Vogue 8921: DIY jersey maxi dress

Vogue 8921: DIY jersey maxi dress

Vogue 8921: DIY jersey maxi dress

Last year I made a chiffon maxi which I have worn a couple of times. I do like it, but I don’t like the fact my boobs feel like they are falling out of it. Plus, you know, the hubby said it was not flattering. Pah! What do heterosexual men know of women’s fashion? ๐Ÿ™‚

So this is this years attempt. An oh-so-easy-quick-and-breezy jersey maxi dress, made using Vogue 8921. This is an FAST pattern to sew up…it took me a morning to sew (plus, like an hour to cut out?) The fit is not perfect. But it is more than wearable.

Here’s the line drawings first:

Vogue 8921 - line drawings

Vogue 8921 – line drawings

Vogue 8921: DIY jersey maxi dress

Vogue 8921: DIY jersey maxi dress

Vogue 8921: DIY jersey maxi dress

Vogue 8921: DIY jersey maxi dress

Here’s a close up of the fabric (a light cotton jersey). Phil did say this version was nice…but the colour is “dowdy brown”…..hmmmm….I like to think it is a neutral colour, that I can pair up with lots of different accessories.

Vogue 8921 - fabric close up.

Vogue 8921 – fabric close up.

The dreaded back view:

Vogue 8921: DIY jersey maxi dress

Vogue 8921: DIY jersey maxi dress

Pattern Review:

Pattern Description:

Dress has fitted bodice with waist and front shoulder pleats, and back zipper. Necklines, drape B, sleeves B and C: narrow hem.

I made view C.

Pattern Sizing:

6 – 22

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Yes, but I did my own thing. See below.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

I like the finished dress. It is very easy to sew. The neckline is very low. And for me, it was very long.

Fabric Used:

Cotton jersey.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

I raised the neckline by 3 inches. I don’t know if this was too much (?) but I wouldn’t have felt comfortable exposing my bra, and I hate wearing camisoles under dresses.

I shortened the length of the skirt on the pattern by 2 inches, but ended up taking a further 3 inches off the length. I am 5 foot 3 inches and with some clever laying out of pattern pieces I was able to cut this dress out of 3 metres of fabric.

I ended up chopping out a huge 3 inch wedge from the centre back (after I had sewn the dress up), tapering down to nothing at the front before hitting the pleats in front, as a kind of crude sway back adjustment. If I want to sew this again I will have to adjust the paper pattern.

I chose to overlock my edges, turn them over and stitch down rather than doing narrow hems.

I set the sleeves in flat.

I shortened the sleeves by 2 inches.

I omitted the zip.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

I might, and yes, I definitely recommend.

Conclusion:

Quick and easy project with great results. Great for a beginner too!

Vogue 8921: DIY jersey maxi dress

Vogue 8921: DIY jersey maxi dress

Back soon with more summer sewing….

 

Tags: , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

28 responses to “Vogue 8921: DIY jersey maxi dress”

  1. Roberta Fahrni says :

    I think it looks great. Elegant yet casual and very comfortable.

  2. Candice says :

    This is a beautiful dress, very elegant…

  3. Rachelle Moffett says :

    I like it and think you did a great job. It’s very flattering. Your husband thinks he’s a fashion critic just like mine does and like you I mostly ignore his fashion critiques!

  4. Ebi Poweigha says :

    Lovely dress! Looks like you did a bit of work to get your end result, very crafty. ๐Ÿ™‚ Fwiw, the back view of a dress can make it or break it, and this dress looks great from the back! So thank you for sharing that view.

    • sewmanju says :

      Thanks ebi. It’s just that whole showing my rear end to the world I am not so keen on!!! But I want you to see the whole dress, just like I like to see on others.

  5. Beth (SunnyGal Studio) says :

    i think that is a great summer neutral and agree with above comment, very elegant. I have this pattern too and I played around with it a bit,but have not sewn it up yet. another pattern that we both have! we have pattern ESP ๐Ÿ™‚

    • sewmanju says :

      Ha it’s funny, and that’s what’s great about sewing: taking the same pattern and making it individual to YOU! Look forward to seeing yours sometime.

  6. Sew, Jean Margaret says :

    Looks like a lovely comfortable dress. The colour is neutral and you can change the look using different accessories. Great work.

  7. prttynpnk says :

    I saw this on my tiny phone and knew I would be 3 bags of envy and 1 bag of ‘ooooh!’ I love it!

  8. Sam says :

    This looks like a really great comfortable but stylish dress, but then I’m sure you know how much I love maxi dresses!

  9. Susan says :

    There is nothing dowdy about this dress. You look smashing, it is elegant, and you have styled it well.

  10. Jen M says :

    Wow! This is fab on you! ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. jmajne2014 says :

    I think it looks great on you, and I think you could give it that pop with a red belt and some red heels or even turquoise.
    Let me know if you try it.

  12. Almond Rock says :

    Dowdy brown?! Pish. I really like it!

  13. Peggy Aronson says :

    I love it! Looks great with the leopard bag and you will be able to accessorize it in so many ways. You really inspire me to sew!

  14. barbara says :

    You raised the v-neck 3 inches? Good call! I have this problem a lot!!! Very pretty!

Leave a Reply

