Butterick 5922: nude lacy knit top with collar

Butterick 5922: nude lacy knit top with collar

Butterick 5922: nude lacy knit top with collar

This is my version of Butterick 5922. It’s a super quick top to make. I made it in this lacy knitted fabric, in nude. Apparently nude pink is going to be a hot colour for autumn. Nude and hot. Hmmm….I wonder what interesting search terms will come up in my blog stats?

Anyway, I don’t have much to say about it. I selected my size based on the provided finished garment measurements, but really I could have gone down a size. The pattern envelope does suggest using fabrics with little stretch. Maybe my fabric was too stretchy? On this occasion I don’t mind the sloppy look 🙂

Butterick 5922: nude lacy knit top with collar

Butterick 5922: nude lacy knit top with collar

Oh, yes. I decided I would add a totally different collar to it, instead of one of the ones that come with the pattern. I used the collar from New Look 6000. I cut two sets of collars, applied iron-on interfacing to one set, then used them as an underlay for the collar pieces. I made the whole top on my serger, except the janky, wavy hems. I kind of like the janky, wavy effect (just this once).

Butterick 5922: nude lacy knit top with collar

Butterick 5922: nude lacy knit top with collar

Pattern Review:

Pattern Description:

Close-fitting, pullover top has back neck slit, narrow hem and hook & eye closing. A and D: collar. C: purchased trim. B, C and D: underlay. I made view A, with sleeves from D and a collar taken from New Look 6000.

Pattern Sizing:

6 – 22

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Not really, but not through any fault of the pattern. The fabric I used probably had too much stretch to it than recommended, and I also used a collar from a different pattern.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

I didn’t use them. I glanced over them and they seemed fine.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

On this occasion I liked the relaxed sloppy (!) fit. It feels very comfortable and perfect for wearing with jeans. Nothing to dislike really. If I was making it again I would use a fabric with less stretch.

Fabric Used:

A knitted lace fabric with lycra in it.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

I eliminated the centre back seam and cut the back on the fold. I added 3 inches to the length. I stabilised the shoulder seams with clear elastic.

 
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Yes, I might sew again – this time with the one of the collars in the pattern! Yes, I would recommend.

Conclusion:

Does what is says on the envelope: fast and easy.

Butterick 5922: nude lacy knit top with collar

Butterick 5922: nude lacy knit top with collar

 

 

Tags: , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

16 responses to “Butterick 5922: nude lacy knit top with collar”

  1. Betty says :

    I like that collar on this shirt. Dresses it up a notch. Thanks for an interesting post.

  2. Angela says :

    Very pretty top! I think you will find lots of things to go with it this winter.

  3. Kay says :

    It is very pretty, and looks great on you.

  4. Susan says :

    This looks like a lot of fun, love the color…nude pink.

  5. Dellia says :

    I think I like your version of this top better. It looks really good on you.

  6. Amanda S. says :

    This is a great look on you! Perhaps “pale pink” might receive less trolls visiting your site…

  7. sewexhausted says :

    Great top. And I really like that collar you added! Nude pink…. Hmmm- I think I have some in my stash! ~Laurie

  8. aminat says :

    Wow you are a talented sewist, love all your creations. I am following your blog now..

  9. Rose says :

    I think pretty much the same way as you about some of the prices, but haven’t done any sewing for quite awhile, though I have been buying patterns, so at the moment I am checking out the reviews on them, thanks for yours 🙂

Leave a Reply

