Simplicity 2444 and McCalls 6696: DIY white eyelet dress and slip

Simplicity 2444, worn with McCalls 6696 slip

Simplicity 2444, worn with McCalls 6696 slip

Hello Readers,

back again…so soon, you say? This dress was actually cut out and largely  sewn up before my last blog post (the Vogue jersey maxi). I don’t often start another project before finishing one, but somehow I was craving a maxi, so this one was left to be hemmed. Also, having decided to make this dress unlined, I need to make a slip to wear under it.

Simplicity 2444, worn with McCalls 6696 slip

Simplicity 2444, worn with McCalls 6696 slip

Let’s talk fabric first. This fabric is pretty special to me, because a) I love eyelet (especially white eyelet) and I find it very hard to find and b) I actually bought this fabric in Paris (as talked about here, last year). I was waiting for the right weather/ pattern etc, and finally settled on the hugely popular Simplicity 2444.

Simplicity 2444, worn with McCalls 6696 slip

Simplicity 2444, worn with McCalls 6696 slip

As mentioned above, I decided to leave the dress unlined (a decision I really dithered over), but I love the flirty, airy feel of the fabric. BUT this meant I had to make a slip of some kind. That’s where McCalls 6696 comes in…not only does it have a great (still to be sewn) shirt dress pattern, but it has a slip pattern as well. Very handy.

McCalls 6696 slip

McCalls 6696 slip

Overall, I love this dress and how I feel when I wear it. That’s not to say the fit is perfect. I think the front waist needs to come down a tad. But that won’t stop we wearing this dress. And the slip is the best fitting bias cut slip I own (all others being RTW).

Simplicity 2444, worn with McCalls 6696 slip

Simplicity 2444, worn with McCalls 6696 slip

Simplicity 2444, worn with McCalls 6696 slip

Simplicity 2444, worn with McCalls 6696 slip

Pattern Review:

Simplicity 2444

Pattern Description:

Inspired by Project Runway. Misses’ Dress sewing pattern with collar and sleeve variations.

Pattern Sizing:

4 – 20.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

I think so, but I chose to do my own thing – see below.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

I love the final outcome. Nothing to dislike really.

Fabric Used:

Cotton eyelet purchased last year in Paris.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

I added about 1.5 inches to the sleeves. I can’t stand tight sleeves at the best of times, so forget during hot weather.

I did a 1 inch sway back adjustment.

I omitted the pockets – this meant I didn’t follow the provided instructions, which have you sew the front bodice to the front skirt, and the back bodice to the back skirt before sewing the front to the back at the sides. Instead I constructed the bodice (sewing front to back and sewing side seams), constructed the skirt (sewing front and back together at side seams) and then sewing the bodice to  the skirt.

I used an invisible zip.

I added 1.25 inches to the length of the skirt, but TBH it was not necessary.

Next time around I would bring the front waist down a tad.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Yes, I might sew this again. Yes, I recommend.

Conclusion:

I am very pleased I made time to sew this pattern – I can now see why it has been so popular.

 

McCalls 6696

Pattern Description:

Bias, close-fitting slip has shoulder straps and very narrow hem.

(Note: this pattern is for a shirt dress and includes a pattern for a slip. I sewed the slip only and so this review relates only to that).

Pattern Sizing:

8 – 24

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Yes.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

I think this is a great pattern to have on hand. The fact it is included as part of a shirt dress pattern is a bonus. Nothing to dislike.

Fabric Used:

Fine cotton lawn.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

I would strongly advise sizing down, to account for the bias cut nature of this garment.

I did a 1 inch sway back adjustment by pinching out the required amount, tapering to nothing at the side seams.

Shortened slip length by 2 inches before cutting out.

I used a Schmetz 70 needle for fine fabrics.

I used French seams to sew the side seams.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

I might sew this again as required. It is a great pattern to have on hand: I highly recommend. Be warned there is some very delicate sewing on this project: rolled hems at the armholes/ necklines and the hem, and I made my straps with my rouleau turner. But I am very pleased with the finished garment.

Conclusion:

A great basic. This slip fits me better than any other bias cut slip I own (all RTW). We are lucky people to be able to sew for ourselves 🙂

 

Until soon, and have a great week!

Simplicity 2444, worn with McCalls 6696 slip

Simplicity 2444, worn with McCalls 6696 slip

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

23 responses to “Simplicity 2444 and McCalls 6696: DIY white eyelet dress and slip”

  1. Helen says :

    Wow, you look fabulous, I think this is one of your best makes that you’ve shown! And love your slip – so simple but so elegant!!

  2. Rachelle Moffett says :

    Beautiful dress and “light and airy” is a great description. I also has a ladylike playful feel as well. I think I have several pieces of eyelet in my stash and might has to copy your example. Or maybe I can just borrow yours!

  3. risa west says :

    I love this! I need a Little White Dress and love seeing them. Your version is perfect in every way!

  4. Sam says :

    This is really pretty Manju. You’re right about eyelet fabric being hard to find, however White Leaf Fabrics have some lovely eyelet in white and black at the moment.

    I love your photo location too.

    • sewmanju says :

      Thanks Sam, and for the tip about the fabrics. The photos were taken in a field behind the house we are currently living in. There are some advantages of living in the country 🙂

  5. Faye Lewis says :

    I love eyelet too, although I don’t anything made from it. Your dress turned out lovely.

  6. prttynpnk says :

    Oooh, I love this in eyelet, once more you inspire me lady!

  7. Vanessa says :

    Beautiful dress…you look great in it!

  8. Amanda S. says :

    So crisp and pretty on you. It’s the perfect summer dress!

  9. Sew, Jean Margaret says :

    Beautiful summery dress. The white eyelet looks so fresh. Nice slip too.

  10. zibergirl says :

    Very pretty! Great for the hot weather too!

  11. Julia says :

    Love the fit on your dress; the back looks perfectly fit to you, and makes your waist look tiny! The eyelet is beautiful, I’m so glad to see a review of the the slip pattern as well, as I was wondering how it would fit someone with measurements like mine. Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

