Grainline Moss (Not So) Mini Skirt: feeling a bit meh.

Grainline Moss (not so) Mini Skirt in cord.

Grainline Moss (not so) Mini Skirt in cord.

Hello Readers. Unless I really make a true wadder I feel I should share pretty much everything I sew with you; the good, the bad and the ugly. I am not sure where this skirt fits into those categories!

Earlier this week I printed off the Moss Mini skirt. Only mine is really not so mini. I lengthened  the skirt by 3 inches and also added the band (from view B)…it hits me right on the knee, but I don’t know if next time around (if there is a next time) I should shorten/ make view A.

Grainline Moss (not so) Mini Skirt in cord.

Grainline Moss (not so) Mini Skirt in cord.

Overall, this is a great skirt pattern with some cute details…but I am just not sure if this is a great skirt pattern for me. I went down a size on the waist but it is still too big (I have just hidden the waist under my top). I probably need to come down at least another half size. I am also not so sure it is mega flattering (at least for me), from the side view. Maybe it’s the fabric contributing to that? (Sorry, I am not sharing a picture of my tummy in side profile with the world, but am prepared to share a bum shot:)

Grainline Moss (not so) Mini Skirt in cord.

Grainline Moss (not so) Mini Skirt in cord.

The fabric is this purpley cord. Its nice and warm, not too thick and wasn’t too expensive as this is really a wearable muslin. Some inside shots:

Grainline Moss Mini: interior back yoke.

Grainline Moss Mini: interior back yoke.

Grainline Moss Mini: interior front skirt.

Grainline Moss Mini: interior front skirt. Erm, should I have trimmed the bottom of the zip off?

Grainline Moss Mini: close up of zippered fly.

Grainline Moss Mini: close up of zippered fly – my first time attempting this.

Pattern Review:

Pattern Description:

The Moss is a semi-fitted mini skirt that sits slightly below the natural waist and works up well in a variety of fabrics, from denim to wool and many fabrics in-between. Skirt features a fly front and button closure as well as a yoke at the back. If mini isn’t quite your style, just slice along the marked line to lengthen the skirt as you wish. The pattern also includes a hem band.

Pattern Sizing:

0 – 18

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes, except mine is longer in length.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Yes. They were good, and there is also a good tutorial online which shows the fly insertion with colour photographs if you find that easier.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

Ok, honest opinion:

Likes:

It does look very RTW with the back yoke, and if I overcame the sizing issue then I would probably love it more. It’s too big on the waistband (despite coming down a size), and I don’t know if I should perhaps go up slightly over the tummy/ hips to avoid bulging. But perhaps the cord fabric is contributing to this and different fabric might make me happier?

Dislikes:

The waistband is not drafted correctly. In terms of length I mean. And it is not just me that has found this. There are at least 5 other bloggers who have said the same thing. It comes up short. Seriously short. Like more than 5 inches (at least in the size I cut). This was despite me cutting a size smaller on the waist of the skirt and a size bigger on the waistband. Just letting you know. Maybe it depends on which size you have cut as I don’t know if everyone has found this?

The instructions, although great, don’t tell you when and where to topstitch. A beginner may struggle with that. I found some great pics on the Grainline blog which show where Jen topstitched her original skirt.

A couple of the grainlines on the pattern are printed very close to the edge of the paper which means they may not be very accurate once you have taped the pattern together. They might have been better printed in the middle of the pattern piece. Likewise the 3 inch square which you use to make sure your pattern is scaled correctly is printed over 2 pages.

The seam allowances are 0.5 inch; wasn’t an issue for me because I overlocked all my edges, but it if you wanted to do flat fell seams then  you may have to consider making the seam allowances larger.

Fabric Used:

Corduroy.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

I lengthened the skirt by 3 inches. I am 5’3″ and with the band from view B it hits me right at my knee, but if I made this again I don’t know if I would shorten. I topstitched along the back yoke, the CB seam, the pockets, the CF seam, along the top of the hem band and along the waistband (rather than slipstitching by hand). I couldn’t get any topstitching thread in a suitable colour so used normal thread. I also put twill tape in along the pockets to avoid gaping.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

I might sew it again. Maybe in a denim with stretch. Yes, I would recommend it to others.

Conclusion:

This is a great design, but I just don’t love it on me. Don’t let that put you off though! I think having another bash at this might make me feel better about the whole thing.

Grainline Moss (not so) Mini Skirt in cord.

