Holiday snaps…

Hello Readers!

This is a quick update to say that we are back from a brilliant holiday in the Algarve, Portugal. We didn’t see a cloud the whole time we were there, it was just perfectly blue skies and hot sunshine. The villa and pool were beautiful, as were the beaches, and I enjoyed eating lots of fish and sea food! What more does a holiday require?

Anyway, I just wanted to share some of my holiday snaps, so you could see some of the DIY dresses I made before we went “in action” so to speak.

First up, my Burda dress. This dress was cool and comfortable, and, despite what I said, I did end up wearing the under dress on it’s own on a trip to the beach. What would I change about this dress? Nothing, except maybe I could have gone down a size on top?

Burda dress 128 from Burda Style 6/2013

Burda dress 128 from Burda Style 6/2013

Burda dress 128 from Burda Style 6/2013

Burda dress 128 from Burda Style 6/2013

Next up, my turquoise Cynthia Rowley dress. Probably this dress was the one I was happiest with in terms of sizing. Again, kept me cool, was comfortable and didn’t wrinkle too badly.

Simplicity 2215 linen mix dress

Simplicity 2215 linen mix dress

Finally, my Vogue 8787 dress. It looked alright…it was comfortable, but…I was not happy with the pull lines across the bust. Also, I think the colours were slightly head ache inducing. One thing making this particular dress taught me was that whilst I do love my bright colours, I tend to reach for my neutral, basic colours first. I think in future I should stick to perhaps bringing in accents of bright colour through my accessories? Ha, we will see…

Vogue 8787

Vogue 8787

Vogue 8787

Vogue 8787

Oh yes, I almost forgot. This is a random snap Phil took of me in the airport stocking  up on my MAC makeup. You might just be able to spot that I am wearing my Simplicity jacket. This is a great jacket. I do recommend it.

Simplicity 2250 jacket

Simplicity 2250 jacket

So that’s it for now. Lots of sewing plans for the next few weeks….thanks for following me/ stopping by to read. I am going to leave you with a picture of my gorgeous girl. Can’t believe she will be starting school in September! Booo…(although that may mean more sewing time :-))

IMG_20130702_142336

Tags: , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

10 responses to “Holiday snaps…”

  1. Beth (sunnygalstudio) says :

    looks like a lovely holiday, I agree with you, sunshine and beaches make for the perfect vacation. Your dresses look great, and I think you should make the V8787 again, it is a flattering pattern and maybe in a smaller print. Love the turquoise dress, great color on you.

  2. Carolyn says :

    Glad you had a wonderful time! Thanks for sharing the “in action” pics!

  3. Minnie Me says :

    You look lovely- relaxed but stylish…. also thank you for sharing the photos of the sun and sea, stuck in the middle of winter here in the southern hemisphere so your snaps made me yearn for summer …only another 4 months to go!

  4. BiKé says :

    Your daughter is just so cool and you look lovely.

  5. MrsAlex says :

    What lovely summery photos and what a great selection of dresses to celebrate the clear colours. While you were there, we were in Cumbria visiting home in not such great weather! My daughter starts school in Sept, too – where did the time go??

Leave a Reply

