Vogue 8884: DIY showerproof poplin trench

Vogue 8884 DIY trench

Vogue 8884 DIY trench

Here’s my completed version of Vogue 8884. This is not a project to undertake on a whim. It is a project that will test your endurance and commitment, largely with it’s gazillion pieces (most of which have to be interfaced) and also with its edge and top stitching of virtually every seam sewn. However, if you are looking for a classic trench pattern, minus the storm flaps and epaulettes, then this is the pattern to go for. I made view C, but the other views look cute and involve (considerably) less pieces….

Vogue 8884 line drawings

Vogue 8884 line drawings

I made my version from a waterproofed poplin. It creases and doesn’t like to be pressed. I have actually bought some more of this fabric and am currently making a minoru jacket from it. What can I say? I am a sucker for punishment.

Vogue 8884 DIY trench

Vogue 8884 DIY trench

Vogue 8884 DIY trench

Vogue 8884 DIY trench

 

I don’t even know what to write, this coat was such an epic make! Instead some detailed shots:

Vogue 8884 DIY trench - dress form shot

Vogue 8884 DIY trench – dress form shot

Vogue 8884 DIY trench - sleeve buckle and tab top stitching detail

Vogue 8884 DIY trench – sleeve buckle and tab top stitching detail

Vogue 8884 DIY trench - topstitching and button detail

Vogue 8884 DIY trench – topstitching and button detail

Vogue 8884 DIY trench - yep, I used this contrasting lilac coloured acetate lining. Seeing the pictures I wish I hadn't. Someday I will believe in my sewing abilities and upgrade to something more refined....

Vogue 8884 DIY trench – yep, I used this contrasting lilac coloured acetate lining. Seeing the pictures I wish I hadn’t. Someday I will believe in my sewing abilities and upgrade to something more refined….

Pattern Review

Pattern Description:

Semi-fitted, partially interfaced, lined coat has collar, collar band, shoulder pads, yokes, and two-piece sleeves. Topstitching. A and B: side pockets. C: seam detail, welt pockets, sleeve tabs, loops for tab and self belt. I made view C.

Pattern Sizing:

6 – 22

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Yes, I have to say they were excellent and guided you through each and every step.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

I love the classic trench look, but minus the storm flaps and epaulettes (which I didn’t really want). Twp piece sleeves and bias cut undercollar are plus points. The finished look is very RTW, you just have to take your time getting there….virtually every seam is edge and then topstitched and most of the pieces are interfaced. I used a nylon fusible knit as instructed. My first time making welt pockets too.

Fabric Used:

A waterproofed (showerproof?) poplin.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

I really wasn’t sure what the final fit of this coat was going to be like (with so many pieces to cut there was no way I was making a muslin), so I cut my usual size for the bust and graded out 2 sizes over the hips. With hindsight I think I could have just graded up one size (or perhaps just cut the same size for bust and hips?)…it is quite roomy.

The only pattern alteration I made was, having done a tissue fit, to add a wedge of paper at the lengthen/ shorten line across the centre front, middle and side pieces, to get the yoke to lie straight across the front. This wedge of paper was 2 inches at the centre front, tapering down to nothing at the side seam.

I did everything else as the pattern instructed, except that I added additional topstitching at the sleeve openings and the hem.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Erm, no, I don’t think I would sew view C again. Ever. Haha. I might sew view A or B though. Yes, I would recommend it to any sewers with nerves of steel and the patience of Mother Teresa.

Conclusion:

The sense of accomplishment in completing this coat will far out weigh expletives uttered in its making….

Vogue 8884 DIY trench

Vogue 8884 DIY trench

Until next time……

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tags: , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

51 responses to “Vogue 8884: DIY showerproof poplin trench”

  1. Carolyn says :

    This is so cute and you did a great job on it!

  2. sewbusylizzy says :

    Wow this is fabulous! I’ve had this pattern since it came out, I think it’s the long term commitment that scares me!

  3. Joanne says :

    Outstanding color for you. Great trench. Looks RTW!

  4. Nessa says :

    Oh WOW! This must have been an epic challenge! And it looks terrific! What a spectacular accomplishment.

  5. Meigan says :

    Wow, you should be very proud. This looks great! Wear it with pride 🙂

  6. Debbie Cook says :

    Your trench is GREAT! And I love your “conclusion.” Still cracking up …

  7. Julie says :

    Oh wow! What a fantastic job you have done on this trench. I am a sucker for red so I loved it before I looked closely at all those wonderful details. I would love to make one but I am not sure I would last the distance :-/

  8. Angela says :

    Oh wow! You look great in that coat! But you are making me nervous because my 16-year-old daughter has purchased this pattern and wants to make a coat — which will entail a lot of help from me — and I have not yet made a coat myself.

  9. NewRibena says :

    Thoroughly impressive!

  10. Faye Lewis says :

    Such a great trench in such a wonderful color. It looks fab on your too.

  11. Sew, Jean Margaret says :

    Great showcase for your impeccable sewing skills. I’m sure you will get loads of wear out of this one and the colour is so bright and cheery for the cooler months. Wear with pride.

  12. black label says :

    amazing….love the colour & knowing how much patience it takes to make a jacket/coat, i applaud you. any idea how many hours this took??

    • sewmanju says :

      Thanks angelique. Well, don’t get scared but I would say I have spent almost 40 hours sewing this jacket!!!! Not all in one go. And I am not the worlds fastest sewer either. I read another review on this and they said they had spent 25 hours.

  13. Rachel M says :

    Brilliant, it looks fabulous on you. Rachel

  14. Kay says :

    It is fabulous. I love it.

  15. Sam says :

    Wow, fabulous! I love the colour on you and am so impressed that you got the fit this good without a muslin. Coats certainly take time to sew, but this was definitely worth the effort.

  16. Beth (sunnygalstudio) says :

    Dazzling! so fantastic, I love everything about it. the color, the finishing, the shape and length is perfect. I think you have such a talent for choosing colors and styles that are soooooooo perfect on you. Now I want a red trench 🙂

  17. Candice says :

    Oh, this coat is simply amazing!!! Great work as always, you are so inspiring!

  18. Amanda S. says :

    Just GORGEOUS!!! Lovely color and fit – perfect details – adorable hat too!

  19. GZakem@aol.com says :

    Lovely coat. So cute on you. Love all the detail, well worth your efforts. You should have a tremendous sense of accomplishment for this one. Gail

  20. Lisa P says :

    What a great job you have done on this coat. I love it , the colour is great on you. Where did you buy your fabric from ?

    • sewmanju says :

      Thanks Lisa. I got the fabric for this trench and the minoru jacket from carlisle covered market.

      • Lisa P says :

        I’m so pleased you said that, I’m popping through for some in that case.

      • sewmanju says :

        Lisa last time I checked Helen only had some stone coloured waterproof poplin left. Just letting you know. She has some good stuff on the stall at the moment…just hope you are not coming through just for the poplin in case there is none left. Or I could send you a msg letting you know if there is any next time I go later in the week perhaps?

  21. Jenni says :

    I applaud your commitment on this, it’s an amazing coat, really professionally finished. Well Done to you x

  22. Leigh Ann says :

    Wow, so awesome. You did great!

Leave a Reply

