Simplicity 2571: DIY Anna from Frozen Cape

Simplicity 2571: Anna from Frozen cape

Simplicity 2571: Anna from Frozen cape

Hello Readers,

The love for Frozen still rumbles on in this household.

Here’s the inspiration:

Anna from Frozen

Anna from Frozen

Here’s my version:

Simplicity 2571: Anna from Frozen cape

Simplicity 2571: Anna from Frozen cape

I used view D from Simplicity 2571. If I had thought about it I would have rounded the corners off. The fabric is the same fabric I used to make my New Look 6097 wrap dress. I simply cut 2 back pieces; one lengthened to around 70 cm, and one shortened to around 30 cm, and treated them as one, sewing them to a shortened front piece. I didn’t interface the collar.

Simplicity 2571: Anna from Frozen cape

Simplicity 2571: Anna from Frozen cape

Close up of the pom pom trim:

Simplicity 2571: Anna from Frozen cape

Simplicity 2571: Anna from Frozen cape

It’s all very rough and ready. I didn’t even finish any edges or hem it…but it’s a ponte knit…so what…and the important thing is that Kezia loves it.

About this pattern: I (or rather Kezia) have had my money’s worth out of it. Pre-blogging days I used view A to make her a wedding dress. This photo was taken in 2011…how fast they grow!

Simplicity 2571: wedding dress (2011)

Simplicity 2571: wedding dress (2011)

And this is her in 2012 wearing the red riding hood cape from view B. Off to take lunch to granny’s house through the woods!

Simplicity 2571: red riding hood cape (2012)

Simplicity 2571: red riding hood cape (2012)

One pattern. Many looks. So many happy childhood memories. These are the things which make sewing worthwhile.

Have a great Sunday and week ahead!

Simplicity 2571: Anna from Frozen cape

Simplicity 2571: Anna from Frozen cape

Tags: , , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

22 responses to “Simplicity 2571: DIY Anna from Frozen Cape”

  1. Helen says :

    This is just so cute!!!!!! I also made my girls costumes, they loved dressing up and you’re so right, children grow so quickly, my girls are already 23 and 20, so enjoy the time with your litle girl. She looks so happy!

  2. Alethia says :

    OMG, too cute!

  3. prttynpnk says :

    You make me want to build a snowman!

  4. pennylibrarian says :

    Or ride our bikes along the hall?

  5. Janet says :

    Such a wonderful thing to be able to do… sew the costumes… they cost a fortune in the shops!

    • sewmanju says :

      Thanks Janet, although I think that sometimes making stuff like this for kids is not that cost effective! It is if you have lots of stash/ scraps 🙂

  6. Judi says :

    All are sooooo cute! You are a good mum!!!!

  7. zibergirl says :

    Your daughter looks so cute! She’s a natural model too. She must be very happy with all the beautiful hand made outfits!

  8. SewSouthLondon says :

    I love it! You’ve given me an idea as to how to deal with our household Frozen obsession!

  9. Victoria Di Giulio says :

    Just the pattern for the FROZEN Cape I was looking for . I will sew it for my 7 year old granddaughter for Halloween. Thanks, Victoria

  10. Lisa says :

    Thank you very very much! Manju, I love you so much for sewing such pretty clothes, I always dream that I become a creative and fashional sewer, then my children and I will enjoy dressing clothes sewed by myself.
    I will have a lot of disposable time. I do admit that I’m a beginner, but I love sewing very much, and I often find some tutors about clothes design by Internet such as http://www.wikihow.com/Design-Clothes.
    At beginning, I used an old manual sewing machine, and then I have troubles on how to use it effectively and comfortably . Some day ago, an old sewer gave me an advice that I should have a user-friendly computerized sewing machine.
    But how to choose a suitable machine troubled me again, and then worked hard for several hours on google, so I finally find a clear comparison chart among all kinds of sewing machines on the site http://www.bestsewingmachinereviewspro.com and select one which is best for me.
    It is very helpful to me, and I am happy to share my trouble of growing up to a fashional sewer.
    Thanks again for Manju, We all love your cute forever!

Leave a Reply

