Bra Making Workshop Review

My first completed underwired bra!

My first completed underwired bra!

Hello Friends,

At the start of this week I attended a day long bra making workshop at the Birmingham School of Sewing, run by the owner, Sheila May Green. As promised, here’s a review – all opinions my very own honest ones!

The course was actually held in Sheila May’s home in a quiet residential area in the centre of Birmingham not far from the University (where, incidentally I studied for my undergraduate degree). Sheila May has a room specifically set aside for teaching, and there was plenty of space for us to work and all equipment and materials were provided.

Interior of Birmingham School of Sewing

Interior of Birmingham School of Sewing

Interior of Birmingham School of Sewing

Interior of Birmingham School of Sewing

In this day long course we made an underwired bra, which was most definitely not made to my size! This is a course in which you will learn how to make an underwired bra from start to finish, including cutting the materials out, but the bra is not fitted to your size. The pattern used (one that Sheila May has drafted herself) is not even for a particular band/ cup size. But don’t let that put you off. I was very happy with everything I learned on the day, which included how to sew the cups together, and insert them in to the cradle, how to apply elastic to the band and armholes of the bra, how to attach the hook and eyes and how to attach sliders correctly. In short, I now feel confident enough to go away and make my own underwired bra in my own size…it’s just a question of finding the time…!!

Assembling the bra

Assembling the bra

Close up of finished bra

Close up of finished bra

Close up of finished bra

Close up of finished bra

I discovered that making a bra is not that difficult: it requires fairly accurate, precision sewing but with practice anyone can do it. For me, the day long course was more (time) convenient. I normally get fitted for my bras so I have a good idea of what my size is. I hope to eventually purchase a pattern in my size and have a go on my own. Doing this course also gave my an understanding of what kind of materials I need to purchase to make my own bras.

Back of bra

Back of bra

Overall I highly recommend this to anyone who wants an introduction into underwired bra making.

I have just finished my swimsuit…and I kind of wish I had completed the course before I started to sew it up, but overall I am still pleased with the final result. Review to follow, but it will have to wait as we are off to Barcelona on Monday for a week.

So until we meet again, have a great week!

Tags: , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

11 responses to “Bra Making Workshop Review”

  1. Alethia Hudson says :

    Great post! Beautiful job on your first bra, gives me hope!!;)
    Thanks for posting! BTW, love that sewing room ( Baltimore School of Sewing)!

  2. Nancy says :

    It’s a lovely bra, but did you know when you signed up that you would not be making a bra in your own size? I’m not sure I see the point in making something you couldn’t wear. However, that being said, I really want to make one!

    • sewmanju says :

      Hi nancy, yes I knew before I signed up. If I wanted to make one specifically in my size then it would have meant 2 day away and I couldn’t afford that much time away from home. Honestly it was all about learning the techniques.

      • Nancy says :

        That makes sense! As I said, I’m really interested in sewing one because I have a hard time with fit but haven’t found a class near me (Portland, OR).

  3. Janet says :

    I think sit quietly while on holiday and unpick one of your tailor made old ones… then you will have the perfect pattern! What a stunning thing to have learnt and I have to say it looks just like any one I have seen in the shops. What a fantastic feat. Enjoy your holiday and the sunshine!!

  4. stitchedupsam says :

    This sounds as if it was a great day, I’m disappointed I wasn’t able to attend myself. Hope you have a lovely holiday.

  5. Rachelle Moffett says :

    I love making bras but beware…sewing the bra is the easy part. Just like other projects, it’s getting the proper fit that is the time consumer! Great look bra though.

Leave a Reply

