New Look 6847: DIY Child’s Cuddle Fleece Dressing Gown Robe

New Look 6847 Child's Dressing Gown

New Look 6847 Child’s Dressing Gown

Hello My Friends,

Today is a quick post on New Look 6847, described as unisex loungewear.

I made view A, the gown, from the softest cuddle fleece you could imagine.

New Look 6847 - close up of fabric

New Look 6847 – close up of fabric

Kezia could not be more thrilled with the final garment, and I have to say that I am pretty pleased with the results. It went together very smoothly (and quickly; approx. 3 hours start to finish) and my serger coped brilliantly with the fabric, even though my sewing room was a mess at the end from the fluff and fibres. (BTW I sewed the seams on my machine first, then used the serger to finish them).

New Look 6847 Child's Dressing Gown

New Look 6847 Child’s Dressing Gown

New Look 6847 Child's Dressing Gown

New Look 6847 Child’s Dressing Gown

New Look 6847 Child's Dressing Gown - close up of stabilised shoulder seam using clear elastic

New Look 6847 Child’s Dressing Gown – close up of stabilised shoulder seam using clear elastic

During this project I could not help but question the sensibility of making this garment, when I could have probably bought this robe for less than what it cost to make (if you factor in my time). But, well, Kezia was happy with the outcome and I guess so was I.

Now, something else I wanted to mention. Burdastyle is trying to find the Top 50 sewing blogs, and I am absolutely honoured to be included in the list for voting. There are some inspirational blogs on the list, but, equally, I am surprised that some of my favourite bloggers were not included. I guess it’s perhaps like the X factor scenario when the favourite act gets voted off in a surprise result, because everyone thinks their safe, no-one bothers to vote for them? Anyway, if you want to go check out the list in full, find some amazing new blogs and vote, you can do that here.

Until soon….thank you and goodnight!

New Look 6847 Child's Dressing Gown

New Look 6847 Child’s Dressing Gown

Tags: , , , , , ,

About sewmanju

I love to shop, but I also love to sew my own clothes, and am currently on a mission to improve my (fairly basic) dressmaking skills. I confess to going into shops and being outraged at the prices of some (not very well made) garments (is it an age thing?) and think "huh, I could make some thing at least as good as that for less" (is it something to do with coming from the Indian subcontinent?) So this blog details my sewing endeavours, both good and bad....I love to nosey through other people's sewing projects....now everyone can get to see mine.

4 responses to “New Look 6847: DIY Child’s Cuddle Fleece Dressing Gown Robe”

  1. csewsit says :

    So what that you can get it cheaper in the shop or whatever, this is so cute and cuddly I can almost feel the softness from Toooting! Another well done to you Sewmanju

  2. Judi says :

    Cuddle fleece is messy to cut and sew, but the end result is worth it. I sure like Kezia’s slippers too…they are perfect with her new robe.

Leave a Reply

