Simplicity 2365: DIY animal print tunic top

Simplicity 2365 animal print tunic

Simplicity 2365 animal print tunic

Hello there Friends,

After my fairly time consuming quilted jacket, I decided to do something easy. This tunic top is made using Simplicity 2365, a top I have made before. I confess, I have worn the first version of this top maybe once. Why? I felt it was too short to wear with jeans and, whilst not tight, was just a tad snug at the bust. This time around I added two inches to the length and about 0.25 inches at each of the front princess seams. There probably wasn’t any need to do this, as the fabric I made this in has a slight crinkle effect and so it’s more forgiving that the cotton I used last time.

Simplicity 2365 animal print tunic

Simplicity 2365 animal print tunic

Speaking of the fabric, it’s this one, purchased from Stone Fabrics ages ago. With house move looming I am trying to sew as much from my stash and this is another such fabric. It is a wool challis. It’s the first time I have worked with this fabric. I will be honest, I ordered this fabric (without ordering a swatch, tsk) simply because I loved the look of the animal print. When it arrived, I was a bit taken aback, having never worked with wool challis, I was surprised with the feel of it…I didn’t really know what to make of it. It is very light weight, almost sheer, and this particular fabric has a slight creased effect. But, anyway, I pre-washed the fabric (using non-biological detergent on a delicate cycle), and it seems to be fine. I serged all the insides. Oh, and I used a Palmer/Pletsch sheer fusible interfacing for the collar, sleeve bands and tabs. There is a great write-up on wool challis here on PR.com

Simplicity 2365 animal print tunic

Simplicity 2365 animal print tunic

It’s still too cold to really wear this top in all it’s glory, but I can throw a cardigan over it and it will work now. But when the weather warms up I think I will wear this top LOTS. It is just so light and airy and comfortable. I know it’s hard to see the details, but there are 10 little tucks in the front and tabs on the sleeves. I wish I had had enough fabric to cut the longer length sleeves but no matter.

Simplicity 2365 animal print tunic - close up

Simplicity 2365 animal print tunic – close up

Simplicity 2365 animal print tunic

Simplicity 2365 animal print tunic

I really wanted to make this top to join in with Anne’s Jungle January. There were some great pieces featured. Animal print is a neutral in my book…year round suitability. Be brave and rwaaaarrrrr!

Until next time….

p.s. I have just seen that I am the “Member in Focus” over at PR.com….head over if you want to find out more about me.

Simplicity 2365 animal print tunic

Simplicity 2365 animal print tunic

Tags: ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

24 responses to “Simplicity 2365: DIY animal print tunic top”

  1. Hayley says :

    That looks so great on you! Especially with the skinny jeans. And I love those shoes btw!

  2. Angela says :

    A very flattering and wearable top. Congratulations on being PR’s member in focus:)

  3. Fiona M says :

    That is really lovely, nice work!

  4. Ginny says :

    Fantastic! Perfect combo of pattern & fabric resulting in a super flattering garment — well done :D!

  5. Rachel M says :

    That’s a great blouse. It really suits you. I particularly like the neckline and button details. Rachel

  6. Julie says :

    You have chosen a great fabric to make this top in and the style really suits you. I have looked at this pattern several times but never bought it. I love your version.

  7. Amanda S. says :

    Lovely top! The little tucks make it unique. I can see this going with lots in your closet.

  8. Roberta Fahrni says :

    It really looks great on you! Well done!

  9. prttynpnk says :

    I want, I want, I want!!!!!

  10. Beth (SunnyGal Studio) says :

    that is such a cute outfit, and I never noticed that pattern before, now I think I need to get it.
    congrats on being the PR member in focus – great profile. I always love to see what patterns you choose.

  11. Preethi says :

    Looks very flattering. Nice choice of pattern and fabric.

Leave a Reply

