the effect of stretching the armholes out somewhat?

I raised the armholes slightly.

I fully lined the dress.

I omitted the pockets and the side zip.

I serged the lower band to the hem rather than sewing it and turning the raw edges in.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

I do like it, but I don’t know if I would sew it again myself. I would recommend to others.

Conclusion:

This is a cute summer dress that I enjoyed sewing. It’s flattering, comfortable and perfect for a hot summer holiday!

Simplicity 2215 linen mix dress

Simplicity 2215 linen mix dress

Tags: , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

21 responses to “Cynthia Rowley Pattern Simplicity 2215: happy fathers day!”

  1. Sally @ thequirkypeach says :

    I really love the unique hem on this! I’ve never seen it in a pattern before, but it’s really great! Also, the gray men’s shirt looks really great 🙂

  2. Jerra says :

    I like the use of the belt on the dress. Modifications such as that only enhance your dress, making it look more tailored to fit you. Great job!

  3. Carolyn says :

    You’re right it’s such a happy summer color and looks beautiful on you!

  4. Beth (sunnygalstudio) says :

    lovely summer dress and yes, great color on you.

  5. sewbusylizzy says :

    Lovely! I’ve been so tempted by this one!

  6. Sew Drastic! says :

    If you need a C cup bra or larger or need to use the C cup or larger on one of those multi cup size patterns (eg V8747) then it’s likely you will need an FBA to get a better fit. Of course, the pattern may have large armholes!

  7. toy says :

    I love the color of this linen, so vibrant and perfect for summer, this is a great dress on you

  8. Margherita Lebsack says :

    Love the turquoise color on you! And the buttons are so cute. Well done! Your hubby’s shirt came out nice, too.

  9. Ann-Britt Uhrbom says :

    It´s a wonderful dress in a wonderful color. I like your hubby´s shirt too.

Leave a Reply

