Simplicity 2479: DIY mens quilted body warmer vest

Simplicity 2479 DIY mens quilted bodywarmer vest

Simplicity 2479 DIY mens quilted bodywarmer vest

The only handmade Christmas present I am making this year is finished. This is a quilted mens bodywarmer for my husband Philip, made using Simplicity 2479.

Simplicity 2479 DIY mens quilted bodywarmer vest

Simplicity 2479 DIY mens quilted bodywarmer vest

This is such a versatile pattern. Not only are patterns included for men and boys in one envelope, but you also have a choice of two different necklines, two different closure options, shoulder patches, back tabs and 5 different pockets. There is no limit to what you could do with this pattern, and it is also a fairly simple pattern to work with. I went with view B, with a metallic zipper front V-neck, shoulder patches in corduroy and patch pockets with corduroy flaps and brass snaps to finish. The main body of the bodywarmer is a water resistant quilted fabric and it is fully lined with ex-Barbour fleece.

Simplicity 2479 line drawings

Simplicity 2479 line drawings

Simplicity 2479 DIY mens quilted bodywarmer vest

Simplicity 2479 DIY mens quilted bodywarmer vest

A couple of things I wanted to specifically mention: the pattern calls for a 22 inch separating zipper. I went with a YKK antique brass finish zipper. I mentioned a few posts ago that after doing some reading on the internet, I came to the conclusion that YKK are the best quality zipper you can buy. Well, it so happened that I ended up with two identical zippers for this project; one YKK and one not. I had to shorten the zipper (in the end by approx. 2 inches). Here’s a picture:

Removal of approx. 2 inches of metal teeth using pliers

Removal of approx. 2 inches of metal teeth using pliers

Let me tell you that it was much harder (although not impossible) to remove the teeth from the YKK zipper. Which leads me to conclude that YKK zippers are built to last! In fact, it was impossible for me to remove the YKK zipper stop at the end of the tape and in the end I removed the zipper stop from the non YKK zip and put that on the YKK zip.

The other thing I wanted to mention was that I removed the wadding from the seam allowances, and trimmed seams down well:

Removing wadding from seam allowances

Removing wadding from seam allowances

Here are some close up shots:

Simplicity 2479 pocket/ snap/ lining detail

Simplicity 2479 pocket/ snap/ lining detail

Simplicity 2479 pocket/ snap/ zipper detail

Simplicity 2479 pocket/ snap/ zipper detail

Simplicity 2479 DIY mens quilted bodywarmer vest

Simplicity 2479 DIY mens quilted bodywarmer vest

Pattern Review:

Pattern Description:

Men’s and boys’ vest sewing pattern with pocket variations. I made view B with pockets from view A.

Pattern Sizing:

S – L boys and S – XL mens. I cut the size M.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes, although this is one of those Project Runway inspired patterns which is really only limited by your imagination.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Yes, but I did scratch my head a little about how to sew the sides up. I got it in the end. It does involve hand sewing the lining shut which I generally don’t like, but my lining is a fleece so the hand stitching is not that noticeable.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

I love the finished garment (and so does my husband). I love all the potential variations. There is nothing to dislike as such.

Fabric Used:

A prequilted water resistant fabric for the outer shell. Ex-barbour fleece lining. An antique brass finish metal zipper. Corduroy for the shoulder patches and patch pocket flaps. Brass snaps.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

No alterations except for I lined the pockets with the fleece (isn’t men’s sewing easy?!) The fleece does peek out a little around the edges of the pocket but I like it. I did stay stitch the neckline as instructed, but wish I had added some twill tape for more stability. It is gaping ever so slightly.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Not sure I would sew it again but I would definitely recommend it.

Conclusion:

Simple pattern with great variations. It’s a great easy gift pattern to have on hand.

Simplicity 2479 DIY mens quilted bodywarmer vest

Simplicity 2479 DIY mens quilted bodywarmer vest

Happy christmas everyone!

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

14 responses to “Simplicity 2479: DIY mens quilted body warmer vest”

  1. Nessa says :

    This looks terrific!! Such a professional looking garment! And what a supportive and proud star your model is!

  2. prttynpnk says :

    This is really sharp- nicely done!

  3. Beth (SunnyGal Studio) says :

    wow that looks fantastic, I would think it was an item from an expensive menswear store if I saw it on the street. Super nice. And now you can go back to sewing for yourself 🙂 !

    • sewmanju says :

      Thanks Beth. Yes I am very proud of how far I’ve come! Currently working through the craftsy perfect fit course so hopefully have something to show for that soon!

  4. Chris says :

    that looks great on him. I bet he loves it!

  5. Rain Drops says :

    Great work! I would love to see a shapely female version!

  6. Mary says :

    Such a neat job. Mary

Leave a Reply

