Vogue 8847: DIY Doggy Print Dress

Vogue 8847

Vogue 8847

Hello Friends,

This is Vogue 8847, made in a dog print cotton lawn, that I was told was ex Barbour fabric. Maybe it was the ex Barbour part which swayed me to buy it, because, honestly, I am not a pet person. But anyway, this is great quality cotton and there was something about the print which I liked. Here’s a close up.

Vogue 8847 - dog print cotton lawn

Vogue 8847 – dog print cotton lawn

First off, let me say I had to genetically mutate some of the little puppies on my dress. By that I mean I did not even attempt to pattern match the dog print. There are a few two headed pups/ dogs with two sets of hind legs and no head etc. That’s because the dogs on this print go in alternate rows, facing left then right and also, there are three different sizes of dog (large, medium, small), and coupled with the gathered shoulder and back yoke seams I just felt there was no point trying to get a match. I am cool with that. I did, however, match the red wavy lines. Have a look, and at the same time you can check out the shaped hem.

Vogue 8847

Vogue 8847

Vogue 8847

Vogue 8847

Vogue 8847

Vogue 8847

I finished the sleeve seams, the side seams and the setting in sleeves seam with french seams. So the insides are very neat and tidy (you will have to take my word on that; sorry no picture).

Read my full review below for all the dirt on this dress.

Vogue 8847

Vogue 8847

Pattern Review

Pattern Description:

Very loose-fitting, pullover dress has collar, self-lined yokes, side pockets, sleeves with barrel cuffs, and belt. A: cut-on crosswise grain of fabric, shaped front hemline, and narrow hem.

I made view A, but had to change the direction of some of the grainlines to account for the direction of my print.

Pattern Sizing:

8 – 24

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Yes.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

This is such a great, easy to wear, pull on dress. I like the gathers at the shoulders and the shaped hem option. I might take out some of the fullness out of the back next time. I would have liked some other sleeve options perhaps.

Fabric Used:

An ex Barbour cotton lawn with dog print on it.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

I cut a size smaller than normal on the bust/ shoulders. It fits fine overall….but I might make the bicep circumference approx. half inch larger next time.

I ended up grading out 3 sizes larger (than the bust) over the hips. Next time I could probably just make that two.

I added 1 inch to the length because I figured I would be more comfortable doing that if I wear this bare legged in the summer, plus I knew I would wear this belted. If I was making a non belted version (would I?) I would probably shorten the length.

Because of the direction of my print, I had to change the directions of the grainlines for the collar, sleeve band, yoke front and yoke back. I don’t know if this threw my collar out slightly, because I ended up having to shorten the length by approx. 1 inch.

I cut all my pieces in a single layer and omitted the pockets.

I french seamed the sleeve seams, the side seams and the setting in sleeve seams.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Yes. When I was doing the school run today I saw another mum wearing an almost identical shaped dress, but in an animal print georgette with a sheer black back yoke. I might have to copy….

Yes, I would recommend. No button. No zips. Perfect for a beginner.

Conclusion:

Very easy to make and wear. I would like to experiment with other fabrics with this pattern.

Until soon…..

Vogue 8847

Vogue 8847

Tags: , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

20 responses to “Vogue 8847: DIY Doggy Print Dress”

  1. prttynpnk says :

    I love it! Great styling too- i have gabric envy!

  2. Judi says :

    I like the style and the way it fits…and the dogs are very cute!

  3. SeeKatSew says :

    I love the whole outfit, and your hair looks fantastic!

  4. Sew, Jean Margaret says :

    This fabric is so cute and makes a lovely dress.

  5. black label says :

    🙂 i love your genetically mutated doggies….too cute. You look fabulous.

    • sewmanju says :

      Thanks ange. Did you make it to the meet up last weekend and how was it?

      • black label says :

        Pleasure hun…No sadly I had a miserable weekend. Was due to fly out on Thurs, got checked in, waited for my flight & at boarding BA decided to deny me boarding. Devastated. The EU immigration is so complicated & they are forever fiddling with the law. Where I was previously allowed access to the UK with the hubby (EU), now Im not. Its too terrible.
        But there’s always next year 🙂

  6. Kalki says :

    I like this doggy dress but I like your all posts dresses. You have a nice blog

  7. Di says :

    Am desperately trying to work out step 12 of this pattern. Why can’t I see how to do it?! All help very gratefully received! Di

  8. Michelle says :

    You always make such gorgeous and flattering clothes, and this is no exception! I love the fun print coupled with the traditional style lines. So cute! I may have to hunt this pattern down on Ebay to feed my current obsession with shirt dresses

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Copycat Hotstoff – Vogue 8847 | HOTSTOFF - Abenteuer Nähen - November 12, 2014

Leave a Reply

