Butterick 5926: DIY Floral Print Scuba Fabric Blazer

Butterick 5926 floral print scuba fabric blazer

Butterick 5926 floral print scuba fabric blazer

Hello Friends,

How are you all? I am doing ok. I have been busy working on this jacket on and off for probably the last 10 days or so. For an “easy” rated pattern it had it’s challenges. Let’s talk in detail!

Butterick 5926 floral print scuba fabric blazer

Butterick 5926 floral print scuba fabric blazer

So, I have wanted a knitted blazer style jacket for the longest time. I had an RTW one which I have since given to charity because it was just too short and I never felt comfortable wearing it. I bought Butterick 5926 a while back and I actually have some gorgeous navy wool jersey in my stash which I had planned on making this up in, but then I stumbled across this floral print scuba (neoprene) fabric online, and decided this would be a wearable muslin and I liked the idea of the printed jacket (I know, harder to wear)! I like the idea of a knitted blazer style jacket because I think they can dress an outfit up, are supremely comfortable to drive in, and are perfect for travelling with.

Butterick 5926 floral print scuba fabric blazer

Butterick 5926 floral print scuba fabric blazer

Anyhoo, Butterick have rated this jacket as easy. It is. But if you want a decent looking jacket I don’t think their instructions are adequate. IMO. Full review below.

Butterick 5926 floral print scuba fabric blazer

Butterick 5926 floral print scuba fabric blazer

Ok, so I didn’t make things easy for myself using the scuba fabric. This fabric does not like to be pressed. I used a high heat, lots of steam, my silk organza press cloth and my clapper to try and slap those edges into submission. BTW, this fabric was fairly easy to sew. I used a 80/12 Schmetz universal needle and a regular stitch at 2.2 length, with 2.8 for the topstitching. I used a wide three thread overlock to finish the edges inside. Cos, yes, this jacket is unlined. Not so happy with that. But then I am kind of glad I didn’t go all out and line this jacket. Here’s an interior shot. Ignore the dirty smudge at the top. I also added a hanging loop. It is not lopsided in real life: I still don’t have a dress form.

Butterick 5926 floral print scuba fabric blazer - inside back.

Butterick 5926 floral print scuba fabric blazer – inside back.

In terms of print match: I didn’t. Except for I tried to get a match at the centre back and on the pockets.

Butterick 5926 floral print scuba fabric blazer

Butterick 5926 floral print scuba fabric blazer

Pattern Review

Pattern Description:

Fitted, unlined jacket has collar, pockets and stitched hems. A and C: purchased trim. Designed for moderate stretch knits.

Pattern Sizing:

8 – 24

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Essentially, yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

If you follow the instructions I think you may end up being slightly disappointed, IMO. The instructions are fine up until the point where it tells you to attach the upper collar and facing to the jacket and undercollar (step 20). Getting your head around that takes some effort! I found Sherry’s RTW tailoring sewalong invaluable for this step.

Additionally, the pattern does not make any mention of understitching. I know I didn’t take the easy route by using the fabric that I did, but given that the suggested fabrics for this jacket include sweatshirt fleece and wool jersey, I think the understitching is fairly crucial to try and get a decent looking jacket. Again, Sherry’s RTW tailoring sewalong was invaluable.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

I think the fit is true to size and I like the overall shape. This pattern includes a separate undercollar piece, bust, back shoulder and elbow darts. I think the instructions are not brilliant.

Fabric Used:

A floral printed scuba (neoprene) fabric. This fabric does not like to be pressed. I used a high heat, lots of steam, my silk organza press cloth and my clapper to try and slap those edges into submission. BTW, this fabric was fairly easy to sew. I used a 80/12 Schmetz universal needle and a regular stitch at 2.2 length, with 2.8 for the topstitching. I used a wide three thread overlock to finish the edges inside.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

I think I shortened the sleeves by 3.5 inches. I did a half inch sway back adjustment. I did a tissue fit first and from that established the roll line. I then taped the roll line: easing the jacket front to a pre-shrunk length of twill tape using a catch stitch.

