OOP McCalls 6291: DIY Cuffed Printed Patterned Summer Trousers

McCalls 6291 Viscose Pattermed Cuffed Trousers

McCalls 6291 Viscose Patterned Cuffed Trousers worn with Wallis Top

Hello Friends,

Here in the UK we are currently enjoying a fantastic hot summer. It makes me want to sew quick and easy items which are cool and breezy to wear.

I have had this pattern, (OOP) McCalls 6291, in my stash for a while. I decided to make them up in some patterned viscose (rayon) fabric. I saw lots of women in Barcelona wearing trousers just like this. They are so cool and comfortable to wear when the temperatures soar.

McCalls 6291 Viscose Pattermed Cuffed Trousers

McCalls 6291 Viscose Pattermed Cuffed Trousers

McCalls 6291 Viscose Pattermed Cuffed Trousers

McCalls 6291 Viscose Pattermed Cuffed Trousers

The pattern itself features double elastic casings at the waist and ankles, and front pleats, which I know can be unflattering on many women (myself included), but I think I got away with it because of the viscose fabric I used. I used my overlocker to finish all the inside seams.

McCalls 6291 Viscose Pattermed Cuffed Trousers

McCalls 6291 Viscose Pattermed Cuffed Trousers

Pattern Review:

Pattern Description:

Pull-on shorts A or pants B, C have front pleats, side pockets, separate waistband with double elastic casings, elastic leg casings, patch pockets and flaps with buttonhole closure; shorts A are upper thigh length; pants B are above ankle length, self-carriers with buttonhole closure, casing with elastic cording and purchased stopper, back patch pockets; pants C are ankle length with double elastic leg casings and back patch pockets.

I made view C (although I actually cut view B and added 3 inches).

Pattern Sizing:

XS – XXL

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Yes.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

These are so easy to sew up. They are designed to be loose fitting, and as they have elastic at the waist, there was no need for any fitting (for me). Nothing to dislike really. You either like this style, or you don’t. They are incredibly comfortable and perfect in this drapey viscose for the hot weather we are currently enjoying.

Fabric Used:

A patterned viscose fabric.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

Nothing aside from adding 3 inches of length.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Maybe and yes.

Conclusion:

You either love these or hate these I guess. I love them.

I know loose fitting trousers like this may not be everyone’s cup of tea. What do you think? Would you wear trousers like this? I wore them out for drinks with a girl friend last night and have worn them again today with flat sandals…I felt very comfortable and cool wearing them.

Until soon….

McCalls 6291 Viscose Pattermed Cuffed Trousers

McCalls 6291 Viscose Pattermed Cuffed Trousers

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

34 responses to “OOP McCalls 6291: DIY Cuffed Printed Patterned Summer Trousers”

  1. lilysageandco says :

    I love this outfit. If you haven’t already, you should have a look at the Chanel 2015 cruise collection. They’ve put loose fitting pants under everything, dresses, skirts and even culottes…fabulous!

  2. Angela says :

    It’s a very flattering outfit! I do think you are right – a drapey fabric makes the difference. I also love your top:)

  3. Anonymous says :

    You make the most fun outfits! This is also very flattering. I really enjoy your projects. Thanks for sharing about them.

  4. Allison says :

    I’d wear them! In fact I think I’ll make some! 😉

  5. Kirsty says :

    These look great on you and I love how you’ve styled it with that top! Perfect summer wear.

  6. prttynpnk says :

    These are so fun! I love this look.

  7. Yvonne Bennett says :

    I love them! I can imagine how comfortable they are and I feel very relaxed and stylish in pants that are flowing. I think the drape is everything. You look fantastic!

  8. Judi says :

    I love the entire outfit!!!

  9. black label says :

    Yummy….I like those….ALOT 😉

  10. stitchedupsam says :

    These are fab. Perfect for this hot weather.

  11. Levone says :

    I love these pants and think they look very flattering on you! I love the top you paired them with as well.

  12. Almond Rock says :

    That fabric is rad! Can I ask where you got it from? You look like you’d fit right in walking the sunny streets of Barcelona!

  13. Rachelle Moffett says :

    This is a fabulous look. Love the styling!

  14. Ebi Poweigha says :

    What great look! You look very fashion forward.

  15. Tia Dia says :

    Wow! What a stylish gal! I love this outfit.

Leave a Reply