Grainline Moss (not so) Mini Skirt in cord.

Tags: ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

23 responses to “Grainline Moss (Not So) Mini Skirt: feeling a bit meh.”

  1. cjgal says :

    I think it’s cute! I’m loving that purple corduroy, it’s making me excited for fall corduroy weather! Even if its a little big you can always wear it to tuck shirts in with tights. Sometimes it’s nice to have some roomier garments to run around in 🙂

    • sewmanju says :

      Thanks CJ. Yeah, sometimes it is nice to have some room…but…meh 🙂 Nah, maybe I need a few days and give it another try? Yes, fall (autumn) is definitely on its way over here….yeah fall sewing!

  2. KayoticSewing says :

    Manju, I love the color of the skirt!! LOVE!!

    If the length really bothers you, maybe you can try removing the band and do a short hem instead? Before removing, try pinning or machine basting by folding the band inside and see if you like the short length.

    • sewmanju says :

      Hi Kay, yes, I did think about removing the band. But hmmmm….I don’t know. I do think it is a great pattern….but at the minute the jurys out. Give it a few days, I might feel differently.

  3. Sam says :

    I think it looks good on you. It seems quite different to your usual style, maybe that’s why you’re not sure about it?

    You’ve done a really nice job with the fly front – very neat!

    • sewmanju says :

      Thanks Sam. I do recommend the tutorial for the fly…if I can do it, anyone can 🙂 Yep, maybe that’s why I am not sure. My husband says he hasn’t seen me wearing a skirt for ages. Maybe I should stick to dresses 🙂

  4. SeeKatSew says :

    I really like this skirt, the color is fantastic, and it’s cord – double win! It is a really pretty skirt. Have you tried wearing it with different tops to see if you can like the skirt more? I just made a skirt that I am not in love with (will post later today) so I understand how you feel.

  5. Carolyn says :

    You know not every pattern is right for everyone AND even though we all think it looks cute…you have to wear it. If you’re not comfortable move on…there is more fabric and patterns to explore out there!

  6. sewbusylizzy says :

    Have another go, I quite like it on you. I’m a huge fan of this pattern and think I’ll make it this summer. Thanks for the warning about the waistband!

  7. Alethia says :

    I really do think it’s great and you did a fantastic job! Really great review, even if you did share your bum and not your belly. 😉
    I think, like Sam said, it’s not your usual wear,and that’s probably the majority of your issue. However, I do believe the length is great. But, I think if you take in the waist to your liking, taper the hem of the skirt a tad(or not-optional) , then pair it with a more fitted top, you’ll love it! You’ve paired a straight skirt with a loose blouse, transforming your shape. You’ve completely lost your waist in this outfit. BTW, LOVE the blouse! I hope that helps! 😉

  8. black label says :

    I love this on you, the cord & the colour!
    I think if you tapered in the sides ever so slightly to the hem it will give a little more shape..I wouldnt do too much though. Baste first & see if it works for you.

  9. Catty says :

    I think this looks great on you. Very basic and a good wardrobe builder! I might have to try it myself!

  10. SewOm says :

    Congrats on making a well made skirt. A few others have pointed out that you’ve lost your waist in this skirt. I agree. You could modify the pattern by tapering it, but then you’d have to add a vent for walking ease. You could also change the skirt to an a-line, which would give you your waist back. But then you’d have to do something about the hem band. It all seems like much more work than what its worth. I suggest walking away from the pattern. There are plenty of beautiful skirt patterns out there that would flatter you more.

  11. Australian woman says :

    I think it looks amazing. It makes me want to sew one RIGHT NOW even thoughit is summer here and I need summer clothes. well done you.

  12. Carolyn says :

    Thanks for such a detailed review! I just made a muslin of this pattern and found it to be big as well. I’m not sure if I should pin out the excess or go down a size (or two) and am doing some research to see what other people have experienced. 🙂

    I can’t help but wonder what you wound up doing with this skirt. Have you worn it? Did it turn out to be a wadder after all? I love the color on you and hope you were able to make it work!

    • sewmanju says :

      Hi Carolyn. Well I think I have worn the skirt once and the only reason I am hanging on to it is because I eventually want to make another version and use this as my muslin! So at the minute it’s a wadder…the waist band just makes me unhappy 🙂

      • sewmanju says :

        P.s have you checked the grainline blog as I am sure Jen posted something on there about printing the waistband and why some people said it was the wrong length?

Leave a Reply

