McCalls 6844: DIY Crochet Effect Knit Cardigan

McCalls 6844: Crochet effect knit cardigan

McCalls 6844: Crochet effect knit cardigan worn with McCalls 6694 dress

Hi Friends,

A quick post for a super quick make: McCalls 6844…an extremely popular pattern from McCalls last year, and yes, a definite winner. So many potential fabrics and looks from this pattern.

I made a very lightweight, casual summer version using this crochet effect fabric supplied by Click Fabrics. This fabric might be a little scary to sew with initially. It is very soft and feels a little bit like you are trying to sew cotton wool. But it behaved brilliantly on both my machine and serger. I wore this outfit today to the cinema and it was perfect to keep the air conditioned chill at bay. It would also be the perfect weight cardigan to take travelling or on a plane, and this fabric is so lovely and soft it would be fabulous made into something special for a little person.

McCalls 6844: Crochet effect knit cardigan

McCalls 6844: Crochet effect knit cardigan

There’s not a great deal to say about this cardigan that hasn’t already been said. For my version I:

  • Did not interface the collar. I wanted to keep the feel soft and drapey.
  • Cut a single layer for all pieces to match the stripes.
  • Did a 1 inch sway back adjustment.
  • Shortened the sleeves by 4.5 inches.
  • Cut view A but levelled the hem off.
McCalls 6844: Crochet effect knit cardigan

McCalls 6844: Crochet effect knit cardigan

Oh, yes, I have to mention the bag (because I LOVE it). It is this one from LK Bennett. The gold option (the one I have) is sold out, but there are some other gorgeous colours left. It is the perfect summer bag (for me), but what I love about it is that I can zip the sides up and completely change the shape when I get bored with it.

 

So that’s it for today. Back soon with my first pair of trousers!! Until then, happy sewing.

 

McCalls 6844: Crochet effect knit cardigan

McCalls 6844: Crochet effect knit cardigan

Tags: , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

14 responses to “McCalls 6844: DIY Crochet Effect Knit Cardigan”

  1. Nakisha says :

    I love the cardigan! So perfect in a lightweight knit for summer.

  2. Carolyn says :

    It’s a cute cardi! Love when easy and simple pieces work out so well!

  3. Georgia Roberts says :

    Lovely cardigan! Summer essential! The material is lovely too 🙂

  4. Yvonne Bennett says :

    Very attractive! I can see that being a versatile piece worn with dresses, pants, skirts and even shorts and tanks. Love it!

  5. velosewer says :

    You picked the right fabric for this cardi. I like your style.

  6. Rachelle Moffett says :

    I like it better than any of the others I’ve seen over the net! Great job.

  7. stitchedupsam says :

    I’ve been looking at this fabric on eBay for ages, its lovely to see it made up. Love you bag too!

Leave a Reply

