Vogue 8884: DIY short jacket for spring

Vogue 8884: spring jacket

Vogue 8884: spring jacket

Hello Friends,

It seems ages since we last “met”. Spring finally seems to be getting to us here in the UK, and I desperately wanted an easy to wear, light weight spring time jacket.

Vogue 8884: spring jacket

Vogue 8884: spring jacket

This is my second version of 8884: you can see my first here. If you had asked me at the time of completing version number one if I was ever going to be sewing it again, I would have said no….but when I went back and looked at the pattern I realised that this second version (View A) is considerably simpler than my first version (View C). The first version featured a three paneled front, princess seamed back, welt pockets, sleeve tabs, belt, buckles, endless top and edge stitching, and the thing which makes it not very wearable for me, is its longer length. Yep, the length is what puts me off reaching for it on a daily basis when doing the school run in the morning etc. This version is much more wearable (for me and my current lifestyle). And I love, love, love the rich, cheerful colour.

Vogue 8884: spring jacket

Vogue 8884: spring jacket

The fabric is a heavy weight cotton twill (is that the same as drill?). I used my denim needle for all the outer fabric construction, including the top and edge stitching.

Vogue 8884: spring jacket

Vogue 8884: spring jacket

Unlike the last version this view just has a centre back seam (no princess seams) and a back yoke:

Vogue 8884: spring jacket

Vogue 8884: spring jacket

Vogue 8884: spring jacket

Vogue 8884: spring jacket

This next picture gives you an idea of the amount of interfacing this jacket requires: all the front and the upper back as well as the relevant collar parts are interfaced (I used stretch fusible interfacing).

Vogue 8884: spring jacket

Vogue 8884: spring jacket

The thing which gave me the most trouble, actually, was the pockets. They just didn’t sit right. I ended up understitching them, which helped, but hmmmm….somehow….I don’t think it helped that I also shortened the jacket length by 1.5 inches. I should really have shortened the pocket bags I think. If I was making this again I would possibly do away with the inseam pockets altogether and do welt ones instead.

Vogue 8884: spring jacket

Vogue 8884: spring jacket

I also added stay buttons to the reverse of my outer buttons, using this great tutorial (this whole blog is a fab one BTW – check it out!):

Vogue 8884: spring jacket

Vogue 8884: spring jacket

Erm, so that’s it. Not much else to say on this that I didn’t say last time. Would I make this pattern again? Yeah, maybe. This view though – not view C!

Overall, I the time invested in this coat was worth it and I know that this is going to be one of those items that will get worn on a regular basis until we get the heat wave we are promised every year 🙂

Hope your sewing projects are going well!

Until next time…

Vogue 8884: spring jacket

Vogue 8884: spring jacket

Tags: , , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

21 responses to “Vogue 8884: DIY short jacket for spring”

  1. Amanda S. says :

    Gorgeous on you and LOVELY color!!!

  2. Carolyn Norman says :

    Love, love, love the color and how this coat fits you! Wonderful job!

    • sewmanju says :

      Thanks Carolyn. Don’t know if you have the same problem I do getting RTW coats and jackets to fit, so I was determined to make something that does!

  3. robindrush says :

    Love this jacket, the color is so spring. It look fab on you!

  4. Beth (SunnyGal Studio) says :

    Wow I love that color on you. That pattern has always intrigued me, you have convinced me (like I need another jacket)

  5. Jen (NY) says :

    Cute and practical – nice job!

  6. Helen says :

    I agree with everyone, great pattern, great colour, you look fabulous and I need this jacket!!

  7. Sew, Jean Margaret says :

    Beautiful colour for spring and beautifully sewn too.

  8. Preethi says :

    Looks so neat and well made. Beautiful colour too..

  9. Geraldine says :

    OOPS! Posted this on another part of your blog before I saw the little comment box on the left. ;(
    My favorites? The Pleated, Tunic Top and the green Spring Jacket******. The Tunic Top looks so comfortable, and I love how the fabric flows.
    ******************The jacket is absolutely beautiful, the detail/couture workmanship is absolutely stunning!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! *******************
    Thanks so much, for posting the photos.

Leave a Reply

