Tessuti Mandy Boat Tee: FREE DIY T Shirt Sewing Pattern

Tessuti Mandy Boat Tee

Tessuti Mandy Boat Tee

Hello Readers,

This is (another striped!) T shirt I whipped up yesterday using this FREE pattern from those lovely ladies down under at Tessuti. It’s made using some cotton (?) jersey from my stash, which doesn’t have much stretch, but this one-size-fits-all pattern seems to work.

Tessuti Mandy Boat Tee

Tessuti Mandy Boat Tee

There’s not much to say about this pattern, other than, TRY IT!! There are three pieces to the T shirt and I love the boat neck detail. There is minimal construction; the neck edges, sleeve and lower hems are turned and stitched using a twin stretch needle, and the rest was constructed on my overlocker. The pattern comes with full instructions, with photographs of each step. What more could you want?!

Tessuti Mandy Boat Tee

Tessuti Mandy Boat Tee

I added 3 inches to the length. I was dubious of the one-size-fits-all theory, but if you have any doubts, check your measurements against the flat pattern measurements first.

Tessuti Mandy Boat Tee

Tessuti Mandy Boat Tee

One last thing, the instructions advise you to use a 2.75 twin stretch needle; I only had a 2.5. I found placing the folded over edge against my 4/8ths inch marking on my machine and using the 2.5 needle gave just about perfect results.

Tessuti Mandy Boat Tee

Tessuti Mandy Boat Tee

Last year I had success in the Tessuti Gridlock contest, and they have just announced details of their Jaywalk contest for this year. It’s completely different fabric, but I think I will have a go. Anyone else contemplating throwing their hat in?

Have a great Easter everyone!

p.s. Thanks to my sister for the photography today!

Tessuti Mandy Boat Tee

Tessuti Mandy Boat Tee

Tags: , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

9 responses to “Tessuti Mandy Boat Tee: FREE DIY T Shirt Sewing Pattern”

  1. robindrush says :

    Love that top. Downloaded it for myself too!

  2. Colette says :

    Thank you for posting your review Sewmanju! Your Mandy looks fabulous.

  3. Sew, Jean Margaret says :

    Cute top. Lengthening the pattern has made it perfect for you.

  4. Myra says :

    What a gorgeous top on you! I love everything about it, the fit, the color and the style are just perfect!

  5. sewamysew says :

    This looks so good. I love this pattern (not just because it’s free)! It looks so good in stripes. I made one without the sleeves and just took in the side seams a little and it’s the most perfect kimono tee.

Leave a Reply

