What I am working on right now: Anne Klein Vogue Pattern 1354

Vogue 1354 model photo

Vogue 1354 model photo

This Anne Klein maxi dress pattern for Vogue was actually my favourite pattern from the summer collection. I think it was a combination of the floaty fabric and the pleated bodice.

I know that almost everyone out there has already started thinking of autumn sewing, and to be honest, I am no exception. Our weather has already cooled down considerably and we have had some fairly torrential downpours. BUT:

1. I really wanted to try sewing chiffon (something I have never done).

2. I was really enthusiastic about sewing this pattern when it first came out. I had the fabric and the notions sitting in my cupboard and I knew if I didn’t do it before August was over I probably wouldn’t consider it again until next summer.

The bodice of this dress is where all the work lies. The pleated effect is achieved by sewing gathered sections on to stays which in turn are supported by sew-in interfacing – so all the stay sections have to be hand basted. There is a fair amount of hand sewing (largely basting) in this dress. The lining sections are also interfaced with sew-in interfacing (I suppose I could have just got iron-on for the lining?) I managed to get hold of some charcoal grey sew-in interfacing, which goes well with my (another) animal print chiffon:

Bodice front stays basted to sew-in interfacing.

Bodice front stays basted to sew-in interfacing.

Here you can see the upper part of the bodice with the gathered overlay sew on to it:

Vogue 1354 front upper bodice with gathered front section sewn on to stay and lined.

Vogue 1354 front upper bodice with gathered front section sewn on to stay and lined.

Close up of Vogue 1354 bodice front.

Close up of Vogue 1354 bodice front.

Inside shot showing lining:

Vogue 1354 bodice lining.

Vogue 1354 bodice lining.

So, if you don’t hear from me for a little while this is the reason why!

Oh, I believe today marks one year of my starting this blog. A huge thank you to all my readers and all those of you who leave comments on my posts. It’s great to be part of the online sewing community.

Hopefully be back by the end of next week with the finished dress…..

 

 

 

 

Tags: , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

26 responses to “What I am working on right now: Anne Klein Vogue Pattern 1354”

  1. MrsAlex says :

    Love the dress – good luck with it and happy blogiversary!

  2. Sam says :

    This is going to look gorgeous, can’t wait to see it finished. Congratulations on your first blogging anniversary.

  3. sewbusylizzy says :

    Oh this is such a lovely dress. I really look forward to seeing it finished!

  4. Marlene says :

    I’m anxiously looking forward to seeing this dress and hearing comments. I tried working with a lower quality chiffon once and that was enough. This will be gorgeous on you!

  5. black label says :

    Im so excited to see this *squeal*….I’ll live vicariously through you on this one because although I love this dress, it didnt make the cut when I ordered patterns last time around. I trust you are not fretting too much with the chiffon 🙂 Hurry hurry, we want to see 🙂

  6. New Ribena says :

    It’s looking really good so far…

  7. Rosalia says :

    I too love this pattern and what attracted me was the bodice and flowyness of the skirt! Love the progress shots. Are you treating the chiffon differently to sew this project? What kind of material are you using for the lining? So far it is looking great, cant wait for the final dress and your modeling shots. Make sure you show us the flowiness of the dress! Keep up the great work.

    • sewmanju says :

      Thanks Rosalia. I will put up details in my next post of how I handled the chiffon. So far it seems to be behaving itself! The lining is acetate. I didn’t dare go for anything expensive as this was my first time working with this fabric and this pattern.

  8. sewforward says :

    I think your dress is going to look great. You are definitely a detailed sewist which is needed for working with such exquisite fabric. Looking forward to seeing the completed dress but ‘no pressure’ – take your time and enjoy the process.

  9. Beth (sunnygalstudio) says :

    looking good, that is quite a challenge, chiffon and pleats. can’t wait to see the finished dress.

  10. prttynpnk says :

    Well, you know I love the fabric- I can’t wait to see this on you- it looks like a really fun sew.

  11. Carrie Thompson says :

    I can’t wait to see your finished garment! I bought this pattern when it came out as well but I’m the same as you, too afraid to work with chiffon again after 1 too many failed garments. I hope it continues to go as well as it looks now!

  12. Linda Nelson says :

    I am currently working on this dress and am stuck on step 19 and 20. It is not intuitive to me, and I can’t figure out the part of “sewing invisibly” along seamline. Any suggestions or help? I’ve had people look at it and if you haven’t sewn it, you don’t really get it. I am also struggling just how it all fits together.
    Thanks!

    • sewmanju says :

      Oh dear it’s been a few years since I made this dress so the only thing I can think it means is sew EXACTLY on the seam line (using a matching thread) so the stitching is not visible and won’t be visible once the lining is attached.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. McCalls 6752: monochrome stripe cowl neck dress | sewmanju - August 4, 2013

Leave a Reply

