A sewing meet-up, a sewing course, and a sewing class.

Hello Readers,

I wanted to share some exciting sewing related activities I have planned for the next few weeks.

First off, I am going to be attending the Minerva Crafts meet-up, on 14th June in Darwen, Lancashire. This is about 2 hours drive from my home, so I am planning on setting off early(ish!) in the morning, aiming to be there for the 11am “Introduction to the Day” session. I am definitely looking forward to meeting some of my favourite bloggers in person….and just being with other people who are as passionate about sewing as I am 🙂

Secondly, I have booked to go on a bra making course!! I have long been admiring the bra-making efforts of the sewing community. Not least, Very Purple Person, Cloth Habit, and, more recently, Sewaholic. I decided I really wanted to learn how to do this, so I have booked a one-day course at the Birmingham School of Sewing, on the 8th July. Whilst you are not fitted to your own personal measurements on this course, you do make an actual underwired bra during the day, and that’s what I need to know. I think learning how to work with the wires will also be useful for sewing my sewing costume (we now have a short break booked to Barcelona mid-July…no more excuses!) and even adding boning to dresses.

Thirdly, I have been asked by my local craft haberdashery, Fun2Do in Carlisle, to teach a dressmaking course! So I will be teaching a small class (of 4) how to make a simple skirt on 27th June. It will be my first time teaching a class. Fingers crossed it won’t be my last!

Looking forward to meeting some of you soon.

Back soon with a jacket I am currently working on.

Tags: , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

9 responses to “A sewing meet-up, a sewing course, and a sewing class.”

  1. Sam says :

    I’m really looking forward to meeting you on Saturday. Congratulations on being asked to teach a sewing class – I’m hopefully teaching one next month.
    The bra making course sounds really good. It’s funny, up until recently I would have said I had absolutely no interest in making bra’s, but I’d really like to try it now.

  2. Carolyn Norman says :

    I think that’s so cool that you’re going to teach a sewing class at your local fabric store! I’m sure you will do just fine!

  3. Myra says :

    Congratulations on being asked to teach the class and good luck! I think there’s starting to be a lot of the sewing community meet ups and they’re a great way to meet “like minded” friends! Have fun and wish I were in your area!

  4. black label says :

    All your news sounds awesome – the meetup, the course & your own class – still wish i lived in the UK, Id do them all with you. x

Leave a Reply

