McCalls 6604: stripe cowl neck knit top

Hello Mister: can you tell I am pleased to meet you?!

Hello Mister: can you tell I am pleased to meet you?!

McCalls 6604: this pattern is not meant for knit fabrics. The recommended fabrics for the view I made are Madras, Interlock, Georgette and Cotton Lawn. Of course, I had the brilliant idea to try and make it in this soft cotton jersey that I bought from Click Fabrics.

I don’t know why I decided that the Simplicity 1716 cowl neck top I previously made wasn’t a good enough pattern to stick with? I mean, why? why? Again, why? Sometimes we just do these slightly stupid things.

McCalls 6604 cowl neck stripe knit top

McCalls 6604 cowl neck stripe knit top

I am not going to say much about this top, except that the making of it and the final result are quite underwhelming. Having said that, it is a perfectly wearable top. I prefer the cowl on this to Simplicity 1716. I like the curved hem at the bottom. And I like the little sleeve tabs. It also doesn’t photograph terribly well.

McCalls 6604: close up of sleeve tab.

McCalls 6604: close up of sleeve tab.

Pattern Review:

Pattern Description:

Fitted, pullover tops have hem variations and narrow hems. A: armhole bands. B: collar, and sleeves rolled-up (wrong side shows) with button tab. A and B: bias front and forward shoulder seams. D: sleeves gathered into cuffs. C and D: bias neck binding and front pleats.

Pattern Sizing:

6 – 22

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Mine is made from a cotton jersey which is not one of the suggested fabrics for this pattern. This pattern is intended for woven fabrics.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Didn’t really use them, but they seemed to be fine.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

Unlike some other reviewers this cowl is not too deep for me. I like the curved hem and the sleeve tabs. Not the patterns fault but maybe the fabric is not exciting enough for me? Still makes a perfectly wearable (if not boring) top.

Fabric Used:

Cotton jersey

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

This pattern is not intended for knits but I did it anyway. I cut a size smaller than usual. There was too much ease in the sleeves/ sleeve caps so I cut them again using a sleeve from another knit pattern and trimmed a smidge from the front upper arm hole. I used clear elastic to stablise the shoulder seams and inserted the sleeves in flat. I wish I had perhaps done a french seam on the sleeves as you can see the serged seam when the sleeve is rolled up.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Hmmm, I don’t know and yes, perhaps.

Conclusion:

Boring but wearable. Sometimes we have to have things like this in our wardrobe, right?

McCalls 6604: stripe cowl neck knit top

McCalls 6604: stripe cowl neck knit top

Tags: , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

8 responses to “McCalls 6604: stripe cowl neck knit top”

  1. Marlene says :

    Too funny! I do love this top and this it looks great in the knit fabric. Very comfortable looking.

  2. Angela says :

    Even though it’s not your favorite, at least you can still wear it:) Lately I have been working hard on things that have ended up being totally unwearable.

  3. cjgal says :

    I think it is cute! I love the sleeve tabs and the button you chose, looks very sailor chic 🙂

  4. poppykettle says :

    A fabulous everyday top – and I love the tabs on the sleeve! That’s been something I’ve wanted to try for quite some time now. Lovely!

Leave a Reply

