Simplicity 1787: DIY little girls corduroy dress

Simplicity 1787 little girl's corduroy dress

Simplicity 1787 little girl’s corduroy dress

I am thinking ahead to autumnal sewing now, as are many of you, I know. What could be more autumnal than cord? IRL this cord is a deep, dark wine colour, that just hasn’t photographed that way. Anyway, it’s made using Simplicity 1787.

I love the overall shape of the dress, with it’s curved front seams and those lovely front pockets. Also love the slightly A-line shape and the full sleeves with the pleats at the wrist opening.

DSC_2109

Simplicity 1787 little girl’s corduroy dress

The pattern includes a block to cut continuous binding to make the flat piping. Here’s a close up of the spotty quilting cotton that I used to make the flat piping:

Simplicity 1787 close up of flat piping

Simplicity 1787 close up of flat piping

An inside shot. I finished the raw edges using my serger. I used some of the spotty quilting cotton to make the neck facing – I think the corduroy may have made everything too bulky.

Simplicity 1787 interior shot.

Simplicity 1787 interior shot.

Here’s some back views. I am quite pleased with the lapped zipper I put in.

Simplicity 1787 lapped zip

Simplicity 1787 lapped zip

Simplicity 1787 back view

Simplicity 1787 back view

Kezia seems to love it anyway, which I am happy about.

Simplicity 1787 little girl's corduroy dress

Simplicity 1787 little girl’s corduroy dress

Pattern Review:

Pattern Description:

Girls’ & Girls’ Plus Dresses Project Runway Collection.

Girls’ & girls’ plus jumper or dress with rosette trim options and sleeve variations and vest.
Pattern Sizing:

8 – 16.5 – I cut the size 8 and made some adjustments.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Yes.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

I love the overall shape of the dress, with it’s curved front seams and those lovely front pockets. Also love the slightly A-line shape and the full sleeves with the pleats at the wrist opening.

The pattern includes a block to cut continuous binding to make the flat piping which is a nice idea. You could customise this dress in so many ways.

Not a dislike as such, but I felt the piping was not visible enough when inserted with the raw edges of the piping matching the raw edges of the fabric piece. I ended up moving the piping out so it was 1/4 inch away from the raw edge of the fabric piece, so it was more visible. This could have just been due to me using bulky corduroy fabric.

One other thing to note is that it is quite hard to do the sleeve hem on a sewing machine (at least I thought it was) due to the tiny wrist opening diameter. But, I managed it, so it is not impossible.

Fabric Used:

Corduroy for the dress with a spotted quilting cotton for the piping and interior neck facing.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

Flat pattern alterations:

1. Shortened the sleeves by 4 inches.

2. Moved the waist up by 1.5 inches.

3. Took 2 inches off the length.

Fitting adjustments:

Ended up removing 0.5 inch from either side of the centre back seam before inserting the lapped zip.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Maybe? and yes.

Conclusion:

If you are looking for something different to the usual flouncy little girls style that can be customised in so many ways then check this pattern out.

Simplicity 1787: you work it girl!

Simplicity 1787: you work it girl!

Tags: , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

29 responses to “Simplicity 1787: DIY little girls corduroy dress”

  1. Sam says :

    What a cute dress! Your daughter looks adorable in it.

  2. MrsAlex says :

    Love it – and what a great model!

  3. Alethia says :

    I love that dress, it’s so cute and beautifully made! But, your daughter captured my heart…she is gorgeous!!!!

  4. Angela says :

    I love this sweet little dress, especially the pockets and the bias details. It’s perfect for fall and winter. And it’s wonderful when your daughter loves what you make because that doesn’t always happen;)

    • sewmanju says :

      Thanks Angela. Yep some little girls can be obstinate creatures and just take a dislike to something even when you have slaved over it…they must get it from their dads, haha. But kezia hasn’t taken this off yet!

  5. Kay says :

    Your daughter is adorable! The dress is cute, but she is so pretty!

  6. Meigan says :

    This is absolutely adorable! I think I need to show my girls this pattern to see if they’d like one just like this. Those pockets and the piping really make this great. Lovely job. And I LOVE those pig-tails 🙂

  7. Beth (sunnygalstudio) says :

    super cute dress and she looks adorable.

  8. Lyrique says :

    The piping and the pockets really make the cute dress even more fun. I’d like to wear that dress, too! Your daughter looks so cute.

    • sewmanju says :

      Thanks lyrique. Secret: I have a dress something like this in my wardrobe. Question: do we dress our daughters as we secretly like to dress ourselves?!

  9. Pella says :

    Adorable, dress and model. The spotty cotton and the integral pockets – I bet your daughter loves this!

  10. Victoria says :

    There’s an adult version of this pattern, which I’ve made a tunic from. I recently purchased the kids’ pattern to make blue uniform dresses for my girls. I’m going to use the piping details to spice up their wardrobe a bit.

  11. prttynpnk says :

    Oh how cute is she in her pink! IS it wrong to want one for myself?

  12. Jean says :

    Very cute dress. Love the flat piping detail.

  13. Lynn says :

    How adorable! I like the contrast piping and facing.

  14. Jan says :

    How lucky she is that you are able to sew for her… wait till she gets older and puts in her orders… she is so cute!

  15. Marcy says :

    That last picture is so cute! 😉 Might want to consider entering her in a pageant. Although, not sure corduroy would be an acceptable fabric for a pageant dress… lol

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Butterick 5559: Fitted Ponte Sheath Dress by Maggy London | sewmanju - September 22, 2013

Leave a Reply

