Giveaway results

Hello Readers,

Wooden sewing tools

Wooden sewing tools

Thank you to everyone who entered my first giveaway. It was fascinating to go through everyone’s comments on what RTW garment they wished they could clone. It seems shirt dresses and beloved winter coats are high on everyone’s wish list. Yep, I can totally relate to both of those.

Anyway, the random number generator picked: Debra Lee as the winner of the giveaway! Congratulations. You will be receiving the sewing tools and the pattern. I have your email address; I will be in touch to get your postal address. Debra said she would love to find a simple shift dress pattern. Well, now you can have a go at a shirt dress as well!

In other news, we have just accepted an offer on our house, which has been on the market for the last 6 months. It’s still very much early days yet (i.e. I don’t like to count any chickens until contracts have been signed etc), but, sigh, this may have an impact on my sewing. At the minute we are toying with the idea of getting a house built, or perhaps a major renovation project. It’s all still quite uncertain, and certainly the first idea will involve months and months of disruption. Friends, I know that you will all relate to this, but…yikes…I am so used to having my little sewing room to myself and locking myself away in the evenings and sewing…it has been the thing which has kept me sane and exercised my brain since I gave up working….I am not looking forward to the upheaval of moving! Still, it might be nice, someday to have a more spacious sewing room with an inspiring view.

View of Borrowdale in the Lake District, close to where we live. Unfortunately I don't think the view we will end up with will be quite as spectacular as this...

View of Borrowdale in the Lake District, close to where we live. Unfortunately I don’t think the view we will end up with will be quite as spectacular as this…

Until next time…..

 

 

 

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

6 responses to “Giveaway results”

  1. black label says :

    Holding thumbs for you. Having moved countries 8 times in the past 4 years I can certainly sympathise, however, there are rewards too. You get to do BIG clean-outs of things that you thought you needed but dont really. Purging is good. So deep breath & think of a wonderful sewing space 🙂

  2. Sahra says :

    It might be difficult but also a lot of fun. Your taste mught have changed a little and now you get to decorate an entire house (you might even blog about it like YHL). 😉
    P.S. why did you have to stop working?

  3. Dibs says :

    I totally understand you about house moves. We accepted an offer on our house recently and had ours accepted elsewhere so I am crossing every bone in my body that the sale goes through. We tried to sell last year, and the chain collapsed at the last minute, which made me so sad. anyway, fingers crossed your sale goes through without incident.

Leave a Reply

