McCalls 6752: monochrome stripe cowl neck dress

McCalls 6752 monochrome stripe cowl neck dress

McCalls 6752 monochrome stripe cowl neck dress

Yes, I know this post is supposed to feature my Vogue 1354: don’t worry, it is still coming. But, I just felt like taking a wee break. So I bashed out McCalls 6752 – easy as pie!

This dress is super fast, super easy, and super cute…perfect for making the most of the last of the summer before it disappears. I made view B from a piece of cotton jersey with lycra in it. There are only 4 pieces to cut for this dress: all of which get cut on the fold. There are no sleeves to set in and no zips. The waist is elasticised.

McCalls 6752 monochrome stripe cowl neck dress

McCalls 6752 monochrome stripe cowl neck dress

I made my usual alterations; shortened the bodice, did a sway back adjustment and lengthened the skirt by 1.5 inches. However, this latter alteration wasn’t enough for me. I dare not hem the skirt as I feel it will be too short for me to be comfortable in, so I have left the skirt lower edge unfinished. If I make this view again I will add at least 3 inches extra I think. I also did  not cut my pieces on the fold, but flipped the pattern piece over for the other side so I could ensure my stripes were straight.

McCalls 6752 monochrome stripe cowl neck dress

McCalls 6752 monochrome stripe cowl neck dress

This dress could easily be whipped up in a couple of hours.

McCalls 6752 monochrome stripe cowl neck dress

McCalls 6752 monochrome stripe cowl neck dress

We are off to Paris for a couple of days in a couple of weeks. Mainly to do a day at Euro Disney (who said Paris was for the romantic?). I believe the temperatures in Paris are still nice and warm, so this dress will be great to take, if no reason other than it packs away to virtually nothing and is completely crease proof.

McCalls 6752 monochrome stripe cowl neck dress

McCalls 6752 monochrome stripe cowl neck dress

Pattern Review:

Pattern Description:

Pullover tops and dresses have neckline variations, and elasticized (seamed) waist. A: lower left side gathers and exposed zipper. A and B: loose-fitting . C: elasticized side seams on lower section. C and D: very loose-fitting, gathered (bias front) bodice. B and D: semi-fitted skirt. Stitched hem A, C and sleeves B. Narrow hem back neckline A, B and neckline/armholes C and D.

Pattern Sizing:

6 – 22

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Yes

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

It’s such a simple, fast make. Love the cowl neck and the overall shape. Nothing to dislike as such – except it is short. See below.

Fabric Used:

Cotton jersey lycra mix.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

Shortened the bodice. Sway back adjustment. Lengthened the skirt by 1.5 inches – but it is still too short for me (hits me slightly above the knee, which is fine, but I dare not hem it and have left the lower skirt edge unfinished – I am 5 foot 3 inches FYI). Next time I will probably add 3 inches – if I make this view again.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Don’t know about this particular view, but will consider making the top in view A. Yes to recommending it.

Conclusion:

Super fast, super easy, and super cute.

McCalls 6752 monochrome stripe cowl neck dress

McCalls 6752 monochrome stripe cowl neck dress

 

 

Tags: , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

18 responses to “McCalls 6752: monochrome stripe cowl neck dress”

  1. Sam says :

    I like this a lot. Looks very Parisian with the red belt! Another pattern to go on my wish list!

  2. prttynpnk says :

    Ooh, this is sharp, but then you always pick perfect fabrics and patterns- another win.

  3. Jacci says :

    I love your dress! Was it hard to work with jersey? I have only attempted once, and it was curling up all over the place!!

    • sewmanju says :

      Thanks Jacci. No working with the jersey wasn’t too hard. I like to weigh the fabric down when I am cutting to get an accurate cut. You do get curling but you just have to pin carefully! And I like to use universal needles myself.

  4. Angela says :

    You look great! I love traveling with knit dresses — roll them up and pack, and when you get where you are going, they unroll and are ready to wear.

  5. Heathersmom says :

    Ooooooo la-laaaaaaaaaa! You look so fun and chic in this knockout of a dress, so apropos for Euro Disney! Awesome work with the fabric layout and construction of the dress.

  6. Barb Barna says :

    Great dress, and looks good on you too! If you are worried about the length you could finish with a black knit band.

  7. MrsAlex says :

    Lovely – and tres chic!

  8. julinhappyhomemakerredux says :

    Very cute dress with spot-on stripe matching!

  9. Carrie Thompson says :

    This is SO cute! I love the fabric choice and the red accent belt is just perfect!

Leave a Reply

