New Look 6225: DIY easy cotton summer top

New Look 6225: easy cotton top

New Look 6225: easy cotton top

Hi Readers,

I promised last time I have 2 summer tops left to blog about: here’s the first. It hardly seems worth blogging about, being as it is so simple, but hey, it might be useful to someone.

New Look 6225 is a simple pull on top designed to be made in light weight wovens. It features raglan sleeves in three different lengths and can be made into a longer tunic length top with side slits (as I’ve made) or a shorter length. It’s one of those patterns where the fabric has to be the star. This fabric doesn’t have much star quality. I mean, it’s a pretty coral colour, but it’s just a plain lawn. I added the ruffled corsage thing to jazz things up and a box pleat to the centre front (which I wish I had made a bit bigger).

I made the ruffled corsage thing out of bias strips which I just had pleated and sewed directly on to the top. All very…organic. I left the edges raw (just sewed a line of stitching next to the edges to stop complete disintegration).

New Look 6225: easy cotton top - close up of corsage

New Look 6225: easy cotton top – close up of corsage

This top comes together so easily. I french seamed everything.

New Look 6225: easy cotton top

New Look 6225: easy cotton top

New Look 6225: easy cotton top

New Look 6225: easy cotton top

The raw edges at the neck are enclosed with bias binding. It’s the neatest binding I have ever sewn!

New Look 6225: easy cotton top - close up of binding

New Look 6225: easy cotton top – close up of binding

I know Beth just did a post on a woven top that she made and she said she wasn’t happy with the fit on the arms. I do wear woven tops like shirts and blouses. It’s the first time I have made a style like this. And I am actually very happy with the fit. It is very comfortable. I wore it for a day to an amusement park and it allowed me to go on all the rides and not feel restricted in the slightest. Maybe it would be different with the longer length sleeves?

Pattern Review:

Pattern Description:

Misses’ woven tee shirt has scoop neck, can be made with three-quarter, short or cap sleeves. Change it up with contrast sleeves & neck band or make it your favorite go-to top in lace.

Pattern Sizing:

8 – 20

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Yes.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

Very simple to sew. Good fit (for me at least). Good basic woven top/ tunic that allows lots of customisation. Nothing to dislike as such.

Fabric Used:

Cotton lawn.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

After doing a tissue fit I decided to move the bust darts down by 1.5 inches. After sewing it in fabric I think they need to be raised by around 0.5 inches if  I were to sew this again.

I increased the length of the side slits by approx. 2 inches. More comfortable for me.

Approx. 1 inch sway back adjustment.

I added a ruffled fabric corsage made out of pleated bias strips of fabric.

I added a box pleat to the centre front.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Possibly and yes.

Conclusion:

Good basic pattern to have in your stash. Once you’ve perfected the fit sew it in something luxurious!

New Look 6225: easy cotton top

New Look 6225: easy cotton top

Finally, it was Philip’s birthday last week so I made him a shirt. A third version of McCalls 6613. (If it ain’t broke….version 1, version2). The fabric was picked up in Paris last year. This cotton is probably not at all suitable for shirt making. It is too thin and I wasn’t able to get a perfect match on the checks. However, I used a double layer of interfacing at the collar and something was made. He wore it, seemed to like it, another point scored on the selfless sewing front. Comparing the collar to the previous versions this one is the best yet.

McCalls 6613

McCalls 6613

McCalls 6613

McCalls 6613

So that’s all for now. Back soon. Until then…

Tags: , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

21 responses to “New Look 6225: DIY easy cotton summer top”

  1. velosewer says :

    This is a gorgeous top and your corsage is an excellent piece of work Manju.
    He’s a lucky man. This is very RTW for blokes.

  2. Alethia says :

    I love your husband shirt. You did a great job.

  3. lilysageandco says :

    Very pretty style and colour. Nice work on hubby’s shirt too!

  4. Nicole says :

    I love the color of this shirt and it’s not a boring item at all. I find that I wear more staple items I’ve sewn vs. RTW because I like the fit of them better. This one looks sooooo comfortable! 🙂 Great job!

  5. Amanda says :

    Lovely work. I really love the pink ruffle!

  6. lovelucie1 says :

    Great shirt! So professional looking. And I’m all for simple summer tops!

  7. Rachel M says :

    That shirt is fabulous. It looks classic and casual at the same time. I love the way the checks match at the sleeves to the front and the back.

  8. womens workout clothes says :

    Your dress Picture is so interesting. I like this post. Thanks for this post. I am waiting to see your next fashion, style or lather style. I have a blog where I am positing for womens workout clothes you are welcome to visit our site.

  9. Judi says :

    Your top is not boring…it’s pretty and I like your corsage. When it comes to Philips shirt ..wow!!! It sure looks perfectly matched to me…it looks like a spendy high end shirt that fits him perfectly!!! Happy Birthday to him!

  10. Cynthia Nelson says :

    I love your blog, What size are you so that when you make changes we can better relate to what size to try for ourselves? Have you posted a tutorial of how to make your lovely pink flower? Than you.

Leave a Reply

