Vogue 1386: DIY Missoni Knit Dress: White Tree Fabrics Post

Vogue 1386 Missoni dress

Vogue 1386 Missoni dress

Hello My Friends,

It may be hard to believe but I think, at least in my corner of the world, that summer is over. We have had very heavy rain and strong winds for the last few days and it already feels like autumn is here. I may be being pessimistic, but that’s why the boots and tights.

But forget all that. I am so ready to start with the autumn sewing (although I have two summer tops left to blog about in the next week or so), but today I have got what I think is the perfect transition weight dress.

First of all I have to announce that I am now part of the White Tree Fabrics Blogging Team. What an honour to be picked. They have some beautiful fabrics, including  this gorgeous Missoni knit lace fabric on their site. This fabric is virtually weightless when you wear it. It has the most beautiful sheen to it, and a subtle silver metallic thread running through it, which is very hard to photograph. But trust me when I say you will not regret buying this fabric. It is a very classy classic!

Vogue 1386 Missoni dress

Vogue 1386 Missoni dress

Let’s talk about the pattern. The pattern used is Vogue 1386, by Sandra Betzina. This dress couldn’t be simpler to sew. It has two pieces. That’s it. There are no zips or buttons, no sleeves to insert, and no darts to sew. It has a cowl neck to the front and a simple facing for the back neckline (which is stayed with seam tape; I also chose to stay tape the front cowl). There is a pattern piece included to sew a little bag which contains a weight to help the cowl neck drape properly:

Vogue 1386 Missoni dress: close up of weight bag attached to front cowl

Vogue 1386 Missoni dress: close up of weight bag attached to front cowl

The fabric behaved beautifully on my machine and overlocker alike. I sewed all the seams on my machine  first and then finished edges on my overlocker:

Vogue 1386 Missoni dress: 3 thread wide overlock finish on seams

Vogue 1386 Missoni dress: 3 thread wide overlock finish on seams

I finished hems on my overlocker then turned and stitched in place:

Vogue 1386 Missoni dress: 3 thread wide overlock finish on hems then turned and stitched.

Vogue 1386 Missoni dress: 3 thread wide overlock finish on hems then turned and stitched.

I cut the pattern pieces in a single layer in an attempt to pattern match. I think I could have done a bit better but I won’t lose sleep over it 🙂 I am not a Missoni expert (this is my first time sewing with it), so if there are any experts out there feel free to chime in, but this particular fabric had the stripes running parallel to the selvedge. So I cut the entire dress on the cross grain. Is all Missoni fabric made this way I wonder? Anyway, because I am only 5’3″ and shortened the pattern so much (see below), I was able to cut the pieces on the cross grain, but if you are taller you may struggle….

Vogue 1386 Missoni dress

Vogue 1386 Missoni dress

Vogue 1386 Missoni dress

Vogue 1386 Missoni dress

The pattern comes with pattern pieces to sew a self lined pull on slip, which I made using power mesh, again, from White Tree Fabrics. This slip is just brilliant, and although the bodice is slightly too long (I lengthened it; see below), it’s not going to stop me wearing this lots I suspect. It’s again so comfortable and lightweight and you really need the black underneath this fabric to bring out the richness of the colours.

Vogue 1386 Missoni dress: power mesh slip

Vogue 1386 Missoni dress: power mesh slip

Check out my pattern review below for full details of what alterations I made.

Vogue 1386 Missoni dress

Vogue 1386 Missoni dress

Pattern Review:

Pattern Description:

Tunic or dress (semi-fitted through bust) has weighted tab forming front neckline drape, and narrow hem. Close-fitting, self-lined slip has raised waist and unfinished hemline. All are pullover.

I made the dress from view B and the slip from view D.