Taping the roll line on jacket front

Taping the roll line on jacket front

One of the major things I did differently to the instructions was the additional understitching I did. I understitched the seam allowances to the jacket facings below the roll line break point; I understitched the seam allowances to the jacket front above the roll line break point; and I understitched the seam allowances of the back of the collar to the under collar. These were all done in an attempt to make the lapels and collar of the jacket roll and sit nicely. It’s not perfect. The collar on the left hand side is trying to flip up slightly and I would like another attempt at joining the collar to the undercollar. But it was a great learning experience without going all out on a fully tailored jacket.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

I might still sew this for autumn in my navy wool jersey. It is a good pattern, but probably not one for an absolute beginner. I would recommend to intermediate/ experienced sewers.

Conclusion:

This is a good pattern, with mediocre instructions. Maybe my next attempt will be closer to the mark.

Butterick 5926 floral print scuba fabric blazer

Butterick 5926 floral print scuba fabric blazer

Have a great weekend everyone, and look forward to meeting some of you on Saturday!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

34 responses to “Butterick 5926: DIY Floral Print Scuba Fabric Blazer”

  1. Fiona M says :

    I really like it, the fabric is so pretty, a really nice summery piece for your wardrobe.

  2. zibergirl says :

    That is a very stylish jacket just right for cool days during the summer months. Your construction is perfect!

  3. Vanessa says :

    I love this jacket!!!! You did a great job!

  4. debbieiles says :

    That’s one lovely jacket you’ve made there. I don’t know if I love sewing with neoprene myself (the pressing and extra bulk of it) but I do LOVE the way it looks. I’ve just finished making a neoprene skirt and jacket myself, using that fabric for the first time. I absolutely adore the print on yours and although you say you didn’t do much pattern matching, you’ve made the back and pockets look smashing!

  5. Sam says :

    That fabric sounds as if it was a bit of a nightmare to deal with, but the finished jacket looks great.

  6. Sew, Jean Margaret says :

    This is a lovely addition to your wardrobe Manju. The floral is so pretty and your pattern matching at the centre back looks great. Beautiful jacket.

  7. Ebi Poweigha says :

    Nice work on matching the pockets and the center back!

  8. McCallPatternCompany (@McCallPatternCo) says :

    We love the results! Sorry you felt the instructions left something to be desired. Would you mind sending your criticisms to us so we can see how we might improve our efforts? consumerservices@butterick.com. Thanks!

  9. Gwen Gyldenege says :

    I love the fabric! Where did you get it? I’m looking to make some kayak / paddling gear and wanna look pretty.

    If you want a dress form, I highly recommend Jan Bones papertape kits and dressform book. Then find 2 good sewing friends to wrap you. I took her class on this (on my blog) and it totally changed my sewing. I improved leaps and bounds and really saw what and why my fitting challenges are with my round bum and sway back.

    • sewmanju says :

      Hi Gwen. The fabric is an eBay purchase . There’s quite a lot of scuba fabric cropping up on there nowadays (least in the UK). Thanks for the tip on the dressform. I will look into that!

  10. Judi says :

    Very pretty!!!

  11. csewsit says :

    Sooooo gorgeous! I want one……..

  12. Heather says :

    I never would have thought to use neoprene like this but I do love the print. The bright blue is fantastic.

  13. Carolyn says :

    Scuba fabric! Wow, that’s so cool!

  14. barbara says :

    Awesome! I end up top-stitching difficult fabrics, but I must say, this is very very nice!

  15. Marie says :

    Hi there, I will soon try out this pattern but I can only find 45″ yardage versus the 60″ that the pattern calls for. Are any of the pattern pieces bigger than 45″???

  16. cindalemeise says :

    Your jacket looks great. I am having the hardest time with the collar. I wish I had read reviews before deciding on the pattern, as I am about ready to give up on it. lol

Leave a Reply

