Burdastyle Placket Blouse (Plus Size) 01/2010#133: DIY Floral Print Pintucked Bib Blouse

Burdastyle Plus Size Placket Blouse 01/2010#133

Burdastyle Plus Size Placket Blouse 01/2010#133

Dear Friends,

This blouse has a special meaning to me for two reasons. First of all, it feels as if I have undergone a rite of passion. This blouse was made using a Burdastyle downloaded pattern! And I made it, even with the crappy instructions!! Secondly, the floral fabric you see was sent to me by the wonderfully stylish Ange from Blacklabel blog. When Ange made this amazing Kimono, I admired her fabric, and before I knew it, she had sent me some in the post. How generous is our sewing community?

So let’s talk fabric first. This is a Ramie fabric. Ange tells you about it more in her kimono post. It has a light and breezy feel to it like cotton, but a little like the texture of linen. It does wrinkle somewhat, but hey, it didn’t give me any problems sewing it. I LOVE the print. It IS summer in fabric form, for me.

Burdastyle Plus Size Placket Blouse 01/2010#133

Burdastyle Plus Size Placket Blouse 01/2010#133

So, I think Ange sent me around 1.5 metres of this fabric, and I could have gone for something simpler, but I have had my eye on the placket blouse pattern from Burdastyle for a while. Of course, I didn’t have quite enough material to make it, so I decided to make more of a feature of the bib and cut that from a white dobby cotton lawn that I had. In fact, I decided to use my pintuck foot and pintucked the entire bib area. This was done before cutting the bib pieces out.

Burdastyle Plus Size Placket Blouse 01/2010#133: close up of pintucked bib and piping.

Burdastyle Plus Size Placket Blouse 01/2010#133: close up of pintucked bib and piping.

I also made the piping myself from some lilac coloured cotton lawn I had in my stash. Making the piping (including making the bias binding) and doing the pintucking added on several hours to his project. I also cut the inner yoke, the collar and button bands from the same white dobby cotton. I decided to use the bias binding to bind the neck seam line.

Burdastyle Plus Size Placket Blouse 01/2010#133: inner yoke and bound collar/ neck seam

Burdastyle Plus Size Placket Blouse 01/2010#133: inner yoke and bound collar/ neck seam

I used french seams on pretty much everything else. I decided to shorten the sleeves. Unfortunately I didn’t consider the fact that my elbows are considerably wider than my wrists, and to compensate for this I made the pleats at the cuff miniscule, and I also had to extend the cuff pieces by a couple of inches. You really can’t tell. I handsewed the hem. I tried machine stitching it at first, and it just looked terrible due to the curvy hem and trying to ease the fabric in.

Burdastyle Plus Size Placket Blouse 01/2010#133: cuff detail.

Burdastyle Plus Size Placket Blouse 01/2010#133: cuff detail.

Burdastyle Plus Size Placket Blouse 01/2010#133

Burdastyle Plus Size Placket Blouse 01/2010#133

Burdastyle Plus Size Placket Blouse 01/2010#133

Burdastyle Plus Size Placket Blouse 01/2010#133

Pattern Review:

Pattern Description:

A button placket outlined in contrasting piping gives just a hint of folk to this three quarter sleeve blouse. Pair it with boyfriend jeans and flats for a sweet weekend outfit.

Pattern Sizing:

44 – 52 Burdastyle sizing

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes. Although I omitted the piping at the collar, and used a contrasting fabric for the bib and collar.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

I managed (insert smug smile)! Burdastyle. ’nuff said.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

I am happy with the finished blouse. It is the perfect summer blouse. I don’t know if the contrast bib makes me look a bit too busty. I don’t care because I love it 🙂

Fabric Used:

A floral ramie. Sent to me by a special friend 🙂 Dobby cotton lawn for the bib, inner yoke, button bands and collar.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

I pintucked the bib area before cutting it out.

I bound the collar/ neck seam.

I shortened the sleeves and ended up making the pleats as small as possible and extending the cuff pieces to compensate for the extra width needed.

No major changes needed.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

This pattern is one I would like to sew again. Perhaps in a single colour. Or a plaid. Or a chambray. Limitless possibilities. I would recommend to someone with some experience who can puzzle the instructions out.

Conclusion:

The perfect summer blouse.

Burdastyle Plus Size Placket Blouse 01/2010#133

Burdastyle Plus Size Placket Blouse 01/2010#133

Have a great week wherever you are. And if you are lucky enough to have a long weekend, enjoy it!

Burdastyle Plus Size Placket Blouse 01/2010#133

Burdastyle Plus Size Placket Blouse 01/2010#133

Until soon…..

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

26 responses to “Burdastyle Placket Blouse (Plus Size) 01/2010#133: DIY Floral Print Pintucked Bib Blouse”

  1. Wendy says :

    I love that fabric and you made a gorgeous blouse. Perfect match!

  2. stitchedupsam says :

    Ooh, that’s beautiful Manju. The fabric is gorgeous (isn’t the sewing community wonderful) and I love your pintucked bib. What patience you must have to have sewn all those pintucks!

    • sewmanju says :

      Thanks Sam yes the sewing community is wonderful. Patience…that’s the one thing sewing has taught me! It wasn’t so bad…just a bit like watching paint dry, haha

  3. Fiona M says :

    Lovely blouse Manju, it’s definitely something I’d wear. I wouldn’t have your patience for making pintucks though!

  4. Beth (SunnyGal Studio) says :

    That is so pretty and the pin tucking is a great touch. lovely for summer and fall.

  5. NancyD says :

    What beautiful workmanship! Or workwomanship. It looks as beautiful on its own as it does on you.

  6. black label says :

    Awesome job…love what you did with the fabric. Your’e such a honey. Thanks for the shout-out friend xx

  7. Janet says :

    What a stunning blouse and all those pintucks…. BUT I do take my hat off to you… I hate (with a passion) sewing with Burda, so that gets my 10 / 10!!

  8. Rachel M says :

    This is a fab blouse, the details are perfect.

  9. Suzanne says :

    It looks extremely similar to the Carme Blouse by Pauline Alice (which I just happen to be muslining right now). Thought the Carme is limited on sizing.

    • sewmanju says :

      Yes Suzanne. I admit I selected this pattern after admiring the Carme blouse and realising the sizing wouldn’t work for me. C’est la vie.

      • Suzanne says :

        So Pauline Alice did a sew along and there are great videos on button placket and other details, if someone needs them to reference in lieu of the crappy instructions Burda provided.

  10. Kaitlyn Emmett says :

    such a lovely blouse. The contrast panel is lovely, as are the pintucks. I just taught myself pintucking this weekens, so many possibilities

  11. Rachelle Moffett says :

    Great look and love your fabric choice.

  12. Kirsty says :

    What a stunning blouse. Your stitching looks perfect and I love that you used a white bib. It really makes the fabric pop.

Leave a Reply