Pattern Sizing:

Bust 32 – 55 inches and hips 34.5 – 57 inches.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes, but I shortened my version dramatically (I lost almost 10 inches off the bottom of the pattern!) and added a ribbon belt to the dress.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Yes.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

The dress pattern has two pieces. That’s it. There are no zips or buttons, no sleeves to insert, and no darts to sew.I am very happy with the finished dress. I would advise checking the length before cutting out to save precious fabric. The slip pattern is also a brilliant basic pattern to have in your stash. It is fully self lined and very comfortable. It would also make a cute nightdress pattern.
Fabric Used:

A gorgeous Missoni knit lace fabric with a subtle silver thread running through it for the dress, and power mesh for the slip, both from White Tree Fabrics. The dress fabric was cut on the cross grain.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

I stay taped the front cowl to avoid it stretching out over time (there is a small weight sewn to the front to aid drape; pattern piece included to stitch weight bag).

I shortened the dress and slip pattern pieces by 7 inches. Yes, this pattern is drafted for a giant! 🙂 I ended up removing a further 3 inches from the dress hem before hemming.

I did a 1 inch sway back adjustment to the dress and slip.

I added 1.5 inches to the front of the slip but also added this to the back. Too much. Not unwearably so, but next time I would reduce this.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Maybe and yes.

Conclusion:

I love my Missoni knit dress. I can see this being a wardrobe staple for me this autumn and moving forward in to winter it is the perfect layering piece too.

Vogue 1386 Missoni dress

Vogue 1386 Missoni dress

If you are interested in ordering this fabric (or any other) from White Tree Fabrics then you can get 20% off all purchases AND free delivery any time you feel like simply by quoting SEWMANJU.

Until soon, have a great week and enjoy what’s left of summer…..

Vogue 1386 Missoni dress

Vogue 1386 Missoni dress

Tags: , , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

22 responses to “Vogue 1386: DIY Missoni Knit Dress: White Tree Fabrics Post”

  1. lilysageandco says :

    Lovely dress! Perfect for Autumn. Oh and I can’t believe summer is already sneaking away for you! Where has this year gone! I just looked up your profile…Cumbria is so beautiful. Hubby and I travelled through there several years ago when we were living in Wells. It’s still stinking hot here for us, but having lived through some long English winters (long for Australians anyway ;-)), I am mentally preparing myself for what is to come here. They say the weather cools suddenly here in November…

  2. Andrea says :

    Congratulations! Fabulous first dress, beautiful fabric.

  3. Vanessa says :

    I love this! And only TWO pattern pieces! Wow!

  4. aradhana says :

    very cute dress!

  5. Carolyn says :

    Congrats on becoming a White Tree Fabrics Blogger! I’m hoping you’ll have a long and wonderful relationship. Now the dress is pretty awesome. Love that it’s two pieces and that its transitional. I’m thinking fall now too!

  6. stitchedupsam says :

    I think summer is pretty much over in the south of England too! This is a fab dress, perfect for this time of year and could also be layered with a cardi for colder weather too.

  7. SeeKatSew says :

    Hard to believe the pattern is such a simple one, so much impact! Love it. It’s flattering, classic, and a multi-season outfit – such a win. I have always looked at the Missoni knits online, but the price keeps me looking for other options, but they are so pretty. Now I really want a dress just like this!

    • sewmanju says :

      Thanks kat. I hear you on the price thing, and I am grateful to white tree for the opportunity to sew with it, but in future if I saw a missoni piece I liked I would go for it. In real life they are just lovely.

  8. lovelucie1 says :

    Well done on the use of that fabric. I’ve received a sample but I’m not brave enough to order enough for a garment yet. I was thinking of a batwing.
    Congratulations on you first White Tree Fabrics make! Looking forward to seeing what you come up with next.

  9. Sabrina says :

    I love how the dress looks on you.

  10. velosewer says :

    This is an excellent choice. The fabric and style really suit you.
    Congratulations on being a White Tree Fabrics blogger. I know you’ll love the experience.

  11. Jane says :

    It looks amazing. Do you think it would work with a black polo neck underneath to extend its autumn wear?

Leave a Reply

