Butterick 5870 See and Sew: pull on jersey dress with tie neck

Butterick 5870

Butterick 5870

This is another of those Butterick See and Sew patterns. You can check out my first attempt here. Again, this is one of those patterns that is probably really easy to overlook, but IMO it sews up very easily and very cute! I probably wouldn’t have noticed it either, but it was on display on the fabric stall in the market and view B caught my eye, largely because I liked the look of the tie neck detail.

Butterick 5870

Butterick 5870

It is hard to see all the little details on this dress in my busy fabric choice, so here’s the line drawings:

Butterick 5870 line drawings

Butterick 5870 line drawings

Like I say, I made view B. It has little gathers at the shoulders and along the back yoke seam.

Butterick 5870

Butterick 5870

The back neck band does seem to be dipping down a wee bit. Why do you think that is? If I made this again I would need to look at that. And another question: the pattern is described as having a raised waist: what, exactly, is the definition of a raised waist? Where should a raised waist sit? I added an inch to the front bodice but next time round may around a further half inch to get it to sit on my waist; if this is a raised waist should it stay where it currently is? Just slightly above the natural waist? Hmmm?

Anyway, I confess I did frankenpattern this somewhat. I decided I didn’t want the elasticated sleeve openings as per the pattern (I also didn’t have quite enough fabric to cut those sleeves). So I substituted them for some other sleeves that I had from McCalls 6650, which came with a wide cuff piece, which allowed me to get the barrel cuff effect I wanted. (This meant I probably don’t have quite as much fullness in the sleeve head as the pattern indicates). The skirt is also substituted from my lady skater dress.

Butterick 5870

Butterick 5870

Pattern Review

Pattern Description:

Loose-fitting, pullover dress has neckline/sleeve variations, yoke with forward shoulder seam, raised waist and stitched hems. A: shaped hemline. B: elastic on lower edge of sleeves. I made view B.

Pattern Sizing:

8 – 16

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes, with the exception of the sleeve finishing. See below.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Yes.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

I like lots! The neck tie detail. The gathering at the (forward) shoulder seams and along the back yoke seam. The ease of wearing this dress, not worrying about it gaping or exposing anything.

Not a lot to dislike really. My only “confusion” is over the position of the waistline. The pattern describes the dress as having a raised waistline. I am not entirely sure what that means?! Where should the waist line sit? I added 1 inch to the front bodice and it still sits about half an inch above my natural waist; next time round I may lengthen the front bodice more.

Fabric Used:

Some kind of jersey….

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

1 inch sway back and lengthened the front by 1 inch. I decided I didn’t want the elasticated sleeve openings as per the pattern (I also didn’t have quite enough fabric to cut those sleeves). So I substituted them for some other sleeves that I had from McCalls 6650, which came with a wide cuff piece, which allowed me to get the barrel cuff effect I wanted. (This meant I probably don’t have quite as much fullness in the sleeve head as the pattern indicates). The skirt is also substituted from my lady skater dress.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Yes, I may sew this again. I think it would be fab in a solid colour or a wool jersey. Yes, highly recommend.

Conclusion:

This is an easy dress to make which has some great little features which elevates it above other simple jersey dresses.

Butterick 5870

Butterick 5870

And give yourself 10 bonus points if you noticed that I cut the whole damn dress with the print upside down!! What a rookie mistake to make. But hey, it’s a mistake I hopefully won’t make again and it hasn’t stopped me wearing the dress twice already….have a great week.

 

 

Tags: , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

35 responses to “Butterick 5870 See and Sew: pull on jersey dress with tie neck”

  1. Andrea says :

    Totally didn’t notice the upside down print! But then, I thought the print was butterflies until I made the picture bigger on my ipad screen and saw they were bows. Re: the ‘raised waist’ question: my thoughts are that the raised waist is above the natural waist but below an empire waistline. The drawing seems to reflect that, IMO. Re: the neck dipping down in the back, I am wondering (but can’t tell by the pics) if you have a forward shoulder and need that adjustment to the pattern. Perhaps someone else will chime in on this issue. If you post a picture on Pattern Review in the boards/fitting issues topic, you should get some good opinions there. The dress looks great on you. I admit I overlooked this pattern but will give it another look. And I doubt anyone will notice the print oopsie unless you tell them!

  2. Erin says :

    This is really beautiful. I’ve never noticed this pattern before. I prefer the sleeves you added – not sure about the back neck dip – is it possible it’s because of the weight of your fabric? Otherwise, I would say maybe forward shoulder?? Love your version.

  3. Beth (sunnygalstudio) says :

    very cute and clever pattern mixing. you have a talent choosing sewing patterns that suit and flatter you. it’s a talent, I tell you, not everyone has it 🙂

  4. Carolyn says :

    This is such a cute dress! Love the print you chose!

  5. SeeKatSew says :

    Great dress, so flattering – the fabric looks really nice. I always forget to look at the See and Sew patterns on the Butterick website, they don’t do a very good job of promoting them.

  6. cjgal says :

    This is super cute! Easy to wear, but still sophisticated. I love the bow print!

  7. Angela says :

    Another great dress! I have this pattern but I bought it for the other dress. I will have to relook at the one with the tie after seeing how good yours looks.

  8. Sew, Jean Margaret says :

    Pretty dress that suits you beautifully. I like the pattern changes you made and I didn’t notice the upside down print until you mentioned it. It’s not that obvious.

  9. Sam says :

    Lovely, as usual! I didn’t even notice that the bows were upside down until you mentioned it.

  10. Dawn says :

    You certainly know what suits you! Love this dress on you 🙂

  11. ZoSews says :

    Very cute and flattering!!

  12. aminat says :

    Beautiful dress and sincerely never noticed the pattern, you really pulled it off . IMO the neck line issue might be due to broad shoulder and you might need to to make the adjustment to the pattern, but you can check with experienced sewist on PR they might have other opinion. Great dress

  13. sewcharleston says :

    Great dress and love the bow fabric! I think I’m going to have to purchase this pattern!

  14. simplesimonandcom says :

    So dang cute! And that tie in the front is adorable!!!

  15. mrsmole says :

    The dress is screaming for a slash and spread across the back yoke area to allow the back neck to slide up and forward. It is darling and I like many others thought the fabric was filled with butterflies…duh. So many See and Sew patterns forget that women have rounded backs and cheat them by making the back neck to waist length too short…be bold, slash, spread, an inch or so and see what happens next time!

  16. velosewer says :

    I love how you’ve made this pretty dress work on you. It’s lovely.

  17. Ramona Hansraj says :

    You look great in that dress and I didnt notice the upside down pattern. You should be proud of yourself.

Leave a Reply

