New Look 6097: DIY Pink Ponte Wrap Dress

New Look 6097

New Look 6097

Hello Friends,

Happy Sunday. Today I wanted to share my latest make; my version of New Look 6097. My version does look a little different to the version on the front of the pattern. That’s because I swapped out the skirt that comes with the pattern (more fitted with pockets), and replaced it with the flared skirt from my Lady Skater Pattern. The end result is, for me, a supremely comfortable and flattering dress that I love the silhouette of.

New Look 6097

New Look 6097

Let’s talk about the fabric. It was supplied by my sponsors, Click Fabrics, and is this one. It’s described as being a “cerise coloured, medium weight, 2 way stretch, soft touch double jersey”. The colour is…vivid….what do you think? Initially I was not sure, but now I love it. It is essentially a ponte knit, but is very soft with a good drape to it. It feels wonderfully soft to wear, and sewed beautifully, using a mixture of my sewing machine and overlocker.

New Look 6097

New Look 6097

Now onto the pattern. This pattern was voted in at number 5 of the Best Patterns of 2013 over on the Sewing Pattern Review website. (As an aside I have 7 out of the 10 voted; and still haven’t got round to sewing 2 of them – I MUST make the BHL Anna dress sometime!! How many of the 10 patterns do you have in your stash?) Anyway, now that I sewn this pattern up I can see why it featured in the Best Patterns list: this is a great pattern.

In my experience, the fit of the bodice is great. I really stabilised both the left and right bodice front edges using twill tape, and they are SECURE. I wore this dress to church this morning, and was looking after 3 babies in creche, and the faux wrap felt so secure, I didn’t have to adjust it once. I think it helped using the double jersey rather than a thinner weight knit. I also also got away with omitting the elastic at the waist. Check out my review for full details.

New Look 6097

New Look 6097 – close up of bodice wrap

Pattern Review:

Pattern Description:

Workroom from Project Runway, misses’ belted knit dress with neckline and sleeve variations. New Look Just 4 Knits sewing pattern.

I made view A, without the collar, but changed the skirt to a flared one.

Pattern Sizing:

10 – 22

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Probably not, because I swapped the skirt out for a flared skirt from my Lady Skater Pattern.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Yes, although I changed the order of construction somewhat. I set my sleeves in flat and then sewed up the sleeves and bodice sides in one.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

I LOVE the silhouette of this dress, the comfort, fit and how secure I feel in the bodice. It doesn’t gape or needed constantly adjusting. I did stabilise the left and right fronts of the bodice using twill tape. Nothing to dislike as such. I didn’t think the skirt would be a flattering style for me so changed it. I was in two minds about the sleeves. Next time round I may adjust the length. If I was using a thinner jersey I might size down.

Fabric Used:

A soft double knit fabric.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

I changed the order of construction and inserted the sleeves in flat and then sewed the sleeves and side seams up.

I changed the skirt for a flared one.

I stabilised the left and right front bodice edges using twill tape.

I did a 1 inch sway back adjustment.

I omitted the elastic at the waist.

 

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Yes, I would love a dark coloured version and a printed one too. Love it! Highly recommend.

Conclusion:

I now see why this pattern was voted at number 5 in the Best Patterns of 2013 on PR.com. It is a great, simple to sew pattern which is flattering, comfortable and a great addition to your stash.

Have a great week ahead!

New Look 6097

New Look 6097

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

21 responses to “New Look 6097: DIY Pink Ponte Wrap Dress”

  1. CraftedbyCarrie says :

    This looks wonderful! The fit is so flattering and the bright pink is a great color on you!

  2. debbieiles says :

    Lovely! Stunning colour on you!

  3. Sam says :

    Gorgeous dress. The colour looks amazing on you.

  4. Fiona M says :

    That colour is fantastic on you! A lovely dress, I like your swapped skirt very much.

  5. Beth (SunnyGal Studio) says :

    bright, yes, but fantastic on you. I can see why that pattern is so popular, very flattering and I like the skirt. I did the same last year, added the a-line style skirt to that pattern and you are right, it makes it very comfortable to wear and so pretty.

  6. prttynpnk says :

    I love it! Ive got to do more skirt swapping- so twirly and girly!

  7. Sew, Jean Margaret says :

    Very pretty dress and this silhouette really suits you.

  8. The HooDoo Honey says :

    Pretty dress. I LOVE the color

  9. Ebi Poweigha says :

    Great shade of pink, and fabulous shoes!

  10. Umbareen says :

    Hi, I love your dress and am thinking of buying my own pattern. Did you have to do an FBA? I wonder how you could do one on this dress?

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Simplicity 2571: DIY Anna from Frozen Cape | sewmanju - August 3, 2014

Leave a Reply

